Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Action Thriller, a must must read!
I had previously read other Clancy Books and have everytime been amazed at the realism of the stories and quality of writing but this book broke the mould. This is an incredible book, i couldn't put it down and when i had to i was thinking about it. The character of Jack Ryan is taken into much more depth in this installment of the 'Jack Ryan series'. The real gem in...
Published on 31 Oct 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, but overlong, and dated.
The Sum of all Fears is set after the Cold War has ended, but shows us that the danger of nuclear war won't go away quite that easily as terrorists attempt to provoke a war between the US and Russia. This continues a lot of the themes in Clear and Present Danger about the abuse of power and corruption. The book is well-written and the story well-told, but it isn't quite...
Published on 25 Feb 2005 by rasam23


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Action Thriller, a must must read!, 31 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
I had previously read other Clancy Books and have everytime been amazed at the realism of the stories and quality of writing but this book broke the mould. This is an incredible book, i couldn't put it down and when i had to i was thinking about it. The character of Jack Ryan is taken into much more depth in this installment of the 'Jack Ryan series'. The real gem in this book though is that the story actually seemed so real it was frightening, Clancy perfectly describe the series of events which would lead to a nuclear crisis and the aftermath.
If you don't read any other book from Clancy, you have to read this one. Fans of the series will love it and newbies will be amazed (if not a little confused).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, after the 600 page prologue..., 11 July 2002
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
The last four hundred pages of this are fantastic; vintage Clancy with geopolitical intrigues, human frailties, military action and a classic hero in the form of Jack Ryan.
But the first 600 pages of the book are fairly heavy going - about three important plot lines are set up but unnecessarily slowly given the huge drama when they finally come to something in the finale; there's a lot of tedious technical stuff about submarines and nuclear physics which went way over my head; and a lot of readable but unexciting stuff which adds nothing much to either character or plot.
Also, Clark and Chavez are woefully underused, and when is the action supposed to take place? Apparently at least two years after Reagan and Bush (ie at least 1994), but with Russian troops in Berlin and the Soviet Union still intact (ie before December 1991). Twenty-first century hindsight doesn't do much for a book written in 1991 when the future was unclear. But the Israeli-Palestinian stuff, and terrorism in the US is more topical than ever.
So read this if you have a lot of time on your hands, and don't mind the slight tedium of the first half - the second part is well worth it, but if you want a good first Clancy and fantastic self-contained thriller then Red Storm Rising or the Bear and the Dragon are much more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't watch the film - read the book., 13 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sum of All Fears (Hardcover)
As a Jack Ryan fan I did not watch the film until I had read the book. I now know that this wouldn't have been a problem as there is so little resemblence between the two. The detail in the story line is superb although it did wrap-up slight quicker than it could have done.
If you've seen the film then read the book and find out what Tom Clancy really wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast paced thriller, 16 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
What an awesome book! I started the book as someone who had never read Clanys work, but after this I was hooked! Started out quite slow, building background and character profile, but it really accelerates toward the end, until I could't put it down! Clancy is always descriptive, but not distatefullt so when dealing with certain situations in the book. Id recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, but overlong, and dated., 25 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
The Sum of all Fears is set after the Cold War has ended, but shows us that the danger of nuclear war won't go away quite that easily as terrorists attempt to provoke a war between the US and Russia. This continues a lot of the themes in Clear and Present Danger about the abuse of power and corruption. The book is well-written and the story well-told, but it isn't quite as good as Clear and Present Danger. The plot is obviously inspired by Black Sunday, it takes far too long for the main part of the story to kick off (the nuke) at times it comes close to soap opera with Ryan's family problems, but the author must be credited with making it interesting enough to make us actually want to see this thing through the end.
What's most surprising about this book, is how much it has dated, even more so than, say, Clear and Present Danger. This was long before 9/11. Basically, the book shows that without Soviet backing many terrorist groups would die out, one of the reasons why the villains in this book want to strike - they feel they have sacrificed comrades for nothing. Unfortunately, as we have all become aware, the Islamic ones never died out. In fact they've expanded. It wasn't Clancy's fault, but the book now seems a little overoptimistic.
Despite flaws, I would say this would rank behind Clear and Present Danger as one of the best of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clancy At His Best, 30 Sep 2002
By 
G. Williams "tychobear" (Darmstadt, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
"Sum Of All Fears" is Tom Clancy at the pinnacle of his writing career.
In this book he brings together the political manoeuvering of "Cardinal ...", the action of "Red Storm ..." and the tension of "... Red October" in one book.
As usual, this one starts with a bang, then slowly builds again until around the page 600 mark, at which point things really get going. The tension towards the climax is breath-taking. I still find the book gripping after several reads.
While inevitably abridged and rewritten for the film starring Ben Affleck, most of the important elements were retained. Missing though was the Marvin Russell sub-plot and the Arab terrorists were downplayed in favour of Neo-Nazis. I strongly recommend anyone who enjoyed the film to try the original book.
What amazes me is that Clancy can write something as brilliant as this, or the equally excellent "Executive Orders", but then bring out the at-best average "Red Rabbit". I can only conclude that he has either lost interest, or lost his inspiration for good writing. He doesn't need the money (there can be fewer more financially successful writers) and might be getting bored with writing, or at least the 'Ryanverse'.
So, try something else. Come up with a new character, or do as was done in "Without remorse" and "Rainbow Six" - take an 'also starring' character and create a story around them. The Robby Jackson character might be a good possibility, but I would be tempted to go for someone who is a barely mentioned one instead. That way, there is little to constrain the plot and scope.
But, please, no repeat of "Red Rabbit". I doubt Clancy's success could be sustained if another poor effort like that was published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tick-Tock-Tick-Tock..., 26 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
Terrorists build a nuclear bomb and plan to detonate it at the Superbowl. The president and his National Security Advisor are imbeciles but can Jack Ryan stop the two of them causing nuclear Armageddon? Tom Clancy's novels are good "blokes" stories - this one doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuclear Device is Lost & Found, Paranoia, Nearly WWIII, 18 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
Tom Clancy is brilliant and absolutely without equal for developing this complex plot filled with international, political and military action. When I picked this book up, I was glued to to the spot, unable to break from reading it. In this novel, he creates the worst-case scenario of world paranoia, where the two major world powers, the USA and former Soviet Union, play cat and mouse games with military technology and bomb-laden submarines, as the world leaders exchange communications, trying to read between the lines of carefully worded messages, to uncover the truth about a nuclear explosion in Denver, Colorado, the cause of which neither side can readily determine.
This most believable book includes suspense, intrigue, political maneuvering, media manipulation and exploitation, espionage, cutting edge technology, military power and submarine warfare. Arab terrorists combine forces with East German scientists. Disgruntled political activists, an American-Indian and German, get together under the most auspicious of circumstances to destablize the world as we know it. The Arab terrorist group uses an East German scientist to redesign a nuclear bomb which was found by chance buried in a farmer's garden in Syria. All the characters are fleshed out, realistic, completely believable. They have personality traits which make the reader look forward to reading about their responses to circumstances that unfold. It is worth learning how this accidental find played into the hands of a terrorist organization who redesigned the nuclear device for their own purposes. It is worth discovering how the aftermath of this explosion creates havoc between the two super-powers. It is worth reading to see the effect this unexpected terrorist attack in Colorado has upon Washington, DC: the President, CIA Deputy Director Jack Ryan, the National Security Adviser, Liz Elliott, and the FBI. This cataclysmic event could unleash waves of destruction throughout the Middle East and the world, discovering its resolution is worth reading. This roller coaster ride of a novel has so many ups and downs and twists and turns it should not be missed! Erika Borsos (bakonyvilla)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complex of Clancy's thrillers, 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
Its an often heard of story what 'if' terrorists got their hands on a neuclaer bomb well the 'if' just went out of the equasion. The terrorists don't want peace and as the Americans move to secure the peace the terrorists find an old Israli neuclear bomb and find someone to repair and buid it. The terrorists now have a trump card they can use against this peace but it can only work if the Israli's, Iraqi's or the Iranian's look like the people who sent the bomb.
Jack Ryan has his own problems at this moment Elizabeth Elliot the National Security Adviser who has had it in for Ryan has found a way to get Ryan off her back once and for all. She has got the Presidents ear and is now starting to twist everything Ryan says and as Ryan is geting moved out and a disaster is lurking can he keep his long enough to stop the disaster and what will happen if the President is to incompetent to deal with the situation?
Another one of Clancy's good books with all the main characters in it including Ding Chavez and John Clark the world needs a hero and America has three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 3 Sep 2000
By 
sjdl@aol.com (Hull East Yorkshrie) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sum Of All Fears : (Paperback)
This was the first Tom Clancy novel I have read.Although it took a while to get into I must say I couldn't put it down. The characters and the plot were excellent. The ending was fantastic I just read & read & read it was brilliant, I think I read 200 pages in a day thats how good it was. I'm now half way through Debt of Honour,its just as good, the trouble is I can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sum Of All Fears :
The Sum Of All Fears : by Tom Clancy (Paperback - 2 April 1993)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews