Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dual purpose book well written interesting read for anyone.
I have had this book since it was first published and it has been worth it's weight (considerable) in gold. I was nursing at the time so obviously had an interest in the medical side. However, this is an excellant history book and of interest to those who like to find out odd facts or the roots of colloquialisms.
It is so interesting it hooks you into actually...
Published on 14 July 2004 by manic_w

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject made uninteresting. I could have done that!
Very dull book. I gave up very quickly. Someone I know who actually read it all said there were only two salient points which came across. And if these points are incorrect, I apologise for it. He said that medieval leprosy effectively vanished after the Black Death of 1348 and that many diseases that afflict mankind are down to the unfortunate necessity of humans...
Published 21 days ago by Wilf Trauma Spinach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dual purpose book well written interesting read for anyone., 14 July 2004
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
I have had this book since it was first published and it has been worth it's weight (considerable) in gold. I was nursing at the time so obviously had an interest in the medical side. However, this is an excellant history book and of interest to those who like to find out odd facts or the roots of colloquialisms.
It is so interesting it hooks you into actually reading all of it. I have, so has my daughter and my best friend (also a nurse).
However, it is factually correct and written well enough to be deemed a suitable source for academic studies. So after reading it for pleasure I found it was a recommended course book for a module in my Health & Social Policy degree. My friend has also delved into it again for her Nursing Studies degree.
This is a book that you keep and visit now and again, not like other academic texts that you cannot wait to sell on the Marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great all round history of medicine, 21 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
This book balances the social history with the anecdotes that bring the history of medicine alive It's incredibly dense and stands a lot of rereading an excellent history of medicine with fascinating looks at some often neglected areas such as Jewish and Arabic medicine of the Middle Ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best work, 19 Mar 2010
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
The late professor Roy Porter wrote Medical History like none of his peers.

This 850 pages book was his best and in it he poured all his wisdom to tell the full history of medicine.

It can be a rather dry subject to read by Mr Porter added a nice human touch to every story making it more interesting.

It covers from ancient history to moderm times ( early XXI century ) makes emphasis on the discoveries of the XIX century.

This volume will appeal to everyone ,even those without a medical background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genius and sadly missed..., 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of Porter's works. Exceptionally gifted, he won a double first at Oxford. His teaching, as well as his apparel, was somewhat flamboyant and unorthordox, but he engaged his students in such a way that he always had about him a core following of avid listeners.

Regarding his writing, his research is always well founded, his style accessible and appealing. And yet he was never condescending, never dumbed history down. He expected his readers to be intellegent and trusted them to use their own judgement when confronted with new thoughts and theories.

I shall mourn his loss for many years. I shall also mourn the future works he may have produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent even though bought for a purpose., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
Bought as recommended reading for my OU course. Howver I was amazed that I read it start to finish and thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend to anyone looking for an informative, enjoyable read withtout the boredom level often associated with a historical text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ou course A218, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
Bought book in advance of my forthcoming OU course as it is a course book, WHOW what a piece of work, a bit heavy but very informative and fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Keith Hopper "Arch" (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
It is so easy in our century to take the exceptional standard medicine for granted. This book traces the history of medicine exploring the good the bad of early medicine that we have much to be thankful for. Any one with an interest in medicine good health or just simply curious would find this book insightful. Any student engaged either in area of medicine may benefit from ist content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of medicine for the general reader, 22 April 2009
By 
S. Yarwood (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book encompasses the broad sweep of the history of medical discovery and medical care from the earliest times and illuminates the story with accounts of scientific method explained in layman's terms and illustrated with anecdotes that range from the revelatory to the highly entertaining. Quite a heavy tome but unputdownable none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest benefit to mankind.... the book is titled for me! of course it gets 5 stars!, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Thorson (Old Blighty) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
how couldn't I like a book that is titled for me!

the book has an easy to read, pick up and put down style, full of interesting facts and data. It's amazing how fast we have progressed in the field of health care over the last 60 years alone!

I originally bought the book for an essay for uni, but have since read it a couple more times I've enjoyed it that much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Massive book with massive amounts of historical facts, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity (Paperback)
This book gives historical facts about what happened to medicine across Europe and where information was lost and regained. Really interesting and good for all ages that have an interest in medicine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Benefit to Mankind: A Medical History of Humanity
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews