Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Read
I am eternally grateful to Mr. Dalrymple for writing 'City Of Djinns' because it led me to view the city where I was born and where I now live in an entirely new light. I confess that despite spending ten of my sixteen years in Delhi I never went out of my way to find out its historical significance and my interaction with its monuments never progressed beyond a few...
Published on 14 Jun. 2006 by Shikha Chhabra

versus
47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It ain't that easy
Dalrymple set himself an awesome task - to make sense in a mere 250 pages of Delhi, not one city but eight, each superimposed upon the preceding one, each a complex of myriad interlocking mini-cities with their own history and customs. Where do you begin ? How do you give form and structure to such a jumble ? After all, as V.S. Naipaul observed in "India - a million...
Published on 8 July 2002 by A.K.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Delhi experiences, 13 July 2011
This review is from: City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi (Paperback)
Dalrymple has written some fascinating books but this one is relatively lightweight compared to others such as The Last Mughal.
It is entertaining and an easy read, focussing on people he knew for a year when he was living in Delhi, with odd visits to individuals with relevant historical knowledge. It would be useful background to anyone interested in Delhi history - but would not provide much practical info to someone about to travel there for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than going there!, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi (Paperback)
William Dalrymple has such a good life and it's nice of him to share it with us. The combination of travel, history, politics and feasting all make for a good read. The genuine love and affection for the places and people he meets bring a better understanding of why things are happening in Delhi than all the news broadcasts I have ever seen. I hope he goes back soon so we can have another view of life today in this ever-changing city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book. Extremely readable and full of amusing anecdotes. It balances both the more serious and the lighthearted perfectly. It flows from (the then) present life experience of Mr Dalrymple's new arrival in Delhi, to his research and story telling seamlessly. All anecdotes, present and historic are interesting, some are truly fascinating, and beautifully interwoven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written to immerse yourself in Dehi Culture, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prescribed reading if you are indending to travel to Rajashtan. Gives you real insite into British Raj and also details greater times in the past. Also has brutal times explained during partitian and what it was really like with personal accounts from fascinating characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 12 May 2013
A great book about the history of India as told by a British man who resides in the city for a year. Well researched and with a lot of great eye witness reports the author illustrates various view points and various eras of the city, very skilfully and interestingly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having visited New Delhi (and India) a few months ago ..., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having visited New Delhi (and India) a few months ago for the first time, I am enjoying this book enormously. It is helping me to appreciate and understand the city so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it As always with Dalrymple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars city of Dijins: A Year in Delhi, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi (Paperback)
William Dalrymple is synonimous to unstoppable reading, increasing researched detail and history at its best. His writing on India is fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended read if travelling to or returning back from Delhi, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book with fascinating insight into the city of Delhi. Need to go back and explore all these other aspects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars William Dalrymple shares his insights of Delhi, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderfully readable insight into the Delhi past and present - a good preparation for visiting the city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi
City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi by William Dalrymple (Paperback - 20 Sept. 1999)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews