Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping. A great book!
In this sequel to Shadow of a Dark Queen, author Raymond Feist takes us back to his magical world of Midkemia. Now that they have returned to the Kingdom of the Isles, Erik von Darkmoor has decided to reenlist in the fight against the dark powers that threaten his world, while Rupert Avery has decided to follow his original plan of marrying a rich merchant's ugly...
Published on 11 Nov 2005 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raymond could of done better.
This book was good enough to keep you reading but the main story about Roo just does not make the grade. It is a fiction book but the story of Roo's rise to the ritchest man in the kingdom is just stupid. The whole way through the book it just did not feel right. Roo an uneducated, twenty year old, nobody rising so fast is just too unrealistic for me. The rest of the...
Published on 2 Feb 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping. A great book!, 11 Nov 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In this sequel to Shadow of a Dark Queen, author Raymond Feist takes us back to his magical world of Midkemia. Now that they have returned to the Kingdom of the Isles, Erik von Darkmoor has decided to reenlist in the fight against the dark powers that threaten his world, while Rupert Avery has decided to follow his original plan of marrying a rich merchant's ugly daughter and building a mercantile empire. But, life is going to prove interesting to both. Becoming a merchant prince is no cakewalk, and Roo will find his abilities taxed to the limit. And, the dark power rising in Novindus has not been deterred from its purpose.
Raymond Feist's Riftwar books were great, with epic adventure and magic, while his later books enjoyed a somewhat smaller scope. This book succeeds in walking on both sides of the street. While armies marshal and wizards weave great spells, we also follow the life of a man trying to build up his wealth and his personal life. And, I must say that it succeeds in doing both admirably.
I love stories of wizards and armies, and one gets a bunch of that here. But, I must say that I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Mr. Feist's tale of Roo Avery. I was captivated by the choices he made, both for good and for ill.
I am surprised to say that I enjoyed this book as much as I did the Riftwar books and Shadow of a Dark Queen! The action is gripping, grabbing you right on the first page, and drawing you along. Yep, this is a great book, and a wonderful addition to my fantasy library. I loved to presence of Boldar Blood, and hope that Mr. Feist will consider writing a book that develops the Hall of Worlds more!
I loved this book, and highly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous times at home and abroad!, 15 Jun 2001
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
One of the great things about Feist is that you never get two dimensional characters. One moment you are reading this book admiring Roo's merchant manouvers and at others nearly despising his total lack of interest in his family. You certainly believe that the driving force behind Rupert is entirely selfish, but his wit and humour and in the end his brotherly love for Erik show that Roo has the capability of being more. Whilst the story concentrates on Roo we do follow the 'Captain' and Erik to Novinous again and whilst this is a relativly small part of the book it is still able to grab you by the throat and you just won't be able to put the book down until you know the fate of all involved. A perfect second book that adds depth and colour to the story and sets the stage for the breath taking action found in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slows the pace, and ups the intrigue., 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
After the introductions of new characters and the action in the first volume of the serpent war saga this initially seems an odd way of following on.
The focus shifts from Erik to his friend Rupert "roo" Avery who's ambition is to become a horribly rich merchant.
The emphisis of this volume is on Roos clever deals to make money, his loves and losses and struggles as he gradually makes his dreams a reality.
The main storyline is pushed to the back burner as it develops slowly as we learn much about the inner workings of Krondor, the capitol of the western realm.
A different book to the first volume, but equally as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raymond could of done better., 2 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
This book was good enough to keep you reading but the main story about Roo just does not make the grade. It is a fiction book but the story of Roo's rise to the ritchest man in the kingdom is just stupid. The whole way through the book it just did not feel right. Roo an uneducated, twenty year old, nobody rising so fast is just too unrealistic for me. The rest of the book is very good though. Erik and Calis returning to Novindus makes the book worth reading.
In short read it for the good bits and so you can read the next one but do not expect a spectacular read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feist does it again, but different this time, 12 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
I have read all the Raymond Feist that have been translated into Dutch and as I write this we have to wait until april for the rage of a demon king. I can't wait. In this pageturner Feist creates a different atmophere then in his other work. There is less magic and it is more down to earth stuff. Reading I liked very much. You'll get to know the life in Krondor well and you'll stay in touch with old friends such as Robert the Hand. Anyway, buy this book and enjoy the serpent war saga at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mr K R Northmore, 4 May 2009
By 
Mr. K. R. Northmore "AcoMara" (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
The second "Serpentwar Saga" book. This book captivates you from the first pages, just as the first book, Roo and Erik have made it back to the Kingdom, Roo decides he wants to become a very rich man, the richest in the whole Kingdom, he is en enthralling character and you really get to like him although he isn't a very good family man and a bit of a rogue you can't help but feel a part of his world and ambitions. Meanwhile Erik and Calis once again travel to Novindus and enter in a "skirmish " with the Emerald Queen, this really sets up the story for the third book and the inevitable battle from across the endless sea and the hoardes of hardned warriors as they decend on the Kingdom. Very good read and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Feist but a little different, 15 Dec 2007
By 
G. Peters (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
Rise of a Merchant Prince is the second installment of the Serpentwar saga and is quite different from the book's that Feist has written before.

The book is based on Roo Avery and his attempt to become the Kingdom's richest man. It's a really interesting read and although there's not the drama from the first Serpentwar novel it is still full of action and intrigue.

You also catch glimpses of the bigger battle approaching with Calis, Erik and their band of men returning to Novindus to battle the Dark Queen's evil forces.

Another excellent story from Feist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another page-turner from Feist, 23 Jun 2002
By 
Kevin S. Aspery (Leyland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
Despite focusing on Roo and his rise to the dizzying heights as the richest man in Krondor (if not the Kingdom), this is a worthy sequel to "Shadows of a Dark Queen" and continues to set the scene for the rest of the series.
As mentioned in other reviews, there are also episodes of Calis/Erik returning to Novidus, unravelling more of the mystery there which add blood-and-guts action to the mercantile battles facing Roo.
All in all, an excellent book, well worth reading if you're a fan of Feist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making a fantasy world as real as our own, 17 Jan 2004
Rise of a Merchant Prince is one of the more inspiring books of this author. It deals with two fairly ordinary guys who are caught up in extraordinary events, and make the most of them. Roo's journey into the business world of Krondor, filled with ruthless barons, villainous beauties, and murderous opposition is a thoroughly riveting read, and anyone who ways it is slow paced has just been watching dungeons and dragons for a little too long. As usual, the book is filled with a host of very real charachters who become even more entwined as Krondors enemies fall upon them again.
A brilliantly well thought out novel that acts as a magnifying glass over Krondor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that keeps you turning the pages, 28 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2 (Paperback)
The book starts were the previous left. Erik and Roo, lifelong friends, return to Krondor. Erik remains in the service of the King, Roo decides to wager his luck in commerce. Roo is the foremost person in this book.
The book is very different from other books by Feist, but even more attractive. Almost no magic, but that is compesated by a thrilling plot.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga, Book 2): Serpentwar Saga Bk. 2
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews