Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Festive Treat
This is a tremendously enjoyable book. It is surely an absolute delight for all the many fans of the original classic book by Kenneth Grahame which has remained in print for over 100 years. This particular sequel was written after William Horwood's critically acclaimed 'Willows' trilogy and appeared in print in 1999. It is set after Grahame's immortal tome but before...
Published on 12 Jan. 2009 by Book Beaver

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan!
I love the original wind in the willows as the characters are full of life and the adventures are fun. I bought this book believing it to be something else, but since it had the wind in the willows tag, i wante to give it a try. I'm on the third chapter and have stopped reading. There are some colour pictures which are beautiful, but the story (or what i have read of it)...
Published on 1 Dec. 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Festive Treat, 12 Jan. 2009
This is a tremendously enjoyable book. It is surely an absolute delight for all the many fans of the original classic book by Kenneth Grahame which has remained in print for over 100 years. This particular sequel was written after William Horwood's critically acclaimed 'Willows' trilogy and appeared in print in 1999. It is set after Grahame's immortal tome but before Horwood's first sequel which was 'The Willows in Winter'. This latest book has much in common with the trilogy but there are some differences as well. Like the others, it is illustrated by Patrick Benson but there are no illustrated endpapers which play a small but insightful part in the Willows trilogy; however, there is the bonus of 7 magnificent colour plates by Benson who before collaborating with Horwood was best known for illustrating Roald Dahl's final book, 'The Minpins'.
This magnificent book is a slightly different size to the other books but the length is the same and it has Horwood's standard 12 chapters which is his regulation length for a Willows book as it matches the length of Grahame's original.
The plot consists of Toad having to put up with an insufferably rude house guest but when Mole hatches a plan with Ratty, Badger and Otter to 'rescue' Toad, events take an unfortunate turn and Christmas spirit appears to be in short supply on the Riverbank. This is an ideal book to read by an open fire, accompanied by crumpets dripping with golden butter, the laughter of friends and a generous glass of port or a piping hot cup of tea and a sizeable wedge of stilton and some of Otter's water biscuits and Mole's mince pies. A meal such as that would be as thoroughly recommended as this exceptional book which should be on every bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas with old friends, 10 April 2011
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows) (Paperback)
Back in the 90s William Horwood wrote three pastiche books that featured the best loved characters from Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows. I really enjoyed them. Each book saw these characters mature until by the third book I suspected that Horwood would reboot the series by introducing a next generation of River Bank characters. This didn't happen. Three years passed before he was to revisit Mr. Toad, Mr. Mole and company. When first published after such a lengthy hiatus The Willows at Christmas flew swiftly under my radar, until now. In the hope of having some pleasingly seasonal reading material over the festive period I ordered a copy. Horwood has rolled back time to not long after K.Grahame's classic and prequelling his own trilogy.
Mr. Mole is dismayed to discover that the spirit of Christmas has been lost by the riverbankers and the nearby village. He sets out to try to rediscover it. The early scenes with Mole investigating the causes of the lack of festivity are the best. Miss Bugle's sad little Christmas witnessed by the ever lovable Mole almost had me reaching for the handkerchief and for a mind boggling moment had me hoping for a little inter-species romance. The later sections of the book slide more into the sorts of situations that Mr. Toad's foolishness often resulted in the original. The threat of incarceration and execution should surely be familiar to Mr. Toad. Patrick Benson's rustic little line drawings and beautiful coloured plates complement the writing perfectly. Very good but never really replaces the original book in your heart but for those wishing to spend time with such beloved characters for a little bit longer you really can't go far wrong with this book and the three that preceded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, I read to my, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows) (Paperback)
very good ,I read to my grandchildren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willows at Christmas, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows) (Paperback)
William Horwood carries on Kenneth Grahames delightful story of the folk of the riverbank. This is a very good animated version of it, beautifully done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows) (Paperback)
Happy with book, packing and speed of posting. Purchased for neice for Xmas. Why do I need to add more words than is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book,great purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows) (Paperback)
Good, quick service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows) (Paperback)
See below
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another lovely Book from the Willows, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
Having read the whole series now I was really suprised to come across this gem. It is a must for all fans of the Willows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows)
The Willows at Christmas (Tales of the Willows) by William Horwood (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews