Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST
After reading many of Agatha's books before, i was expecting this to be just as enthralling. But as the first book she ever wrote, i found it to be the best i have ever read. Meticulous Hercule Poirot is at his finest along with sidekick Hastings and the plots and twists of the book are simply brilliant; Christie is a genius. The only downside to the book is the...
Published on 16 Dec 2002 by t_w_quartz

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Poirot
Any Poirot fan will love this if only because it's the world's first glimpse of the Belgian hero. I was quite surprised at how 'complete' he is - I expected to find him rather different from the character he grew into but, no, he's pretty much all there, right from the start. Hastings is here too and it's nice to see how their partnership came about. Poirot is a refugee...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by daisyrock


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - What you expect from Agatha., 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Starting the trail from the beginning. Good way to relate to the characters as they develop. Author always good at thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first full length Christie, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This edition of "The Mysterious Affair" has a fascinating introduction which helps to set the story in its historical context in the Christie Cannon. Here we encounter Hastings and Poirot for the first time and learn something of Poirot's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st Poirot, 15 May 2013
By 
D. A. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Mysterious Affair at Styles was mentioned on a TV documentary as the first Poirot story. Typical Agatha Christie twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've watched most of the Agatha Christie productions on the television and have always loved the settings and the story line and so decided to start reading the novels in chronological order and this first novel didn't disappoint. It is well written with a good story line and would highly recommend the book to anyone who loves murder mysteries set in the golden days of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious Affair at Styles. Hercule Poirot 1., 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to visit these novels again after reading them as a teenager.
Poirot is so irritating and Hadstings so stupid but somehow they make a great team.
Looking forward to reading them all again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overwhelmingly clever?, 8 April 2013
Very enjoyable, but perhaps overwhelmingly clever? This was my first Agatha Christie book, so I had had no previous experience of how much information one needs to keep track of. Wow.

Natasha Holme
Author of 'Lesbian Crushes and Bulimia: A Diary on How I Acquired my Eating Disorder'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as ever!, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read all the Hercule Poirot stories years ago and am now revisiting them via my kindle. I love the development of the plot and how Agatha keeps the suspense going until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good used book, added to my collection, to be read but can be sure it will be a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was the first poirot story, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. J. M. Baker (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book bought it as it was referred to the last Poirot story curtains & was not disappointed.I enjoy all Agatha Christie books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
anyone who enjoys reading crime and thrillers will love this book. it is certainly a page turner, hard to put down once you start to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mysterious Affair at Styles
The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 8 July 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews