Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant read from the masters!!!!
As usual Weis & Hickman have created a world and characters that you can really get involved with. I was dubious at the start that, as the story had moved on some two hundred years, they had moved on too far and lost the continuity from the Well of Darkness. But was soon enthralled and for me, this was, undoubtedly, much better than the first book in the series and...
Published on 10 Feb 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Book Binding
Very poorly bound. On opening the book to read, the first few pages started to fall out and the more I got through the more pages fell out. For the price (some hardbacks come cheaper) it is a rip-off and should be more along the lines of a 1.99 comic. Very disappointing as more is spent on keeping the pages together than concentrating on a good read.
Published 22 months ago by Col


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant read from the masters!!!!, 10 Feb 2002
By A Customer
As usual Weis & Hickman have created a world and characters that you can really get involved with. I was dubious at the start that, as the story had moved on some two hundred years, they had moved on too far and lost the continuity from the Well of Darkness. But was soon enthralled and for me, this was, undoubtedly, much better than the first book in the series and so I eagerly await the final volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Continuation, 3 Sep 2003
By 
J. Cronin "dudara" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guardians of the Lost: The Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Paperback)
The second episode in the Sovereign Stone trilology delivers action and adventure by the bucketful, but also contains a great and well-written story. It's been two hundred years since the transformation of Prince Dagnarus into The Lord of the Void, and the creation of the Vrykyl. The human portion of the Sovereign Stone has been lost, and the power of the human Dominion Lords is weakening. Gustav, the Whoreson knight, is nearing the end of his life, one which he has devoted to seeking out the Sovereign Stone. His perserverance pays off, but before he can return the stone to the Dominion Council, he battles a Vrykyl, which costs him his life. Before he passes away, he entrusts the stone to Jassan, a young Trevinci warrior and Bashae, a pecwae. Together they must journey to New Vinnengael to deliver the stone safely.
But this isn't the only story going on in the book. We also follow Raven, Jessan's uncle, as he is taken prisoner by the ferocious taan, huge desert creatures in the employ of Dagnarus. We meet Damra, an elven Dominion Lord, and her efforts to escape and overcome the political machinations of the elven rulers.
The second book in the trilology doesn't disappoint, delivering creat characters, both good and evil, along with some humour and action. Bring on the third, I can't wait to see how this one ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guardians of the Lost, 1 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Guardians of the Lost: The Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Paperback)
I have not read the first instalment in the trilogy "The Sovereign Stone", yet this did not pose a problem in getting into the story line. Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman write excellently together.
The Dominion Lord Gustav finds what is know as the Sovereign Stone. Once upon a time the gods gave the stone to the world telling the people to keep the stone whole. Of course, people being people (well intentioned and all), the stone is divided into four parts and sent to the orks, the dwarves, the elves and the last part is kept by the humans. Of course, what was not foreseen was that there was a fifth part (the void part) as well.
This brings us back to Lord Gustav. Lord of the Void (Dagnarus) wants to gather all four parts of the stone. Lord Gustav's mission in life has been to search for the human part of the stone. This part was taken from Dagnarus 200 years before this book begins (yes Dagnarus is 200 years old). Gustav is on the trail of the stone and senses he is followed. Upon finding the stone, Gustav is attacked by the Void's equivalent of a Dominion Lord - the Vrykyl. Gustav is mortally wounded but retains the stone in his possession. He is no longer able to carry the stone to the council of the Dominion Lords and places this burden upon a pacwae (Bashae) and a trevinici (Jessan) who are joined by The Grandmother (another pacwae). To foil the Vrykyl the dwarf Wolfram and Jessan's aunt Ranessa are sent off in another direction.
This book follows the paths of both parties along with the Vrykyl's difficult chase of them.
A fun book, ending with me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What horrors await from the Void?, 23 Sep 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardians of the Lost: The Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Paperback)
Two hundred years after the fall of Vinnengael, and the loss of the human's portion of the Sovereign Stone, something is stirring again. The last human Dominion Lord, Gustav, is nearing the end of his quest; strange hostile warriors are being reported; political stirrings between formerly friendly nations are leading to a buildup of war forces. And could Dagnarus really be back, after all this time?

The reader is torn in all directions in this story; with Wolfram and Ranessa going in one direction, the Trevinici Jessan, the pecwae Bashae and the Grandmother and their various companions going in another, and Raven ending up unwillingly in the middle of the enemy camp. The machinations of Dagnarus, the Vrykyl, and the elves, add to the momentum that builds up to a crescendo throughout the book. The setup for the third and final instalment in the trilogy is great.

I really enjoyed this book, as I did the first book in the trilogy, and look forward immensely to revisiting the end of the series in the third book, Journey into the Void.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought they couldn't get any better......., 18 Oct 2002
By 
D. Leahy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'll keep it brief. Read this book! It is the best read I've had since the preceeding one in this trilogy, "Well of Darkness". The original idea of telling a story based on the villains' perspective really impressed me. Despite being unable to 'cheer the protagonists on', the depth and complexity of their characters allowed me to feel sympathetic towards them. I can't wait to find out how it all ends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, if slightly flawed, 29 July 2002
By 
M MCGUIRE (Tayside, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guardians of the Lost: The Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Paperback)
Having read the first book in the series, "Well of Darkness," I was left champing at the bit to find out the next stage in the dark chronicles of Dagnarus. The second novel in the trilogy did not disappoint. The characters were well drawn out and the whole story sucked me in from beginning to end. The many different narrative strands, far more mature and dark than anything else I have read in recent times, never bored me and it was refreshing to find a book in which political machinations played an important, but not overwhelming, role in the storyline.
The only flaw (if one can call it that) comes at the climax. I will not spoil it for anyone, but whilst the ending does leave you gasping for more, you cannot help but see it coming.
However, do not let this put you off reading what is one of the best fantasy series around today. If the first two book are anything to go by, the final chapter, "Journey into the Void," should be mindblowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you've read the last ones youll enjoy this more, 25 Nov 2001
Reading this book lost me in a world of magic and adventure. This book is exiting and gripping, i reccomend this if your into magical adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel to Well of Darkness, 4 Aug 2001
Set 200 years in the future from where the first book leaves off, we meet new characters and some old, in a gripping story that is hard to put down. I was very pleased with this volume, it's every bit as good as the first if not better. The story follows the adventures of many different characters, such as Jessan, the Trevinici warrior and Bashae his Pecwae friend, Damra the Elven Domionion Lord and Wolfram the dwarf. I won't give away the story, but it's a must read, especially if you read Well of Darkness. I can't wait until volume 3 comes out. Buy it now, it's definately worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Book Binding, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardians of the Lost: The Sovereign Stone Trilogy (Paperback)
Very poorly bound. On opening the book to read, the first few pages started to fall out and the more I got through the more pages fell out. For the price (some hardbacks come cheaper) it is a rip-off and should be more along the lines of a 1.99 comic. Very disappointing as more is spent on keeping the pages together than concentrating on a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guardians of the Lost: The Sovereign Stone Trilogy
Guardians of the Lost: The Sovereign Stone Trilogy by Tracy Hickman (Paperback - 4 July 2011)
11.63
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews