Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashy - A Role Model For The New Millenium?
... MacDonald Fraser's skill as a writer and a historian are under-represented. "Flash For Freedom", like all the Flashman series, is beautifully written and the way the author has mixed historical fact with fiction is truly sublime. Extensive footnotes referring to the sources of his imagination reveal that MacDonald Fraser is a thorough researcher and emphasise the huge...
Published on 15 Mar 2003 by Mr. T. M. Ray

versus
0 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy from Amazon unless you are housebound
This item was delivered by Home Delivery Network to someone whom I have never met in the same block of flats four floors up from me. I have been unable to retrieve it. You may as well throw your money away as order from them.
Published on 9 Sep 2010 by Puskascat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashy - A Role Model For The New Millenium?, 15 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) (Paperback)
... MacDonald Fraser's skill as a writer and a historian are under-represented. "Flash For Freedom", like all the Flashman series, is beautifully written and the way the author has mixed historical fact with fiction is truly sublime. Extensive footnotes referring to the sources of his imagination reveal that MacDonald Fraser is a thorough researcher and emphasise the huge amount of effort that must have gone in to the creating of the series.
And then of course there's Flashy himself, self-confessed rake and poltroon, not to mention unashamed racist and snob. In this current age of political correctness "Flash For Freedom" is unapologetically outrageous; there is enough fuel here to fan the flames of feminist and Christian fury from now to Kingdom Come!
And yet that, maybe, is MacDonald Fraser's point. Through his protaganist's skewed morality he manages to present a vision of human nature that is troubling and thought provoking. Flashman's world was very different to our own but perhaps not that different underneath it all.....
This book is deeply amusing, thoroughly entertaining and a delight to read. Women may be turned off by Harry Flashman's vulgar and immoral nature, but between the enthralling historical narrative his wanton behaviour will no doubt appeal to the baser instincts of blokes everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashy the pragmatic poltroon strikes again!, 3 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) (Paperback)
What can I say other than this is a fantastic read? Well I could mention that it has the notorious Harry Flashman, hero of Jallalabad, cricketer-gentleman, slaver, abolitionist, poltroon and bully up to his usual mischief. Wrongly accused of cheated, he escapes, but as usual the Fates weave a classically ripping yarn and we find our anti-hero experiencing both sides of the slavery coin. If you're fed up with the political correctness being taken to ludicrous degrees, then Flashman is the man to whom you must turn. Refreshingly Victorian I cannot bestow any higher honour on Fraser's writing than to say that of all the characters ive read in my life, he is the one of the few whom I genuinely admire.... but maybe thats a bad thing!
As ive said of other Flashman books, this is top notch - you must read at least one of these books otherwise you are really missing out. Flash for Freedom is definetly a 5/5 and 10/10, it is truly memorable. If I could vote, id make the man king!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Heaven, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (Audio CD)
For a long time people had expounded the brilliance of the flashman and the books are damn fine to read, i don't think it needs me or anyone else to write a review saying about the high quality of the writing and characters... but for me the real brilliance comes to the fore when the book is read by the likes of Rupert Penry-Jones.
I love to listen to the Flashman books on audio format when im on holiday, the only issue i have is to make sure i dont start talking like a Victorian cad whilst going to the bar to get a drink.

If you love the books and have not tried the audio format yet do so, i promise you its a whole new way to experience the world of Flashman, and if you are new to the Man...go on..you will love him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect comedy/adventure, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Bt Liknaitzky "bt liknaitzky" (Capetown, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) (Paperback)
This, the third Flashman book in order of publication - it is preceded by ROYAL FLAH and the first one, FLASHMAN - is the best yet. It is an extraordinary combination of wit, historical authenticity and a brilliance of writing that quite probably has no peer. Harry Flashman needs to get away from England, and finds himself on a slaving-ship bound for West Africa, where he has several frightening adventures. Then he is sailed across the Atlantic to pre- Civil War America, where the tension continues unabated. Indeed, there is no writer more adept at creating and handling tension than George MacDonald Fraser. There are moments of terror here that would do credit to the imagination of Edgar Allan Poe. Balancing this always is a feel for high comedy that recalls PG Wodehouse, and running through it all is the most consummate style: every word counts, and Fraser never falters in his flawless delivery. He is one of the major writers of the age, far too good to be amongst the Booker Prize winners. Read him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiver me timbers., 13 April 2007
By 
Simon Hale (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) (Paperback)
Fantastic! It is impossible not to give any Flashman a 5 out of 5 and this one certainly does not disappoint.

Who would have thought that a simple game of pontoon with the ladies could have led to the latest enstalment of trouble that our Anti Hero Lt Harry Flashman manages to get himself into.

Its a rollercoaster ride that takes Flashman on a slave boat owned by his father in law, firstly to the West Coast of Africa and then, not without incident across the atlantic,chased by the US Navy, to New Orleans and then on the run through the new world as our resident coward and womaniser attempts to make his way to his beloved Enland without getting intered by the authorities, shot by aggrieved husbands or forced into marriage by large breasted brothel owners. A Flashman book would not be the same without running into notable characters in history, and believe me, as normal you will not be disappointed. This is a hugely funny book, and although it has an important message regarding our history, it gives this message without taking us away from the reason we are reading this book, and this is to have fun. Believe me you will have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flash beats Braveheart to the kill., 10 July 2011
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (Audio CD)
NOTE THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE AUDIO BOOK ONLY.
I'm one of the few to have actualy read the book and listened to the CDs.
The book is brilliant, fabulous details, great notes and a swift no words wasted read.
The CD book is wonderful that never overstays its 5CD 6 hours listening at all.
Now that's the problem. It's abridged and a whole lot of the book was missed out for example the fabulous detail of Flash's stay on the slave plantation and importantly the interplay between Cassy towards the book's end and their chase from imprisonment is abridged and as an avid reader I miss that detail. If you compare this book with Flashman on the March you will see what I mean.
However if ever a set of books were written to be spoken the Flashman Papers are the tops.
Rupert Perry Jones does a brilliant job, well spoken, great characterisation of the voices especiallt Abraham Lincoln who makes an early entry into the Flashman world (If only the Flashman in the American Civil War had been written what a read that would be with all the hints given here and in Flashman and the Redskins!)
The CDs fairly chug along at a gallop and make a very satisfying car journey wonderful.

You finish the CDs with regret that the tale has ended not the relief you get from some marathom books that overstay their welcome.

Sheer brilliance in a box.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will he escape?, 16 Mar 2011
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) (Paperback)
He just can't stay out of trouble for two minutes can he? A misdemeanour here and another one there and he's sent packing half way across the world! And what a trek this time around; slaving in Africa and a bid for escape which spans the length of most of the southern states in America.

This is a book which certainly focuses the reader's attention on central themes of slavery and escape. Flashman is a through and through racist and as a result, there is a lot of racist language used throughout the book. Yet in this instance, in order to fully convey his personality and attitude towards others, the language is necessary because without it, it wouldn't be Flashman or representative of the period. I mention it only to give an advance warning if such language is likely to offend.

The book whilst being a fictional novel gave a fascinating description of the slave trade and of the various loopholes and anomalies which the unscrupulous used to traffic people across the globe and indeed across America itself. The book is meticulously researched and I found the notes at the back, almost as interesting as the story (but not quite). I always find I learn something new when I read the Flashman books as they are packed with fascinating history facts and incidents.

If you enjoy the Flashman books, you'll certainly enjoy this one. Be prepared to strap yourself in and chase after Flashy as he attempts to extricate his notorious hide from several perilously sticky situations!

Superb historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let Freedom Reign, 12 Jan 2010
By 
J. Wilson (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) (Paperback)
Having thoroughly enjoyed the first two Flashman offerings I expected more of the same and I was not disappointed. In this tale we see Flashy run from the Amazon women of Dahomey (modern day Benin) to the free world of a pre-civil war United States.

A very funny book and no matter the situation Flashman's selfish streak wins out in the end. He plays at various times a slave trader, slave smuggler and slave himself. MacDonald Fraser is an inventive writer who combines fact with fiction effortlessly and introduces historical figures to add authenticity to these adventures; Benjamin Disraeli and Abraham Lincoln to name but two.

This book as well as being humorous also affected me in a different way. The descriptions of conditions aboard the slave ship en route to America are harrowing to say the least. The terrified slaves are treated as sub-human by the ship's white company. Branded and manacled in cramped quarters even Flashman seems moved by their plight.

"It's not that I'm an abolitionist by any means, but by the end of that day I'd had my bellyful of slaving. The reek of those musky bodies in that deck was abominable; the heat and stench grew by the hour, until you'd have wondered that anything could survive down there."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flash is back on form, 7 April 2001
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) (Paperback)
True epic flash. after the slowdown in pace in flashmans second volume, here he gathers pace and then some. the dastradly flashman again tears through history at a breakneck speed and once again not at all master of his own destinies but trying to save his neck by any means possible. very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story, well written as all MDF's books are, but lacking the humour that sets the best of them apart. Provides a shocking and no doubt accurate vision of the slave trade that makes one wonder about the human race, and even the word humanity. The author stresses the fact that Britain fought the slave trade but this tiny entry on the Empire's credit side is nothing compared to the vast mountain on the debit side! The lot of a British apologist is not a happy one! I thought of comparing this to Mussolini making the trains run on time but then dismissed this as churlish: fighting the slave trade was indeed a good act by Britain. Pity it's the only one in a history comprised of monstrous, evil crimes against humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5)
Flash for Freedom! (The Flashman Papers, Book 5) by George MacDonald Fraser (Paperback - 4 April 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews