Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Roller Coaster Ride Through History
A memorable and moving book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone. A factual history that reads like a novel, this book speaks to everyone. Meticulously researched, the reader is left feeling as though they were there to experience every pain, every victory, every setback and every joy. I think this book is essential reading for anyone who wishes to...
Published on 1 Oct. 1999

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but...
It is infact a hagiography of Louis Mountbatten who was an early master of spin. This is the world seen through the eyes of Mountbatten.
Published on 7 Jan. 2013 by Samee Zafar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars If there is one book to read on Indian independence, then this is the one, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
I have read many books on the Indian Independence as well as partition but this sets the standard. There is so much intricate detail about all the relevant parties involved in the Independence/Partition on India as well as the horrific violence that followed. The book is very unbiased in its approach as it criticises all parties where necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Readable Account of Momentous Event, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
The prose style is fluid and easy to follow and, although we are reading about an historic event, the human factor is ever present.
The narrative style is not overburdened with extraneous detail. I would thoroughly recommend Freedom At Midnight to anyone who has any interest in the Indian subcontinent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History presented as a thriller. An interesting couple of ..., 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
History presented as a thriller. An interesting couple of pages from Freedom at Midnight made me want to read the source material referred to in the extensive bibliography, the 200 pages of source material added nothing to my knowledge!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book had been recommended and it is wonderful, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
This book had been recommended and it is wonderful. Tells all about the partition of India in 1947. It is full of details and is so interesting. The book arrived promptly and is in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "while the world sleeps, India will awake to life and freedom", 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely stunning and breathtaking! Each and every page is incredibly alluring.
Highly recommended work to anyone interested in Indian History.
Students of history should not miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant recount on what actually happened., 15 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
This is one of the best books that I've ever read about the Indian - Pakistan Independence As a child, I was always told about what had happened, but to read about it, has made it much much clearer as to what actually happened. The assassintion of the father of the nation, "Bapu," and the events that led up to it, are very well researched as well as the conflicts on Kashmir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Freedom at Midnoght, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Hardcover)
I found this a very interesting book, dealing with a most critical time in the history of India and Pakistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful wonderful, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
third time reading this - wore out last copy! visited india so made sense to read this amazing book fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A BOOK TO CHANGE ONE'S LIFE., 29 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
AS A VERITABLE DEVOURER OF BOOKS IN GENERAL, I MUST SAY WITH ALL HONESTY THAT THIS BOOK AFFECTED ME LIKE NO OTHER I HAVE EVER READ IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. A STUNNING PIECE OF RESEARCH BY ITS 2 AUTHORS AND WRITTEN IN SUCH A WAY AS TO BRING TEARS TO MY EYES ON MORE THAN 1 OCCASION. I HAVE LIVED THE STRUGGLE OF INDIA'S INDEPENDENCE THROUGH THESE PAGES. I CRIED, LAUGHED, SMILED, WAS SHOCKED, OUTRAGED, HUMBLED. MANY A TIME I WAS OBLIGED TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN FOR A FEW MINUTES TO REFLECT ON THE WORDS I HAD JUST READ AND THEIR MEANING. TRULY, MR COLLINS AND MR LAPIERRE, THIS IS A REAL MASTERPIECE. BUT THEN, ONLY SUCH A MASTERPIECE COULD DO JUSTICE TO THE EXCEPTIONNAL PEOPLE WHO PLAYED A PART IN MOTHER INDIA'S INDEPENDENCE. BRAVO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars freedom at midnight, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom at Midnight (Paperback)
Excellent book, hard to put down and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freedom at Midnight
Freedom at Midnight by Dominique Lapierre (Paperback - 12 Jun. 1997)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews