Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLASHY AT HIS BEST
Flashman's Lady is by far my favourite of the 'Flashman' series. It sees our (anti) hero getting himself in the way of pirates, psychotic large breasted despots and some quite sharp bowling! In this volume he travels to Singapore, Borneo, Madagascar and most exotically of all a certain cricket ground in St John's Wood.
For those of you unfamiliar with the Flashman...
Published on 13 Jan 2003 by T Marshall

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not cricket !
The lady in question is Flashy's beloved (sometimes) wife Elspeth, and it is because of her that our reluctant warrior manages to get himself enmeshed in sticky situations in the East Indies and Madagascar. Not the best Flashman adventure it has to be said, but still good enough to bring a smile and keep one up late. 'Filling in the gaps' is basically what this sixth...
Published on 29 Jan 2002 by Andy (aaamack@omantel.net.om)


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Heaven, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For a long time people had expounded the brilliance of the flashman and the books are damn fine to read, i don't think it needs me or anyone else to write a review saying about the high quality of the writing and characters... but for me the real brilliance comes to the fore when the book is read by the likes of Rupert Penry-Jones / Toby Stephens / Jonathan Keeble or Timothy west.
I love to listen to the Flashman books on audio format when im on holiday, the only issue i have is to make sure i dont start talking like a Victorian cad whilst going to the bar to get a drink.

If you love the books and have not tried the audio format yet do so, i promise you its a whole new way to experience the world of Flashman, and if you are new to the Man...go on..you will love him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not cricket !, 29 Jan 2002
This review is from: Flashman's Lady (The Flashman Papers, Book 3) (Paperback)
The lady in question is Flashy's beloved (sometimes) wife Elspeth, and it is because of her that our reluctant warrior manages to get himself enmeshed in sticky situations in the East Indies and Madagascar. Not the best Flashman adventure it has to be said, but still good enough to bring a smile and keep one up late. 'Filling in the gaps' is basically what this sixth Flashman tale does, covering as it does the period 1842-45; after he returned from Afghanistan and before he got himself involved in the Schleswig-Holstein affair.
This is basically a book of three parts. The first part is mainly concerned with cricket, and how Flashy, after accepting an offer from the rather pious Tom Brown (whom Flashy sets out to shock), ends up pitting his wits against England's finest exponents of leather on willow. MacDonald Frasers description of a summer's day at Lords in the 1840's means that you are in
effect there for yourself, so atmospheric and evocative is his narrative of England and all things cricket.
An interesting diversion in this section of the book sees Flashy travelling to see a public hanging at Newgate, and his unerring ability to catch sight of famous people continues when he is close to the author of 'Vanity Fair', William Makepeace Thackeray.
The second part of the novel sees Flashy, after failing to win a cricket challenge against the likeable but enigmatic Don Solomon Haslam, and fearful of the retribution of a certain Mr Daedalus Tighe (who had money on the outcome), getting himself into hot water in the East Indies as he tries to locate Elspeth. His adoring wife you see has been spirited away by the previously unimpeachable Don Solomon, but then the said Don is most decidely NOT what he seems.
An expedition to recover his lost love, led by the eccentric and reckless adventurer 'Raja' Brooke to Borneo sees Flashy engaging in various skirmishes with pirates. The upshot of which is that he ends up in.....Madagascar ! as a prisoner and sexual servant to the highly unpredictable Queen Ranavalona.
Flashy has to 'service' the demanding monarch constantly; for failure to perform could result in him meeting a particularly nasty end. The Madagascar adventure forms the third and by far the most entertaining portion of this sixth Flashman package.
MacDonald Fraser conjures up a truly haunting and indeed disturbing atmosphere, as we are introduced through the eyes of prisoner Flashy to a Madagascar where the 'Mad' is not out of place. This is not a country at ease with itself, it is a place where fear is a neighbour, where all the norms of civilised behaviour are absent. The inhabitants of the Queen's court dress in garish clothes and ape the manners of the European nobility, but they all have one thing on their minds; survival. Madagascar is a land where life is cheap and death an occupational hazard for its unfortunate population while Ranavalona is at the helm.
Court intrigue and flight follow, culminating in Flashy and his lady getting caught up in an attack on the port of Tamitave, here a truly comical scene is described when an English and French officer argue, despite the carnage and continuing danger, over possession of a Malagassy flag.
The flight to freedom actually sees Elspeth displaying qualities not seen before from the dedicated snob and socialite, and it prompts Flashy to come out with one of his classic quotes:
'She was a soldier's wife, all right; pity she hadn't married a soldier'

This package is also interesting for that fact that it contains Elspeth's diary entries for this period and the equally acerbic comments added by her sister, Grizel de Rothschild. Incidentally, the cover of 'Flashman's Lady' shows our hero outfitted in cricketing garb but the lady over his shoulder wearing the burgundy dress is a mystery to me, whoever can she be ?

Read and enjoy, this is how adventures were meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Linguistic panache, 24 Jun 2012
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
John Updike supposedly said the Flashman books were 'potboilers' - there is something formulaic about the tales, but they're worth reading for the verbal swagger, the humorous turns of phrase and the accents he reproduces so brilliantly. I listened to Timothy West read this one on audiobook. Fraser's works are a way of absorbing our history as fun. I love the way that he mocks English institutions by drawing some of their more extreme characters.

This story shows that match-fixing in cricket has been going on since the game began. It reminds us of the lunatics that built the British Empire and the savagery that it uncovered. Plus we get some politically-incorrect psychological insights into the female sex through the delightful Elspeth and the rapacious Queen Ranavalona I. Capital stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top notch,, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best of the Flashman novels, which is saying quite a lot. Packed full of incident, humour, and odd characters. Much funnier and more entertaining than the first two. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flashman's Lady, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashman's Lady (The Flashman Papers, Book 3) (Paperback)
Another great book in a great series! Flash is a bounder and a cad but you can't help liking him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first two, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very promising start with great detail of people and places but the final chapters become a bit farcical and leave characters story's unfinished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 25 Jan 2014
By 
M. Orr "Meg" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Working my way through the serious and loved reading it - all the stories are brilliant and the humour is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it., 16 Sep 2013
By 
G. Fowell "The_Chief" (Rutland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All the FLashman books are superb but this really shows Flashy at his vile best. A must read. Strongly recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Harry, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. R. Hards (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always been a fan of Flashman since he first popped up in Tom Brown school days. A bully a cad and somehow manages to bluster his way through many historical battles and major events in history in many countries, every one must know someone like this in their everyday life, always comes up smelling or Roses however despicable he acts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer pleasure from start to finish, 31 Aug 2013
By 
JF (London, England) - See all my reviews
I was introduced to Flashman at an age when the sexy bits made a powerful and lasting impression on me. That was over forty years ago but I still return to the Flashman books when I want to experience sheer, uncomplicated pleasure. I try to make reading them a private pleasure but unfortunately they make me laugh out loud, which means my wife always catches me at it.

Flashman's Lady was hilarious in places, so even though I was reading it on a Kindle, I was unable to hide it. Initially I could avoid having to read it aloud by explaining to my wife that it was all about cricket, in which she has no interest and which she doesn't understand. But once the action moved to South East Asia and Flashman encountered a couple of 'Chink girls, one in red silk, t'other in green,' I ran out of excuses and was obliged to give in to her entreaties.

'That sounds like Flashman!' she declared, for she recognised the style from earlier novels I'd been forced to share in similar circumstances. No-one else is so funny, so saucy and so politically incorrect.

Another high point was Flashman's encounter with Queen Ranavalona of Madagascar, 'the most horrible woman I've ever met' who goes through lovers 'like rats through cheese.' The writing here was so vivid and incisive that certain scenes will be etched on my memory forever.

I do have a slight grumble, however, for the Kindle version, though convenient, is nowhere near as good as the paperback. There are many errors, especially with the word 'hell'. This is rendered as h--1 all too frequently, which is not altogether attributable to the brutal editing of Flashman's sister-in-law, Grizel de Rothschild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flashman's Lady (The Flashman Papers, Book 3)
Flashman's Lady (The Flashman Papers, Book 3) by George MacDonald Fraser (Paperback - 4 April 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews