Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning conclusion to the �Westlands Cycle�.
A thoroughly enthralling and captivating continuation of the "Deverry" series. Katherine Kerr's trademark of jumping between present and past works particularly well in "A Time of Justice", helping the reader to understand the animosity between Rhodry and "the raven".
The story thunders along to the inevitable confrontation but with a few twists, turns and tears...
Published on 24 July 2001 by GormlessCow

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost anti-climactic
With this book Katharine Kerr wraps up the Westlands cycle. It is a fairly decent final book, bringing a number of ongoing stories together and finishing things decently. With that said, it felt a little soulless to me - with her first four books, Kerr made the characters come alive and I had a lot of interest in their doings. Gradually I am losing interest in Rhodry and...
Published on 8 Feb. 2010 by A. L. Rutter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning conclusion to the �Westlands Cycle�., 24 July 2001
By 
GormlessCow (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Time of Justice: Days of Air and Darkness (Westlands) (Paperback)
A thoroughly enthralling and captivating continuation of the "Deverry" series. Katherine Kerr's trademark of jumping between present and past works particularly well in "A Time of Justice", helping the reader to understand the animosity between Rhodry and "the raven".
The story thunders along to the inevitable confrontation but with a few twists, turns and tears along the way. The dragon brings a new dimension to the "Deverry" tale and the relationship between Rhodry and the dragon is quite entertaining!
Although she has a tendency to copy word for word descriptions of people/places from earlier books, this only becomes obvious when all four books are read "on the bounce" and does not detract in any way from the story.
For anyone who has not read Katherine Kerr - I personally would highly recommend her. However, I would suggest that the reader starts at the beginning, ie; "Daggerspell". Although not entirely essential, there are many references to the tales told in the first series and without this prior knowledge I think some level of enjoyment/understanding would be lacking.
Overall Katherine Kerr certainly rates in my "Top 5" fantasy fiction authors and the Westlands Cycle and "A Time for Justice" do not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost anti-climactic, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Time of Justice: Days of Air and Darkness (Westlands) (Paperback)
With this book Katharine Kerr wraps up the Westlands cycle. It is a fairly decent final book, bringing a number of ongoing stories together and finishing things decently. With that said, it felt a little soulless to me - with her first four books, Kerr made the characters come alive and I had a lot of interest in their doings. Gradually I am losing interest in Rhodry and co.

In this novel we head back in time for a time, and that section was by far the most gripping. We meet a previous incarnation of Raena, the raven-woman, known in those times as Lady Mallona. It is no accident that my favourite part of the book coincides with us reading about Jill and Rhodry while they rode the long road as silver daggers. I far preferred the two characters at that point.

Arsozah is fun to read about - the dragon seems to be the only character at this point that Kerr seems to have fun writing about.

So an almost anti-climatic end to the Westlands cycle. Kerr has continued writing about Rhodry (or Rori Dragon-friend, as he should also be known as now) but I find myself losing interest in where she can take the Deverry world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time of Justice: Days of Air and Darkness (Westlands) (Paperback)
Bought this used. Received quickly and in good condition. Love the series, particularly the way the stories of the characters are built up by moving backwards and forwards through the volumes, concentrating on a specific period of there lives, and incarnations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic fantasy, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time of Justice: Days of Air and Darkness (Westlands) (Paperback)
For anyone who loves fantasy fiction these books are brilliant. I found it hard to put the books down and will look for more work by Katherine Kerr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book! A well-written one even by Kerr's standards. Delighted to find it on kindle sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time of Justice: Days of Air and Darkness (Westlands) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Time of Justice: Days of Air and Darkness (Westlands)
A Time of Justice: Days of Air and Darkness (Westlands) by Katharine Kerr (Paperback - 4 July 2011)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews