Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best
A friend of mine last year had to spend some time in the delightful town of Kabul. Prior to his departure I managed to secure a copy of this book for him; I hoped that he would see the funny side of me giving him a story which involved one of the greatest military defeats ever retreating from the very place he was being sent to.
I knew though that I was also giving...
Published on 19 Feb. 2003 by T Marshall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyment largely depends on interest in that historical event
I went into this with really high expectations based of several glowing reviews from friends, which is probably why I wasn't as blown away. I have clearly read the works of several authors who were inspired by this series meaning it's no longer that shocking an anti-hero. It didn't help that I'm just not interested in the particular setting (other books in the series seem...
Published 7 months ago by Neil J. Pearson


‹ Previous | 111 12 1319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The irascible Cad, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Flashman papers is one of those books which bears rereading. The story is well paced and written with humour. The footnotes are interesting and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A realy good read as i was reading all the names of ..., 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A realy good read as i was reading all the names of the towns etc were on the radio /tv as in the warwe are now comming out of it seems nothing has changed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2014, 10 May 2013
This review is from: Flashman (The Flashman Papers) (Paperback)
when i read the afghan part of the book it gave me a back to the future feeling of what the 2014 retreat from kabul is going to be like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking forward to reading the second, and all the books in the series. I'm sure they will be just as good as the 1st, if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned rouse, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not yet finished but enjoying so far. Thoroughly dislikable character so good to follow his adventures. A book very much of its day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ashman series will always be my favorite, George MacDonald Fraser was a terrific writer, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The F;ashman series will always be my favorite, George MacDonald Fraser was a terrific writer, its a pity he isno longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book 1, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read other flashman books I was prepared for the plot line. Still an excellent read with a great historical story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 25 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Orr "Meg" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absoutely loved it - all the stories are brilliant and the humour is excellent. Will definately read the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good page turner, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
made me laugh out loud and it has a good storyline based on actual events and you have to love an hate the anti hero flashman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fun book. Good holiday read., 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fun novel. Quick and easy to read but not sure I am sufficiently inspired to carry on to reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flashman (The Flashman Papers)
Flashman (The Flashman Papers) by George MacDonald Fraser (Paperback - 4 April 2005)
£6.74
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews