Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Elderly Spinster as Nemesis, 23 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss Marple Omnibus, volume 3: "Nemesis", "Sleeping Murder", "At Bertram's Hotel", "Murder at the Vicarage":: "Nemesis", "Sleeping Murder", "At Bertram's Hotel", "Murder at the Vicarage" Vol 3 (Paperback)
You can hardly imagine meeting a person who is not at all acquainted with the name of Miss Marple. Buying the whole Omnibus series is an excellent way of getting to know this absolutely brilliant detective better and enjoy her company.
I've chosen the third volume of the Omnibus series for my review partially because I haven't found any synopsis next to it so I decided it could be more helpful, and also because all the four stories in it are very different one from another and equally brilliant.
As the good vicar says in "The Murder at the Vicarage", no detective in England can equal an elderly spinster with plenty of time on her hands. But in these four novels Miss Marple appears not only as a great sleith, but as a compassionate and very sensible person in constant search of Justice, however dangerous it might become. Other people are drawn by love, hate, money, - she isn't.
The third volume consists of the novels "Nemesis", "Sleeping Murder", "At Bertram's Hotel" and "The Murder at the Vicarage", and apart from the excellent mystery and some very funny remarks on human nature, contain the splendid soothing discovery: justice is not blind, she is a shrewd old spinster witha remarkably good eyesight and a particular taste for "bird-watching". Read the stories, and at the end you will most inevitably ask youself "Who would I remind Miss Marple of?"...
And then maybe you will buy a pair of binoculars, take up some knitting (not necessary, but has a certain charm) and become an excellent amateur detective!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MISSMARPLES OMNIBUS VOL 111, 1 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Miss Marple Omnibus, volume 3: "Nemesis", "Sleeping Murder", "At Bertram's Hotel", "Murder at the Vicarage":: "Nemesis", "Sleeping Murder", "At Bertram's Hotel", "Murder at the Vicarage" Vol 3 (Paperback)
IF YOU LIKE MISS MARPLE YOU WILL FIND THIS OMNIBUS GREAT ALL HER ADVENTURES IN ONE PLACE JUST GREAT.. I WILL BE BUYING VOLS 1 & 11 FOR SURE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Marple Omnibus 2, 12 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This collection of Miss Marple mysteries is excellent. Agatha Christie is at her very best with them. I could not put the book down until I had finished all the stories which made for a very enjoyable weekend. Each story is superbly crafted and, if like me, you always see the characters and action unfold in your imagination then you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Marple Omnibus #2, 6 May 2009
By 
I really enjoyed the collection of Miss Marple mysteries in this omnibus, despite already having read 'They do it with Mirrors'. Agatha Christie is a brilliant murder mystery author, leaving you guessing until the end of the story.I love the way that a lot of people think Miss Marple is just an old women gossiping about things or even just blabbering on about nonsense, but she always works out who commited the crime.

In the first story, 'A Carribean Mystery' Miss Marple is listening to a stories being recounted to her by an old man who served as a soldier in India, and letting her mind wander. But when he starts telling her a story about a murderer, her ears prick up. He offers to show her a photo of the murderer, but while is searching for it in his wallet, something catches his eye and he discountinues his search and immediately starts talking about something else entirely. And the next day he died. Is it a coincidence? Miss Marple doesn't think so.

The second story is 'A pocketful of Rye'. When Rex Fortescue is poisoned by taxine in his office, everyone suspects his second wife-until she is poisoned also. And not long after they find the body of the maid, Gladys, strangled by a stocking with a peg clipped upon her nose. Gladys used to work for Miss Marple and so she travels to Yewtree Lodge to discover who is behind these horrible crimes, which are very similar to the rhyme, A Pocketful of Rye.

'The Mirror Crack'd from Side to Side' is the third story in the omnibus. Miss Marple is being looked after by the annoying Miss Knight, so she is unable to attend the party held by the famous actress Marina Gregg at Gossington Hall, which means she has to ask her friend Dolly Bantry about what happened there, a subject she is extremely interested in as a woman she had met once previously, Heather Badcock, was poisoned there. The question on everyone's lips is: was she the intended victim? Or was it actually Marina?

The last book is 'They do it with Mirrors'. Miss Marple makes a promise to her old schoolfriend Ruth she will go down to visit Ruth sister and also her old schoolfriend, Carrie Louise. Carrie Louise lives in Stonygates, a country house which has been turned into a training center for juvenile delinquents. Things heat up when someone is killed and attempts are made to poison Carrie Louise-or are they? In this story, nothing is as it seems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat!, 27 Oct. 2011
didn't realise these bumper editions existed until i saw them on amazon - so was delighted to be able to buy all 3 volumes - ALL the complete novels of Miss Marple - and the original stories - without ITV completely ruining the plots - and they just go to show how fantastically faithful the BBC adaptations were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing the family with thrillers, 14 Sept. 2011
By 
SA Brain (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Purchased for my daughter who has recently discovered the thriller genre. Not put down until finished. After all these years, TV versions and technology Agatha in book form still has it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Sept. 2014
By 
StarryNight (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Wow! All of these stories are excellent, I adore all of Agatha Christie's work, and it is nice to immerse myself in a completely different era. My favourite story in this collection is 'The Moving Finger' as it follows the development of a very sweet romance alongside the nefarious criminal theme, and you really want the two individuals involved to get together. The omnibus volumes are great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Miss Marple 2, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
Brilliant is the only rating I can give this as it is among the best workk of the Queen Of Crime. A fine addition to any book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars some of the best "who dunits" around, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. B. M. Phillipson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha Chrustie is one of the ll time greats in the mystery "who Dunit" category and she still teads very well. The settings are classic English and defintely not dated. A great cllection, especially for anyone who has npt read Christie before. well wworth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real good read, 6 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. H. Stewart "Heather Stewart" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These books are my favorite Agatha Christie stories. I can read them again and again. It is a while since I read them and am taking them on holiday to chill out with on the beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews