Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely satisfying
Although this is the last book in the Starbridge series it is actually set in time before its immediate prequel, Mystical Paths. Howatch obviously had good reasons for doing this; no other book could have rounded up the series so perfectly, and certainly it was a delight to return to Chares Ashworh as narrator, who began the whole series. This time Charles is at the...
Published on 7 Dec 2001 by mrs_mermaid@delphi.com

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars e book version
narrative excellent - e version contained far too many typos - I am sure that these would not have been in the original version.
Published 7 months ago by PAUL MITCHINSON


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely satisfying, 7 Dec 2001
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Paperback)
Although this is the last book in the Starbridge series it is actually set in time before its immediate prequel, Mystical Paths. Howatch obviously had good reasons for doing this; no other book could have rounded up the series so perfectly, and certainly it was a delight to return to Chares Ashworh as narrator, who began the whole series. This time Charles is at the evening of his life. He has been the Bishop of Salisbury for some years.. Some of those nearest and dearest to him have passed away and he has to come to terms not only with the sense of loss, doubt and lack of direction, but also with his wayward Dean, Neville Ayesgarth, who still insists on going off on a tangent in affairs of the Cathedral. As in Scandalous Risks, scandal seems only around the corner and Charles has to develop very strong spiritual muscles in order to bring matters to an outcome worthy of a Christian.
I must not forget to mention that in this novel Starbridge Cathedral itself - in the other books merely a background stat - becomes a major character, and a star player during the Grande Finale The climax of this book is not only deeply moving, it is also absolutely perfect. As is the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent end to a series, 8 Mar 2009
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Paperback)
I am not a churchgoer. I came to Howatch's 'Starbridge' series because they were recommended by Liz Greene, the astrologer, because of the ways the novels look at pitfalls in the spiritual life. I have now read all six novels and I particularly like this one because of the way it looks at the choices Ashworth makes when his crisis hits him. I find the many thoughts that go through his mind about the infinite variety of mistakes open to him in certain situations a true reflection of the difficulties faced by a person who does not wish to compromise with him or herself.

In this particular sense this book reminds me of the Old Testament in which all of Jahweh's prophets come short. David had his Bathsheba, even Moses never got to see the Promised Land.

I am not a great novel reader these days and when I do latch on to an author I sometimes am in for the long haul. In the last ten years I have read about fifteen books by Doris Lessing and about the same number by le Carre. I am now heading off to the next trilogy by Susan Howatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 31 Aug 2009
By 
D. M. Lowry "lowryepp" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Paperback)
In spite of having nearly a thousand pages thsi was a gripping read looking at a family through different generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic account of the pressures of religion, 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. Its accurate depiction of the breakdown of a bishop ring true; it shows that the compartmentalisation of religion doesn't work and the book challenges its readers to rethink their own ways of believing.
What is particularly interesting to note is the play between ambition and success, and the rounded, authentic humanity which eventually emerges from Charles' breakdown. the Church of England should perhaps note this effect and take some action...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Kindle Edition)
Gripping, well researched and argued Howatch provides insights into Christianity which allow the reader to make sense of it. All packaged in a superb novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So significant I cannot put them down, 3 Nov 2013
By 
N. Brice (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Paperback)
An amazing series of stories..Howatch is a master of unpacking the driving forces for many of our human leanings. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars brilliant narrative but......, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Kindle Edition)
I read this series a while ago and thoroughly enjoyed it but have to say the amount of typos was unforgivable and spoilt the series for me words were changed out of all context and spoilt my reacquaintance with the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Kindle Edition)
This book was one of the star bridge series which gave me a new interest in Christianity. Not preachy, but fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars e book version, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Kindle Edition)
narrative excellent - e version contained far too many typos - I am sure that these would not have been in the original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars So many spelling errors., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Truths (Kindle Edition)
So many spelling errors which are so distracting! Such a pity as this is such a brilliant series
of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa64b5780)

This product

Absolute Truths
Absolute Truths by Susan Howatch (Paperback - 4 Oct 2010)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews