Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - slap me with a marlinspike else!
Oh how good is this book? I first read it after I caught my dad chortling away with his nose stuck into it and now we have two copies in the house (one each) so we don't fight over it any more! Yes, the dialogue may be corny but that's what makes it so good. The action speeds across the seven seas and the modern touches are perfect. It's entirely silly and over-the-top...
Published on 25 Oct 2004 by ohthreeksixfour

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come back Harry Flashman all is forgiven
I was hoping this would be in a similar vein to the great, unparalleled and utterly marvelous memoirs of H. Flashman Esq. If that is what you're hoping for, you'll be disappointed; it is a very different kettle of fish.

McDonald Fraser has written a meta-textual swashbuckler, replete with authorial comments, self-conscious in-jokes, gleeful anachronisms and...
Published 17 months ago by Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - slap me with a marlinspike else!, 25 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
Oh how good is this book? I first read it after I caught my dad chortling away with his nose stuck into it and now we have two copies in the house (one each) so we don't fight over it any more! Yes, the dialogue may be corny but that's what makes it so good. The action speeds across the seven seas and the modern touches are perfect. It's entirely silly and over-the-top but on a rainy Saturday I suggest you curl up with a mug of sometihng hot and sweet (possibly with a tot of medicinal brandy) and follow Long Ben Avery et al from the Atlantic to the Caribbean and all over the oceans, wi' a wannion. If you like swash-buckling old-fashioned adventure with a sense of merciless glee please read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully silly stuff, 1 Mar 2003
By 
Tryp (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
George MacDonald Fraser obviously had great fun writing this and it is a joy to join him and his characters on their adventures. Every pirate and adventure cliche going is in this and then some, hilariously ludicrous plotting, corny pirate speak and devilish villany abound. If you are a Flashman fan you may not go for this one, it's far more over the top than those books, much funnier though, a great way to spend a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Buccaneers plus a little history, 23 Mar 2003
By 
Peter Arundel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
I read this book when I was about 16 and almost two decades on it's still one of my favourites. Yes, it's very silly but it's silly in a way that pokes affectionate fun at those wonderful swash-buckling hollywood movies such as "Anne of the Indies" and "Blackbeard the Pirate". The characters are a mostly drawn from history (Colonel Blood, Ben Avery, "Calico Jack" Rackham and Anne Bonny were all real people) though they are all portrayed in a wonderful Hollywood way. This story has everything; A handsome hero, a caddish anti-hero, flashing eyed ladies o' quality, fierce indians, lost cities, buried treasure, desperate sword-fights on desert islands, d'ye see? Tall ships crewed by swarthy rogues in head scarves and eye-patches, spanish soldiery in breastplates and morions crying, "Caramba!" and failing to shoot straight. Damsels in distress, torture, danger, adventure and vasty booty, har, har, look'ee, wi' a curse!! The only similar concept that I can think of was "Strike!" by The Comic Strip.
At the end there is a short treatise on the historical characters. Believe me some of their stories are much stranger than anything dreamed up by Hollywood. Anyway, unless you are such a fan of Flashman that nothing else will do, I can heartily recommend "The Pyrates"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The funniest pirate movie never filmed, 8 Oct 2006
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
Author George MacDonald Fraser, the accomplished British author of the FLASHMAN PAPERS and the Private McAuslan trilogy, has also toiled as a Hollywood scriptwriter. And he's been fascinated by pirate stories all his life. Thus, in THE PYRATES, the reader is treated to what could serve as the script for the funniest, most outrageous buccaneer saga ever not put on film.

The hero of THE PYRATES is Captain Ben Avery, RN, the handsomest, most chivalrous, noblest, most incorruptible, bravest, most dutiful, and most unseducible man ever to wield an officer's sword on behalf of His Majesty. In Avery, as with every other of the novel's characters, Fraser has lovingly created a caricature. In any case, the time is "the old and golden days of England". King Charles occupies the throne. Ben is ordered to secretly convey a priceless crown to the King of Madagascar. On the same outbound ship are Admiral Lord Rooke and his gorgeous daughter Vanity. Of course, seafaring rascals capture the vessel, steal the crown, abandon Ben on a sandspit, and sell Vanity into white slavery. The tabloids (!) blame Avery for the debacle, and the remainder of the book has our superhero valiantly struggling to rescue honor, crown and Vanity from assorted scoundrels and near things. Of course, even the villains are occasionally endearing, especially if they're British, e.g. Colonel Blood, RA (Cashiered), a darker version of Avery without the ethics or meticulous dress code. And, needless to say, Captain Ben is besotted with Vanity, though his appreciation for her considerable charms is entirely platonic, anything more prurient unbecoming an officer and a gentleman.

Since a small movie plays in my mind whenever I read fiction, the chief delight of this swashbuckling caper is the way Fraser attaches period-piece incongruities to the plot which result in hilarious "sight gags" and other absurdities. Contemplate the following: laundry chutes in a Spanish galleon, meal-seating announcements aboard a pirate ship, buccaneers getting drunk and rowdy on captured Perrier, eau de cologne by the barrel or the handy bucket size, a pirate chief's stock portfolio, the deplorable lack of Kleenex in a fetid orlop prison, shipboard ruffians being entertained by a puppet show, pirate disability insurance, the limited number of headsets for men set adrift in small boats, threats of a horrible death by bicycle pump (?), or the French buccaneers' battle cry of "Remember Dien Bien Phu!" Imagine what Mel Brooks could do with this material!

THE PYRATES is about fifty pages too long. Those parts of the non-stop action that include the South American Indian tribe and the insanely evil Spanish Viceroy, Don Lardo, were unnecessary digressions better left on the cutting room floor. However, that minor flaw didn't prevent me from laughing out loud on several occasions, causing my wife to throw alarmed glances my way. Yes, I think even the Queen would be amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Newton meets Spike Milligan meets Captain Hook., 15 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
Two of the previous three reviewers are decidedly po-faced. 'The Pyrates' is a definite one off - the funniest book I've ever read. I purchased it in a bookshop on the Isle of Wight many years ago and spent the rest of the holiday rocking with laughter and telling my wife "hey - listen to this bit!", on almost every page. Lovely irreverent mixing of historical and modern - the pirates listen to Free Radio Tortuga. A ball from start to finish. Pass the 'Old Jamaick'ee', if you can remember that. Ahaarr Jim Lad!! Avast behind!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come back Harry Flashman all is forgiven, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
I was hoping this would be in a similar vein to the great, unparalleled and utterly marvelous memoirs of H. Flashman Esq. If that is what you're hoping for, you'll be disappointed; it is a very different kettle of fish.

McDonald Fraser has written a meta-textual swashbuckler, replete with authorial comments, self-conscious in-jokes, gleeful anachronisms and cinematic references. This is a "marmite" matter - you'll either love this kind of thing or hate it. I would be displaying a personal bias if I marked the book down on solely that account. While I very much enjoy the accurate historical context which sends a shiver down the spine as Flashman lurches from near-miss to almost-disaster, I was prepared to hold my fire and read the book on its merits.

Sadly, I do not think McDonald Fraser pulls it off. The anachronisms are too many, too silly, and too jarring. But that is not all. The action sequences are written without the light touch we are used to, and the plot is too predictable, too repetitive. The humour doesn't work because none of the characters - not even the Flashman-like Colonel Blood - is sufficiently fully rounded and human, so we don't care enough about their misadventures, while the constant anachronisms undermine the effectiveness of the "in-period" stuff.

This could have been a fantastic book if Fraser had given it his best shot. Clearly he wanted to do something different, and he was getting on by the time he wrote it - but oh, we can only mourn the novel we didn't get; the one which might have consisted of Colonel Blood's narrative in plea for another free pardon, after events rooted in the real events of the Spanish Main. History is quite exciting enough without needing to jazz it up with lumps of Hollywood flummery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious homage to swashbuckling., 12 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
G M-F's funniest book. The buckle is thoroughly swashed in this one. Hate the hero, admire the anti-hero and the pirates, sympathise with Happy Dan, shudder at Don Lardo, and learn a lot about real pirates. (How did a famous pirate get to be an archbishop? Where does the term 'buccaneer' come from?) What I want is a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swash, Buckles and Bosoms, 20 May 2009
By 
Paul Brownlee (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
Long before Pirates of the Caribbean and Cap'n Jack Sparrow revitalised the genre (with a little help from Disney and their theme park), George Macdonald Fraser was way ahead of the game.

Take every pirate movie from the 30's and 40's, every adventure comic strip in their heyday, every child's imagination of swashbuckling on the high seas, and every hero, villain and buxom heroine from every book from Treasure Island to Hornblower. Mix them up, throw in Fraser's brilliant wit and humour, and the end result is a feast to gorge upon that will make you laugh out loud, and regret reaching the final pages.

It's all tongue in cheek. The hero is a cross between Errol Flynn and Clark Gable. The villains are all either the dastardly British Royal Navy, the suave yet inept Spanish, or the typecast educationally challenged, unwashed, rip-roaring pirates of Hollywood. There's even a Cockney wheeler and dealer which I suspect even Ricky Gervais would relish as a cameo role. As for the female players - well, to say they were soaked in sex would be an understatement. With heaving bosoms, tight corsets, and prudish manners that barely last a scene when confronted by the high testosterone, dash and daring bravado of our hero.

Yes it corny. Yes it's clichéd. Yes, it's outrageous. But every character on the page is a joy. You'd be hard pushed to dislike any of them, even though some behave quite despicably. You'll relish the rich dialogue (did they really talk like that - I'm convinced!), and for an all too brief time, you'll be immersed in a world that had romance, adventure, derring do, and downright naughtiness.

Sadly the author died in January 2008. For Fraser fans it was an inconsolable loss. But what a legacy he left behind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not Flashman, 15 Jan 2014
By 
PW (Southampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
GMF's attempt at a pastiche swashbuckler. It reads like a movie script (and would have made a better movie than Pirates of the Caribbean, which it perhaps influenced). Sort of Sabatini meets Stevenson meets Gore Verblinski. He did it so much better in the Flashman books, especially Flashman's Lady. Buy that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Pyrates, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyrates (Paperback)
This book was a gift for my husband, he enjoyed it very much although it was different from the other George MacDonald Fraser books that he has read, I was impressed with the condition and delivery service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a2993c)

This product

The Pyrates
The Pyrates by George MacDonald Fraser (Paperback - 2 Jun 2008)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews