Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil can be fun.
Short chapters, deadly serious, hilarious and brilliantly orig-
inal. A classic in every sense of the word. The devil-teacher,
Screwtape, advises his nephew-pupil, Wormwood, how to gather and
hold onto his patients' souls. There are sly wry observations on
humans, so true and pithy. A topsy-turvy world. A devilish slant
on, for example, Robert...
Published on 26 Oct 2003 by Bugs

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Letters between devils
A brilliant book and although written back in the 1940's still has considerable reference today. It does have a religious theme but does not try to preach.
Published on 17 May 2009


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil can be fun., 26 Oct 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Short chapters, deadly serious, hilarious and brilliantly orig-
inal. A classic in every sense of the word. The devil-teacher,
Screwtape, advises his nephew-pupil, Wormwood, how to gather and
hold onto his patients' souls. There are sly wry observations on
humans, so true and pithy. A topsy-turvy world. A devilish slant
on, for example, Robert Burns's advice to a young man. There are
digs at the churches and religion that are spot on. It is a mar-
vellous dissection of human nature, so incisive one would almost
squirm. Joss Ackland's rendition is super, all the emotions of a
caring, work-weary, sarcastic and despairing schoolteacher. Buy
"Screwtape" and enjoy it forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lewis' Morality Play, 1 Dec 2002
By 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was assigned reading when I was in 8th grade at a Catholic school. I remember I had no appreciation for it whatsoever at the time. I couldn't relate to the protagonist or his travails in wartime England.
Perhaps one needs a little time in this world to appreciate the delicious simplicity of Lewis' allegory. Having read it recently I was struck by the wisdom, strength and genuine spiritualism this book exudes.
One needn't, as commented upon elsewhere, be a believer to appreciate this work. Lewis never tries to foist any doctrinaire agenda upon the reader. Neither is he didactic. All that comes across (to this reader, at least) is a sense of hard-won wisdom. It offers some hints about how we might find a bit of peace and happiness on this earth if we are willing to think a little less selfishly and are able to set our powerful egos aside for awhile.
I wish that those readers who wasted their money on The Celestine Prophecy and thought it provided wonderful spiritual insight would turn their attention Lewis' way. Here is the matter simply stated, without some wayward attempts at new-age jingoism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screwy Screwtape, 25 April 2005
By 
Paul Rowden "paulrowden2" (Belfast N.I. UK third rock from the sun) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
C.S. Lewis has a gift for making complex concepts of God and man and making them understandable, this is an absolute must for anyone looking to expand their mind in the area of Christian life.
But it is also a really entertaining read for any person who doesn't object to engaging their mind just a little bit.
Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this amazing book and treat yourself to a great story., 6 Jan 2001
This amazing vision from C.S. Lewis is still extremely relevant to all today. Not only does it make you confront your own beliefs in a most natural way, but it is clever enough to do this behind a wonderful story. This book becomes more and more appropriate, and should be read by everybody. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demons make the best moralists, 5 Jun 2004
By 
Omar Sabbagh - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an imaginative tour de force, full of humour and goodness. For a book of informal moral psychology, teaching on human vice and virtue and their part in human well-being, the form is very original. We have before us a series of letters from one senior devil to his nephew, a tempter lower in the infernal lowerarchy, written with subtlety but with crystalline lucidity as well.
The subject of the book is not only morality in the sense of good and evil, but the 'moral' in the sense of the human person, its integrity and well-being. And because of this one does not need to read this work beside Lewis' 'Mere Christianity' (as believers really should), but can enjoy the fiction or allegory while at the same time revelling in wonderfully rendered insights into the human soul or mind.
This work not only teaches but it entertains, and it does both simultaneously without letting the one impinge on the other. It is Lewis' answer to Chesterfield's letters. A joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this book before it's too late!, 15 July 2000
By A Customer
C S Lewis has always been a favourite author of mine, but I have a shyed away from THE SCREWTAPE LETTERS because of an idea of a childish book.
How wrong could I be! The book is a biography of my life written by Lewis. Don't under-estimate the power this book will have on your life, it will make you realise things that you are thinking and/or doing which are the works of you-know-who.
Read the book, and change your life forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better every time I read it!, 4 Jun 2004
No matter how many times I read this book I get a fresh insight into human spirituality. It's one of those slim little books that one can read in a flash, over and over. However, after the first reading I found that all subsequent readings had me dwelling over single paragraphs or even sentences, thinking of my own life as a "patient"! A must read for people of all creeds and none. A work of outstanding insight into the human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devilishly Funny and Deep., 26 Jan 2001
By A Customer
The Screwtape Letters is a work of "spiritual psychology" wrapped in a funny story. It is a work of pure genius. A devil, Screwtape, corresponds with his nephew, Wormwood. Affectionate old Uncle Screwtape gives Wormwood clever advice on dealing with his "patient"-- an ordinary Christian who happens to be a soldier during the bombings. A More intelligent book would be hard to find. Also recommended: "Castle of Wisdom," a Christian book by Rhett Ellis. It's nowhere near as well written as "The Screwtape Letters," but it makes for a hillariously entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...is next to godliness, 10 Aug 1999
By A Customer
The Screwtape Letters place christianity, and religion in general, firmly in the context of the twentieth century. The evil versus good battle is fought by a bumbling fool who is conceited enough to think that he knows best, and human (if that is the right word) enough to believe that he is doing evreything possible, and doing it correctly, whilst the world conspires against him.
The book is, however, as much a philosophical novel as anything else, as Lewis seeks both to entertain and to reach a conclusion to one of man's greatest questions. Of course, we don't have to accept his conclusion if we don't want to - that is still philosophy's greatest virtue over science. This does not matter, however. THE SCREWTAPE LETTERS is fun to read and whether you are looking for spiritual enlightenment, or just a good book, you could do a lot worse than this.
Being fairly short, you'll finish it quite quickly, but this effect is amplified by the ease with which you begin to read the book, and the difficulty with which you put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Lewis' best, 23 May 2006
By 
T. P. Ang (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definitely one of the best of C. S. Lewis books I've come across, and the man has written a fair number of good books I think.

What stands out about this book is how it approaches the Christian life, and human experience in general, from the devil's perspective. The book is really a series of letters between a senior devil and a junior devil which lends insight into how the devil deceives man. As a Christian, I found the book both a challenge to be watchful and alert and also a reassurance of the Lord's ultimate power over Satan.

The book is an entertaining read as well, humorous in many part. A piece of literary genius and a great Christian devotional book. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Screwtape Letters
The Screwtape Letters by C. S. Lewis (Paperback - 17 Feb 1994)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews