Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Heaven
For a long time people had expounded the brilliance of the flashman and the books are damn fine to read, i don't think it needs me or anyone else to write a review saying about the high quality of the writing and characters... but for me the real brilliance comes to the fore when the book is read by the likes of Rupert Penry-Jones / Toby Stephens / Jonathan Keeble or...
Published on 15 Jun. 2011 by Parm

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not of the same standard as previous instalments
Having enjoyed the previous Flashman novels, I was expecting the usual treat, an exciting and humorous adventure story.

Yet I was sadly disappointed with this book, it felt stale and terse and was certainly not of the previous high standard set by earlier books.

This is definitely one Flashman that could be dropped from the series which would not be...
Published on 31 July 2009 by J. Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 1 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashman and the Mountain of Light (The Flashman Papers, Book 4) (Paperback)
I bought this because the author is brilliant and his Flashman books are very readable. I will read all the eleven eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 25 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Orr "Meg" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Working my way through the serious and loved reading it - all the stories are brilliant and the humour is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, not great, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good read and well up to the usual Flashman standard. My only complaints would be 1) it's fairly ridiculous to suppose that an arrant coward would allow himself to be railroaded into taking part in a war that didn't concern him, as he was not on active service when it started, nor was he a part of the Company's Indian Army. And 2) in this novel we see the start of the invidious, all-pervading jingoism that marred a lot of these books. It is a little tiresome to have it rammed down one's throat that the British Empire was the best thing to ever happen to the world, and a shining beacon of probity, decency and enlightenment, when in fact the Raj was a monstrous evil to those who suffered under the Imperial jackboot, whose countries were raped, looted and despoiled, and whose people were slaughtered by the million, all to bring wealth to Britain...or rather, to England. A good story but a skewed, unreliable vision of history that tells only one side of the story, and one interpretation of the 'facts'. Recommended, but not unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Flashman, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashman and the Mountain of Light (The Flashman Papers, Book 4) (Paperback)
As always, great book to read again and again and very happy to have my own copy now at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment., 7 Jan. 2000
This review is from: Flashman and the Mountain of Light (The Flashman Papers, Book 4) (Paperback)
I am a real fan of the whole flashman series and own the lot. What more can I say buy and enjoy you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Misrule Britannia, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Series worth getting - belly laughs, new view on history, and lady's undergarments..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book that was received very promptly in the post. I am very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stonking good read!!!, 10 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Flashman and the Mountain of Light (The Flashman Papers, Book 4) (Paperback)
I have read all of the flashman novels and am a big fan. After 'the great game' the books tend to be less imaginative and a bit repeaditive I would say that 'the mountain of the light' along with 'the dragon' are two notable exceptions. If you enjoyed the original flashman book and the great game I believe you will enjoy this book which covers the sikh war. Worth a read and would make my top five flashman novels.....but only just. Best from his last 5-6 novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. P. A. Chandler "PAC" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They're all good and worth a read. Recommend every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Dr. Donald Couper "navydonald" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hilarious and fascinating historical detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flashman and the Mountain of Light (The Flashman Papers, Book 4)
Flashman and the Mountain of Light (The Flashman Papers, Book 4) by George MacDonald Fraser (Paperback - 18 Jun. 2015)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews