Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Not typical Barker, but brilliant nonetheless
If you are looking at this for the gratuitous hack n slash of a typical Barker novel you may well be disappointed.

This is however one of the best books I have ever read and offers an excellent mix of supernatural, sex and violence.
Published 23 months ago by Ferretus

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing
if this book had been written by anyone else, i might have been more impressed. but clive barker is one of my all time favourite writers and i thought this was a little barker-by-numbers. if i was writing a school report, i would say "must try harder". come on mr b, write the sequel to galilee! please! this is not a bad book, but neither does it really...
Published on 21 Sep 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Hardcover)
if this book had been written by anyone else, i might have been more impressed. but clive barker is one of my all time favourite writers and i thought this was a little barker-by-numbers. if i was writing a school report, i would say "must try harder". come on mr b, write the sequel to galilee! please! this is not a bad book, but neither does it really challenge the imagination, as clive does so well. usually. sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but its no Weave World., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Paperback)
I would of given this book five stars,its still classic Barker though.
But its not on the scale of Imajica or Weave world.
But don't let me put you off it,its still a very good scary book.
Ideal for holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not typical Barker, but brilliant nonetheless, 1 May 2012
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Kindle Edition)
If you are looking at this for the gratuitous hack n slash of a typical Barker novel you may well be disappointed.

This is however one of the best books I have ever read and offers an excellent mix of supernatural, sex and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quite boring really, 2 July 2011
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Paperback)
I bought this on the strength of Clive Barker's earlier work but I was sorely disappointed. The premise of the story was good and could have been really interesting if it wasn't for the endless sex scenes. They went on and on and on and on...and to be honest, I haven't even finished the book as I couldn't be bothered with it. Now, I expect Clive Barker's books to contain graphic sex scenes, that's one of the reasons his books always have such a dark edge but it was the sheer quantity of the ones in this book that made me give up in the end. It seemed as if he'd constructed the whole story as a vehicle for the various S&M/urophlia/bestiality/bongdage/etc, etc, etc scenes he really wanted to write about and if this book had been written 30 years ago it would probably have been shocking but not any more I'm afraid. Yes, Mr Barker, we can all find various niche sexual fetishes on the internet but please concentrate on the story next time. Lazy, lazy, dull, lazy, not sexy, boring, hard work...did I mention lazy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dark & imaginative glimpse at the depraved underbelly of hollywood, 2 May 2009
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Hardcover)
First published back in 2001, `Coldheart Canyon' came three years after the publication of Barker's epic love story `Galilee'. With many fans of Barker's work expecting the sequel to `Galilee' to be following, or indeed the first instalment of the long awaited `Abarat' quartet to emerge, `Coldheart Canynon' was an interesting return to Barker's darker, more apocalyptic and dare I say more depraved side of his fiction.

Written during a very difficult period of Barker's life, with the unfortunate and sad death of his father, Barker takes it onboard to tackle face on some of the demons that are obviously surrounding him at the time of writing. In doing this the book takes on some heavy emotional aspects that hold such an obvious and predominant personal weight.

The novel starts off, setting down the fabric from which this intricate tale with be woven. With an intentionally muddled feel to the early pages of the book, the pieces of the storyline quickly start to weave themselves together until the storyline is firmly set on its way.

Barker soon unleashes a magical glimpse of the dark, depraved and damn right sadistic underbelly of Hollywood. With a satirical eye on the shallow vanity of the rich and famous, Barker creates the character of Todd Pickett; a hugely famous and adored movie star whose age is beginning to catch up with him.

This seemingly unconnected subplot, soon takes dominance over the storyline, allowing the otherwise dishevelled remaining pieces of story to merge around its main thrust. The unlikely character of Tammy Lauper, one of Todd Pickett's obsessive fans, soon takes a surprising main position within the unfolding tale.

With the thick pulse of the story now underway, Barker delves into his dark and deeply disturbing imagination, to bring to the tale a turn towards to his earlier fiction. Very possibly Barker's most sexually explicit piece of written work so far, the reader is thrust into a monstrous playground for Barker's mind to unleash all hell.

All taboos are hit head-on within the space of a chapter, without a shameful look back. Definite elements of S&M infiltrate the pages, bringing back fond memories of Barker's `Hellraiser' work. The erotic elements of the novel, spiral deeper and deeper into the depraved, leaving even the most hardened reader of bizarre sexual practices left gasping for air.

The characters within `Coldheart Canyon' , however irrelevant they appear to be, are all beautifully portrayed with a delicately created personality to each, that is breathed into life by Barker's carefully crafted use of the written word.

With the tale now fully underway, Barker never lets up from the accelerator, with each chapter hurtling further and further into the depths of the `world-within-a-world' that Barker has unleashed upon his readers.

The novel draws to an end, with a definite slowing down of pace, with Barker taking on once again more emotional aspects of the characters. This creates a tidy yet subtle bookend structure to the book as a whole. The final conclusion is wholeheartedly satisfying and well delivered to the very last word.

`Coldheart Canyon' is by no means a novel for the faint hearted. The sexual depravities explored to a limitless excess are nothing short of disturbing. The book is a respected and deserved return to Barker's core of writing styles. This is certainly a spectacular read and one that offers up a good glimpse of what lays behind the eyes of this incredible author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Barker's books need a better editor, 15 April 2008
By 
M. Brown (Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Hardcover)
Okay, I'm only halfway through this book, and I've enjoyed the content quite alot. But a problem with Barker's books is the lackadaisical editing. Alot of errors are overlooked that a really good eagle-eyed editor would have seen and dealt with. This is very frustrating, when Barker is such a gifted writer. The most laughable thing is the praise that he heaps on his editor in the acknowledgements. The bad editing puts me off reading his work, which on the whole, tends to be of high quality (if you overlook the fantasy piffle he's been writing lately). The person complaining about the degree of sexual content in the book needs to loosen up a bit. It's an exploration of Hollywood stars' corrupted sexuality, which is legendary, and as such, there is no virtue in Barker being coy in his account. In fact the more extreme it is, the more authentic it is. It's not porn, and it's not even erotica. It's merely a document of decadence. Editorial dubiousness aside, what I have read of the book is impressive, although it's not of the same calibre as Books of Blood, but then nothing else he's written is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My name is Clive and my dog is dead!, 13 Jun 2002
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Paperback)
This is really not up to much. Since Clive Barkers move to the good ole'USA he has slowly produced poorer and poorer fiction. This is the worst example so far and has now closed the cover on his ability to interest myself, and I would imagine anyone who enjoyed the Books of blood / Dmnation Game / Weaveworld. The quite frankly grossly self-indulgent passage on the death of his dog (if it's meant to be satirical it ain't funny)suggests that Clive should concentrate on Clive Barker Incorporated and cease shortchanging increasingly desperate old fans. Where did all the talent and invention go?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BACK TO HIS BEST, 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Hardcover)
Clive Barker is back to his best. I have read most of his books but have always felt that he has not written anything to better Weaveworld.Then he writes COLDHERT CANYON. It's not has good as Weaveworld but it comes dam near. I could'nt put it down its compelling and haunting. You feel everthing the characters feel pain,sex,heartache & more. Well done Clive nice to see back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of paper, 16 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Paperback)
I remember reading Weaveworld for the first time over a decade ago. I was stunned, I was hooked and I became one of Barker's legion of fans. The next few novels were great. Then, sometime after Imagica - around the time he moved to the States and became some kind of producer for mostly straight to video movies - his writing fell apart. Sacrament, Galilee and now Coldheart Canyon.
Actually, this latest is a little better than some of his other recent output, but its self-indulgent, repetitive and tedious, there isn't a single believable character - indeed the central character is possibly the most annoying creation on the page in some years - the plot lacks drive and Barker seems obsessed with detailed descriptions of sex (for no real reason, they do little to tell us anything about character, situation or plot - they just seem to be there to prove that he can 'do' straight sex in novels). The images he conjures fail to convince - despite the fact that he's raided them from his own back-catalogue (mostly the Books of Blood and Weaveworld).
Perhaps worst of all Barker can't seem to make up his own mind whether or not he likes his characters, and his sympathies roam around haphazardly.
I was really hoping that there would be some return to form with this novel, but I was disappointed. Galilee II is next on the list - which isn't likely to be any more interesting than the first part of that story - along with Abarat (trust me, it's not very good). And then in a few months we finally get the last installment of the Art trilogy - I can only hope that by returning to his earlier mythology he rediscovers something of his strength as a writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Barker depth and genius., 18 Oct 2002
This review is from: Coldheart Canyon (Paperback)
First of all, this is a really good story, with original characters, (geniously so in the case of Todd Pickett, due to the mix of public perception and his underlying real personality not being a cliche), and some real classic Barker details thrown in. (Read on if you don't mind a few potential spoilers). The 'other world' in this story is a land inhabited by wonderful creatures, created by Satan's wife to accomodate three classic sword and shield knight's to hunt for countless years until they catch their prize. I personally thought Barker's insight has matured to a highly refined plateux, (the only Barker I had hitherto read was penned over a decade before Coldheart), and his description of this 'other world' is far better than his attempts at expressing those images he trys to convey than Weaveworld's 'The Fugue'. Remeber: not only does Clive Barker use more imagination and insight than any other author I can imagine, but his general quality of writing is excellent; with a great range of techniques used to make not a sentence dull. Clive Barker has insight shown by no other authors, or other artists, that I have studied the work of. I use the word 'study' because Barker's work is not only cogent and readable, but highly complex. I don't claim to understand all of Barker's ideas and insights, but through the countless clever little details, some ideas really tested by brain's metal. You can't look at a passage and expect it to make sense on it's own in many cases, with these complex concepts, and you generally have to 'get to know' Barker a little, (however stupid that sounds, you need to read a bit of Barker before you can expect to follow all of the undertones). Trying to convey quite how amazing Barker's work is is a thankless task, and I would really rather not do it; so if you have any sense, (which I'm sure you do 8), then read Barker. A few ideas of Clive's were better than anything I have heard from him of any other books of his I have read, (eg. HBH, BOB, WW), such as the way Epstadt expends by blooming flowers, the description of the air expelled from hell when Lilith visits The Hunt, and Barker's vision of an angel. There is too much to write, so this can't be a comprehensive review, and I will stop now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa65bc06c)

This product

Coldheart Canyon
Coldheart Canyon by Clive Barker (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews