Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start of this political trilogy!
This book is the 1st part of this great political trilogy, a politics with all its tricks, dirty dealings and corruption.
The book is full with intrigue, backstabbing, betrayal and all kind of other vicious forms within the political game and to achieve your personal ambitions you have to deal with those things if you want to become the political power in the land...
Published 10 months ago by StarryBooks

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far less entertaining than the TV adaptation
I read the book after seeing the excellent TV trilogy. Although the mainbody of the story is there. It seems that many of the most thrilling elements were actually only created for the small screen. Mattie's affair with F.U which serves as a perfect foil as to why she is unable to be see his true colours until it is too late. Also no Stamper, Urquharts trusty minion who...
Published on 9 April 2009 by Night Burger


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start of this political trilogy!, 22 Jan 2014
By 
StarryBooks (Zwolle, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Cards (Hardcover)
This book is the 1st part of this great political trilogy, a politics with all its tricks, dirty dealings and corruption.
The book is full with intrigue, backstabbing, betrayal and all kind of other vicious forms within the political game and to achieve your personal ambitions you have to deal with those things if you want to become the political power in the land and end up in 10 Downing Street, and one such powerful man is certainly the Chief Whip Francis Urquhart.
The book contains a lot of political knowledge and so it gives the book and real authentic feel due to the fact that the author has been in politics himself.
The story is also about Mattie Storin, a young woman and political correspondent of one of the country's leading newspapers, who becomes entangled in a web of political and financial corruption of the very highest levels.
To achieve her goal to unravel all this corruption she must battle with the most powerful men of Parliament and Fleet Street while at the same time her whole life. emotional and career, are falling apart but still she decides that she will sacrifice everything just to reveal the truth.
It is certainly a very entertaining political thriller in which everything, good and bad, come to the forefront in this world that is called politics.
This book is a great start of this political trilogy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far less entertaining than the TV adaptation, 9 April 2009
This review is from: House of Cards (Mass Market Paperback)
I read the book after seeing the excellent TV trilogy. Although the mainbody of the story is there. It seems that many of the most thrilling elements were actually only created for the small screen. Mattie's affair with F.U which serves as a perfect foil as to why she is unable to be see his true colours until it is too late. Also no Stamper, Urquharts trusty minion who does not actually appear in print. The ending felt rather rushed and I was slightly confused as to how the sequel 'To Play The King' is really possible.Although It doesnt happen often I would recommend bypassing the book for the TV series. Far more exciting and scandalous with the fabulous Ian Richardson playing the role of a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic political thriller, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: House of Cards (Mass Market Paperback)
Many people have watched the television adaptation of this before reading the book and that might skew their views. The television producers - in the BBC version, even more so in the Netflix US remake, for obvious reasons - have tweaked the story to suit the screen. I can see why and their changes have helped, but this was a strong story in the first place. Basically, a government MP is prepared to do anything to become Prime Minister. A reporter is on the trail, gradually uncovering the truth. All three versions - book, BBC and Netflix - have that at their heart. Don't get bogged down comparing the three - they are all good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. I actually work in London in politics, and although things have moves on since the 80s, the characters, atmosphere and world created in this book are perfect. I would recommend this to anyone,its a stylish political book and an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do not expect it to be like the television series..., 26 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: House of Cards (Mass Market Paperback)
The television series was excellent; entertaining and although seemingly far fetched, it remains plausible in its own way. I decided to read the book to compare it with the television series. However, I have to say that this is one of those rare occasions when the television beats the book hands down. Although the televsion has shockingly few similarities to the book, it has changed the story for the better. In the book there is absolutely no sign of any instability in the character of Mattie Storin. She doesn't have an affair with Francis, therefore completely eliminating any reason why she would not work out or deny to herself that he was the instigator of all the trouble! Anyone with even half a brain can see that it is painfully obvious. This leaves the book, for me anyway, totally unconvincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! Yes, I have watched the current tv series featuring Kevin Spacey, and loved that. Then I found out it was based on a British TV series which in turn was based on a series of books. I literally could not put this book down. The main character in this book, is different, but has some similar characteristics to Kevin Spacey's character. I was constantly looking to compare this book with the American tv series. However the book on its own is very very good, the plot goes along at a very quick pace and I could not put this down. Yes, it is very dated, but that adds to the interest. I will definately be buying the other books in this series and have been recommending this to everyone. Even if you're not interested in politics, its a cracking good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crude Tory Satire Which Worked Better on TV., 16 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: House of Cards (Mass Market Paperback)
Oh dear. Dobbs may have the advantage of insider knowledge, but it was clearly the considerable talents of screenwriter Andrew Davies - as well as Ian Richardson and the generally excellent cast which made 1990's excellent TV adaption so compelling. Dobbs seems to be infected by Jeffery Archer Bad Writing syndrome. As in Archer's case the essentials of a good story are there but sadly this is no less mediocre by any other literary criteria. For a far more compelling political thriller check out Chris Mullen's Very British Coup instead or anything by John Mortimer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but coming second best here is no disgrace), 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suffers slightly in comparison with the TV series that was inspired by it and by an absolutely classic performance from the incomparable Ian Richardson (Sorry Kevin Spacey, but coming second best here is no disgrace). Some of the icy charm and charisma that Richardson portrayed so well is missing from the novel; yet still a cracking read of what it might take to ascent the greasy pole of politics and end up at the very pinnacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars House of cliché, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had seen the TV series years ago and the book was a cheapie on Kindle from a respected author.
Not much to lose I thought.
On the plus side it was not quite bad enough to stop half way through, but it was poorly written and loaded with cardboard characters who fulfilled every cliche imaginable.
It's just a ' penny dreadful' for the post Thatcher era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't plan just to read one chapter!, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book!You can imagine all the intrigue and double dealing going on today which is a bit worrying when I think about it! I watched the American adaptation of the book and was impressed but now want to see the Ian Richardson version having read this book. Also went on to download the rest of the trilogy.All equally unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Cards
House of Cards by Michael Dobbs (Mass Market Paperback - 29 July 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews