Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative adventure into a mysterious world of horror.
First published back in 1988, ‘Cabal’ followed the release of the hugely popular novel ‘Weaveworld’. The story turns all our ideas about horror fiction on its head, with Barker’s classic tale of misguided humanity. The tale subtly tackles the conception, misguided judgment and ridicule of views on homosexual community, with the homosexuals...
Published on 23 Mar 2006 by Chris Hall

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars to give them a go and see how good they are
I hadn't realise until recently that there are quite a few horror films based upon Clive's books; which is the reason for buying Cabal, to give them a go and see how good they are.

I did find it an interesting read but I felt there was little character development and I was constantly getting confused between characters. Even though the book is a small read, I...
Published 25 days ago by Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative adventure into a mysterious world of horror., 23 Mar 2006
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabal (Paperback)
First published back in 1988, ‘Cabal’ followed the release of the hugely popular novel ‘Weaveworld’. The story turns all our ideas about horror fiction on its head, with Barker’s classic tale of misguided humanity. The tale subtly tackles the conception, misguided judgment and ridicule of views on homosexual community, with the homosexuals represented as the Nightbreed. Hounded, hunted and attacked, merely due to their way of life, the novel takes you into a world of questions and suggested conclusions. The novel is extremely well-written, bringing together horror and fantasy in this dark tale of passion, love and persecution. Barker’s limitless imagination has constructed a truly bizarre and involved tale, that captivates the reader early on, with the quiet whisperings of this forgotten world. This is a story that will immerse you in the horror and unbelievable, forging a novel that you will remember for a long time to come.
The story runs for 268 pages with some versions (the UK Fontana being one of them) including some pen and ink drawings by Barker himself illustrating the novel throughout. The story was later adapted in 1990 with Clive Barker acting as both the Director and the Screenwriter. The director David Cronenberg starred in the film as the deranged Dr. Philip Decker. The cult success (but alas not financial success) of the film, spawned a ‘Making Of Nightbreed’ book, ‘The Nightbreed Chronicles’ film companion book, a series of twenty-five comics (as well as a Genesis collection of four of the comics), a Nightbreed computer game released by Ocean, as well as various promotional items.
Cabal is a fabulous novel that should be read by anyone who is at all interested in Clive Barker’s work. A true masterpiece of fantastic horror that will grip and excite you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometime monsters have a human form..., 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cabal (Paperback)
This is the first C.Barker book I've read and it still hold a dear place in my heart. The author creates a dark world, where good and evil is slightly different. The creatures of the night live beside us: the werewolf, the vampire, and the bogeyman. And they are an entirely different community, with their own laws, customs and lore. And they also have their enemies, who, although human in form, hide a monstrous soul.
In the dark underworld of the 'Nightbreed', we follow the heroin in her search of her dead lover, who proves to be not as dead after all. Together they defend the hidden clan from their pursuers, fulfilling an old Messianic prophecy.
I just wish Clive Barker would write a sequel to this excellent tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hymn to Perversity, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal (Kindle Edition)
A short novel singing a hymn to perversity. Cabal takes a close look a monsters, and discovers that there is a lot more to them than appearances lead you to believe. At the same time, there's no escaping the fact that they remain... well, monsters. It's a beautifully written story, but one that is too often accorded partialities that I'm not sure are inherent in the text. Minority groups are often quick to relate the metaphor of Midian to themselves, but that can only be done on the most selective reading. While on the one hand yes, the monsters are subject to clear persecution, on the other they commit unspeakable acts that have only got away with for so long because they've been sneaky. For these same reasons, I'm inclined to read the monsters of Midian as an exaggerated representation of humanity at large rather than any portion of it. Petty, divided, frightened, terrifying... all these things and more.

Of course, the fact that this discussion can be had at all suggests that this a great book. It is. Beautiful, hypnotic, suggestive, and graceful in all its horrors - this is among Barker's very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars behind the mask, 15 July 2006
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cabal (Paperback)
Following the success of `Weaveworld' Clive Barker turned increasingly towards the fantasy genre, and `Cabal' represents one of his last forays into more explicit horror territory, with this tale of a hero caught between a group of bizarre undead cemetery dwelling monsters and a deranged masked serial killer. Barker provides plenty of gruesome imagery and plays well with the theme of people hiding behind masks and the real nature of monstrosity. The book can occasionally feel a little thinly sketched out however, and while some of Barker's more bloated doorstopper's can feel overwritten `Cabal' has the opposite problem clocking in at a brisk 250 pages that ensures a rapid pace but slightly sketchy characters. Some readers may also be slightly offput by the rather open ending, as this novel was originally intended to be the first in a trilogy that so far failed to arrive (Barker seems to have a real problem with starting series and not getting round to finishing them; at the time of writing he has four series theoretically `on the go' (`Cabal', `The Books of the Art', `Galilee', `Abarat') none of which have thus far been completed), but this still works well enough as a stand alone novel. Not entirely flawless, this is still a good throwback to Barkers earlier `Books of Blood' style horror, and a fun brisk read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly brilliant with orgasmic vibrations, 28 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cabal (Paperback)
Cabal takes you into a different world, where the monster is not all it seems. Answer the question why do human kind fear all they do not understand? could it be that inside of us all a little bit of monster really does exist and we would urge the day that it would rise to the surface and be free. Clive Barker opens a door to this world with Cabal, do you dare to read further?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sometime monsters have a human form..., 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cabal (Paperback)
This is the first C.Barker book I've read and it still hold a dear place in my heart. The author creates a dark world, where good and evil is slightly different. The creatures of the night live beside us: the werewolf, the vampire, and the bogeyman. And they are an entirely different community, with their own laws, customs and lore. And they also have their enemies, who, although human in form, hide a monstrous soul.
In the dark underworld of the 'Nightbreed', we follow the heroin in her search of her dead lover, who proves to be not as dead after all. Together they defend the hidden clan from their pursuers, fulfilling an old Messianic prophecy.
I just wish Clive Barker would write a sequel to this excellent tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars to give them a go and see how good they are, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal (Paperback)
I hadn't realise until recently that there are quite a few horror films based upon Clive's books; which is the reason for buying Cabal, to give them a go and see how good they are.

I did find it an interesting read but I felt there was little character development and I was constantly getting confused between characters. Even though the book is a small read, I found it too much of a drag to get through and still struggled to get it done. I give it 2/5 and hope his other books are a better read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal (Kindle Edition)
Really good read, worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal (Paperback)
I got this as a present for my son. He loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cabal, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal (Kindle Edition)
Great read, with the up coming DVD release of nightbreed I thought I should actually read the book for a change.
Worth every penny, delicious, dark and extremely satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabal
Cabal by Clive Barker (Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews