Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2012
This is one of three titles by the same author I recently downloaded for my Kindle, after having read a number of books about Maxwell.
Even though the events covered in the book took place over twenty years ago, Bower's style of writing helps the reader forget the time which has passed since Maxwell committed - what was then - the fraud of the century.
Well-researched and well-written, Bower lives up to his reputation by delivering a finely crafted work covering the fall of one of Britain's then most controversial characters.
One would have to make their own mind up as to whether the sons were equally corrupt or simply living in fear of their father - although the information delivered by Bower would leave the average reader in no doubt as to Kevin Maxwell's part in proceedings.
The trial proceedings are well documented by Bower, and leaves the reader wondering just how the jury could have arrived at it's final decision.
A fine read for anybody with an interest in corruption and fraud in the business world.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
A very detailed book covering the later life of Robert Maxwell, by someone who is definitely no fan boy. At times, it is a bit difficult to read because of the amount of supporting evidence the author provides (perhaps partially to avoid legal action). Despite this, Tom Bower's view of the events is fascinating, especially if you like tales of greed, intrigue, spending vast sums, and large loans turning bad.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Robert Maxwell hated Tom Bower. And he would have hated this well researched fearless book. Bower spent years investigating Maxwell whilst he was alive and this book also includes years of research into his death. Maxwell died in 1991 but many of the lessons from his downfall are still very relevant today. A really brilliant biography.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
The feel of the book is very disappointing. This book looks as though it has been reprinted very cheaply. The photographs are rough as is the paper. Doesn't make it a pleasure to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
You did feel that Maxwell was right there in the background watching what the author was writing but I found it worth the read. Covers all sorts of fields & business dealings yet by the end you still feel him an enigma! I found his origins & beginnings of most interest. I'd read again at some stage. My niece who went to Newcastle University, her mother is now married into this family after a Welshman & my brother. See also Tom Bower's Fayed on my Profile page too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
The first three quarters of the book are an engrossing read. Sadly the last part that deals with the court case mostly goes over old ground dealt with in the first part of the book so it was a bit hard going from a boredom "I've already read this!" point of view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
An unbelievable insight into the despicable behaviour of that slob Maxwell and his lying toad of a son, Kevin. The jury members should hang their heads in shame for finding Kevin innocent of his blatant and pervasive fraud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
This is an excellent review of the collapse of the Maxwell Media Empire and the raid on the employees' pension funds in a last desperate attempt to save the empire
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Great read. Recognised some of the characters. As an insider it is a bit like bankers' misdeeds bingo. Cap'n Bob used every trick in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
A super book if your into Robert Maxwell & his business activities, personely I can't put it down,but might not suit everyone, try a sample
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)