Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book about one of the men of the millenium
This, by any standards, is a remarkable story of a remarkable man, and of course part of the history of India's struggle for independence. All this makes it a compelling read. Fischer details Gandhi's struggle against the South African government, and then the fight against British rule in India. But as important was the problem of Indian national identity - was there any...
Published on 25 Mar 2007 by Jay

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, superficial
I bought this on the basis of the excellent reviews but knew at first glance that the book had no real heart for its subject.

It didn't seem to have any feel for the nature of the man himself or what he was trying to do or anything really. For me it read very much like an airport paperback, which I found surprising! The book is delivered very much in a "he...
Published 14 months ago by minty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book about one of the men of the millenium, 25 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
This, by any standards, is a remarkable story of a remarkable man, and of course part of the history of India's struggle for independence. All this makes it a compelling read. Fischer details Gandhi's struggle against the South African government, and then the fight against British rule in India. But as important was the problem of Indian national identity - was there any such thing, and was the road to Partition inevitable?

I couldn't help but reflect that Britain was very fortunate in facing an adversary like Gandhi - the end of British rule might have been even more messy and bloody than it was had it not been for his influence. Could any other culture have produced a figure such as Gandhi, who recognised the damage that imperialism did both to India and to the British.

Fischer's biography was published originally in 1951, only three years after the death of Gandhi. This adds value to the work, not least because the author met Gandhi on a few occasions and was able to add accounts of these meetings enliven his book. To be fair, this is a much more balanced view of Gandhi than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 5 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
Louis Fischer does his subject justice with a fine account of Gandhi's life. Despite the long duration of the Mahatma's struggle, the author keeps the book interesting pretty much throughout. Fischer's two first hand accounts of his meetings with Gandhi serve as a plesent break in the course of the book, giving it greater life, as well as providing a more personal insight into Gandhi. Thankfully the author remains well clear of blind adoration for the man, highlighting both his flaws and weaknesses. The only short coming is that the book was written before the rise of M.L. King and Nelson Mandela, thus fails to address the full influence Gandhi had and will have beyond India. Overall, I whole heartedly recommend this book of such an important subject, which was also the inspiration for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The absolute best!, 30 Nov 2003
By 
Jane Thomas (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This book is superb. I have read several books about the Mahatma and this is far and away the finest. It is beautifully and sensitively written with plenty of detail which is always fascinating - I couldn't put it down. It is thanks to this book that Sir Richard Attenborough made the film and he himself said it was "the best biography of Gandhi". What more praise do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very highly recommended, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
This is easily one of the finest authobiographies about Mahatma Ghandi. It is written with considerable skill and sensitivity, giving readers a very realistic and fascinating insight into the lifestyle, teaching and practices of Ghandi, within the context of an occupied India (and racially segregated South Africa). Louis Fischer has attempted (and in my opinion, succeeded) to allow the reader glimpses of the mind of Ghandi, his ideas, his beliefs and how they shaped him into the remarkable man considered to be the Father of India. It is, however, a balanced portrayal, and accounts for the Mahatma's failures as well as his successes - and tends to go beyond the myth and awe that surrounds Ghandi. The result is a gripping, fascinating and very real story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An example in an open, honest life, 2 Jun 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
This book shows very clearly Gandhi's dedication to peaceful protest, spiritual development and open, honest living. It is this lesson that you take away from this book more than anything else. He lived his life with dedication and integrity and the book shows that immensely well. A clear, lucid read and highly enjoyable and inspiring.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely brilliant, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
A fantastic book. Never afraid to show Gandhi's human sides, such as turning up to court in South Africa with a collar covered in starch and his often tricky relationship with his sons, but never afraid to show how brilliant a man he was. This is very well written and, for a book that is almost 700 pages long, never feels slow or lacks interest. Even if don't think you're interested in Gandhi, you must read this book because I assure you that you will be fascinated by the end of the first page and won't ever lose interest in either this book, or Gandhi himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive overview., 29 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
This book offers a detailed overview of Gandhi's whole life. It talks briefly about his teenage years and time in England. It also documents the struggle for equality that he faced during his time in South Africa, and it of course is highly detailed about the fight for indian independence. This is a great book and offers a scope on some of the thinking that Gandhi had behind his many fasts and civil disobedience. Recommended for everyone and anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of Mahatmaji's life - recommended, 21 July 2001
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
Recently, I visited Ghandhinagar in Gujarat where I found that the people still have a high regard for "Gandhiji" - I decided to find out more from Louis Fischer's excellent book.

If Gandhi had indeed lived to 125, he would still be campaigning for Swaraj and would undoubtedly still be saddened that India and Pakistan have entered the nuclear age.

Louis Fischer's account was easy to read, though I found the passages on Gandhi's religion heavy going. The mix of history, personal memories, and detail on Gandhi's life made this one of the most enjoyable biographies I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i'm glad Mr Fischer met the Great Mahatma Gandhi, 18 Sep 2007
By 
E. Lucas (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
The author's intimate knowledge and profound research into the life of this great man is expressed in a most eloquent and simple prose that makes this biography a book very easy to read and absorb.
Highly recommended insight into M Gandhi's entire life and achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Life of mahatma Ganghi, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life of Mahatma Gandhi (Paperback)
It arrived on time, as described ,in perfect condition. My only gripe is that it was expensive for a paperback (I appreciate it came from the U.S.A)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa83eb9f0)

This product

The Life of Mahatma Gandhi
The Life of Mahatma Gandhi by Louis Fischer (Paperback - 4 Aug 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews