Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Bradbury's timeless classic
This is one of the best collections of Ray Bradbury short stories to be found. The Illustrated Man of the title is a fairground worker who is covered in tattoos, or 'illustrations'. While he sleeps the illustrations move and each one tells a different story to anyone who may see them. Although the descriptions of rockets and technology may seem a little dated now, these...
Published on 11 April 2005 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated
Of its time. As a study of early 1950s fear (of Communism, of 'The Bomb', of Technology) and the obsession with the space race, this is an interesting collection of short stories. There are some great ones full of black humour but too many that ponder on rockets and spacemen. A frustration is the promising prologue which fails to truly knit the collection together.
Published 1 month ago by O. Gandy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic science fiction., 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Another book I have bought for my husband. He likes this type of book and has a collection of Ray Bradbury's books. It is more to his taste but he raves about these books and we are thrilled to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! The stories are all very interesting and ..., 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book! The stories are all very interesting and well-written, I bought this book for one of my students after reading it, great read for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jacket, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
As described, unfortunately I could not afford the hard back which has has a better jacket.Good just the same.Thanks.Thanks
This has gone nuts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of short stories!, 16 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I love this book. It's a great collection of Ray Bradbury short stories rolled into one big, fantastic tale. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This book is a classic - great stories, great author. If you are a fan of sci fi, brilliantly written stories it's a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting set of stories with a futuristic theme that somehow feels retro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Man is something that You read in one breath, 21 Aug. 2001
This review is from: The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Ray Bradubry.... what to say about a writer who wrote a Tonybee Convector. Only the best. But, i can't shake the feeling that Illustrated men is far more better then Convector. So what's it all about. The Illustrated man is a story about a men who get tatooed by old women from future. When You look at tatoos, they move and tell You a story, every time different, and every time, it is supreme art that came from Bradbury's quil. There are eighteen stoies in the book, and all of them is the mix of horror, science - fiction, and philospohy, no one can denie the horror element in The Veldt, not even in Long Rain, but horror in those stories isn't the only purpose Bradbury wrote them, there is the message. What's the message? I'll leave it to You, when You read it You'll know. The best story in the book, I at least think of it as 'the best' is "The Exiles". The story have this feeling that leaves You wonder will it ever come true, You will know what I'm talking about as soon as You read it. So for the end line, I must say to all of You out there: "If You don't want to read modern soap opera SF, read Ray Bradbury's The Illustrated Men, and You want be sorry"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the book much better than the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful short story collection, bound together by a metaphor, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is a very good selection of short stories that between themselves are unrelated. Bradbury came up with the theme of linking them through the Illustrated Man idea, which is very imaginative but doesn't quite tie them together closely enough. Still, there is real magic in the stories, perfect gems of sci-fi that stand on their own and can enthrall a child's mind and even an adult's. I remember reading with the greatest excitement 40 years ago and the stories stand today, though I have since moved on to more mature sci-fi writers, such as Octavia Butler and Frank Herbert.

Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Think, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics)
The Illustrated Man (Flamingo Modern Classics) by Ray Bradbury (Paperback - 4 Aug. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews