Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2009
Well, what can I say? It's one of Peter Vardy's which means its a great book. It's a very useful and accessible text for use at A level and for a bit of background reading at degree level. It's also interesting if you just fancy knowing more about that sort of thing.
However, it's definitely easier to read if you've heard Vardy lecture because you cannot fail to hear him reading it in your head which makes the language much easier to cope with
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2002
Vardy is a fantastic lecturer of philosophy and ethics at Heythrop College, University of London and his passion for the subject is evident in this book. He manages to balance detailed theory with and interesting read, addressing up-to-date issues in e.g. medical and sexual ethics, ideal for the A level student who wishes to increase their breadth and depth of knowledge in ethics. Also a good read for anyone interested in reading about ethics and morality but is unsure where to start, no prior knowledge is assumed! I can recommend all of his books-but this especially is an invaluable addition to any thinker's library!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2000
This is a powerful and easy to comprehend introduction to ethics. Ideal for all who are thinking of or who have started to study ethics. A clear and concise book that challenges the mind.Greatly reccomended!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
I'm reading this book because it's the only book on ethics in the library at my workplace. I guess it's the sort of thing that might be recommended to GCSE students because its style is "accessible".

However! As a whole the book lacks consistent academic rigour. Its "arguments" are often woolly and lack logical structure. Its examples of real-life cases are simplistic.

If I knew nothing of 'ethics' but this book, I would read it and conclude that ethics itself is a wishy-washy affair, where "there are no right answers", and in short, that it is not really worth considering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Peter was my uni. lecturer in Philosophy of Religion thus I know his thinking and style. He is faultless in his presentation and this book allows one to grasp a difficult subject easily.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2006
For AS students Vardy enters into too much conjecture. A student could easily be duped into imagining that Vardy's own conjecture is academic scholarship. This is especially the case when Vardy hypoyhesises about natural law and human sexuality.
Much of this book is Vardy summarising the work of other philosophers and doing so with his own conjecture often straying from the point. The AS student might struggle to pick out the key points of Aristotle and Macintyre on virtue ethics for example.
It needs to be read very carefully and with some prior knowledge.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Great if you are studying A-level Theology like me. Vardy doesn't write intentionally for A-level students but it fits in well for the OCR spec and supplements learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Really good start to build a foundation for this subject. Peter Vardy makes these subjects very easy to consume.
Please could you release a kindle version?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Nice, clear, lucid prose, A great introduction for ethics, however, I did not give it 5 stars as one of the syllogisms were badly formed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
i bought this book because one i borrowed was damaged it is in the same condition so i was very pleased with the purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)