Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for all espioniage fans
"Ryan was nearly killed twice in half an hour"
As soon as the reader reads this first sentence of this book, he or she knows that she will not be able to put the book down until the last assassination has failed.
When Jack Ryan, a history teacher from America, foils a plan to kidnap the "Prince of Wales", he immediately becomes the number...
Published on 22 Aug 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and yet a bit embarrassing in parts!
I am 3/4 of the way through this book and it's very engrossing, I must admit. However, the parts concerning the Royal Family had me squirming in embarrassment. The Duke of Edinburgh would never escort someone other than close family from a hospital, and the Queen would not accommodate at Buck House the family of someone who'd ostensibly saved the lives of her son and...
Published on 7 Nov 2008 by SueBee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for all espioniage fans, 22 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
"Ryan was nearly killed twice in half an hour"
As soon as the reader reads this first sentence of this book, he or she knows that she will not be able to put the book down until the last assassination has failed.
When Jack Ryan, a history teacher from America, foils a plan to kidnap the "Prince of Wales", he immediately becomes the number one target of the terrorists he foils.
The terrorists then follow him back to the US to plot their revenge. The last of these schemes leading to a mouth-watering climax.
Of all of the Clancy books I have read, this one is one for the beginner as well as the seasoned veteran
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 7 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
I am a great fan of Tom Clancy's books. I first read The Cardinal of the Kremlin last year and then Rainbow Six. When I read Patriot Games this summer I really enjoyed it. I have now read many in the Jack Ryan series and Patriot Games is one of the best. My favourite part had to be the gunfight at Ryans home near the end but the whole book is really good. S.F aged 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and yet a bit embarrassing in parts!, 7 Nov 2008
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
I am 3/4 of the way through this book and it's very engrossing, I must admit. However, the parts concerning the Royal Family had me squirming in embarrassment. The Duke of Edinburgh would never escort someone other than close family from a hospital, and the Queen would not accommodate at Buck House the family of someone who'd ostensibly saved the lives of her son and daughter in law. Protocol and security issues would never allow it. Also it's doubtful if a knighthood could be conferred on a US citizen and even if an honorary one, he couldn't use the 'Sir'.

I mention this because Clancy seems to strive for truthfulness and reality in all other instances. I also agree with another reviewer's opinion that the dialogue is stilted. Particularly between Ryan and his wife to whom I took an active dislike.

However, apart from these quibbles it's still hard to put down book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Jack Ryan, 30 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
Most people will recognise this from the film version starring Harrison Ford, the story has now deated badly concerning a rescue of members o the Royal Family (Princess Diana), Irish terrorists and an America not bothered by terrorist attacks. Oh that we could go back to those days!
Once you get over the dated story this still remains an excitment and exciting read.
This is supposed to be the first in the Jack Ryan series but written after the Hunt of Red October?? Ah well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not the best of Jack Ryan, 17 Feb 2007
By 
A. C. Cooper (Doncaster, S. Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
Having read The Hunt for Red October a couple of years ago I have been meaning to read more of Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan books and finally got round to it with Patriot Games (Patriot Games is actually a prequel to The Hunt for Red October). Patriot Games was especially interesting given its `British' theme. Clancy certainly appears to like us Brits if with a slightly stereotypical eye and certainly has no sympathy for the IRA and their supporters.

As with all Clancy's books that I've read the action is fast paced and well written and his insights into how the international intelligence community operates are very interesting indeed.

The book falls down a bit however when it comes to Ryan's family life. The sentimental exchanges between Ryan and his wife get increasingly sickly and can be slow and hard going at times. Ok Clancy, we get the idea, Ryan's a good, hard working, family guy, his wife is little miss perfect and his daughter is the most cherubic child ever to walk the face of the earth, you don't have to keep banging on about it. On the subject of Ryan's wife, I couldn't help thinking that Cathy Ryan, world renowned eye surgeon, loving wife, devoted mother and full time house keeper of privileged upbringing, was just a bit too perfect. Clancy really does want the reader to think that the sun shines out of her bottom.

Over all though the book is pretty good and I will certainly be reading more of Jack Ryan's adventures in the CIA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start of a suberb series., 18 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
The "Jack Ryan" series of novels stand as a suberb collection of novels by Tom Clancy. Towering in presence, breathtaking in scope, intimate in detail, they offer one continous, complete story spanning some thirty years and eight books.
This is the best place to start, although it was not the first book in the series to be written - that was the Hunt for Red October. Patriot Games is far better a book than the film would suggest, and deserves your attention. For anyone who enjoys fast action thrillers, political intruigue set in our modern world, then you should buy this book. Clancy has an easy going style which is instantly readable, but never too slow.
If you intend to read the whole series, start with either this book or The Hunt for Red October. The first book is Without Remorse, but is set far earlier than the other seven and is not strictly needed. The correct order - since I get asked so often - is Without remorse, Patriot Games, Hunt for Red October, Cardinal of Kremlin, Clear and Present Danger, Sum of All fears (a truly superb book!), Debt of Honour, Exectutive Orders.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is an exciting book but........, 14 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
read it before the breaking up of the Prince and the Princess would give you a better feeling. It was difficult for me to link up the "Prince" in the book to the one in our live. Anyway, it is a story", a good and exciting story. I specially like the beginning part when Jack Ryan intercepted the terrorists' attack on the Royal couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete backstory on Jack Ryan working for the CIA, 14 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
On vacation in London, Jack Ryan stops a terrorist attack by the Ulster Liberation Army on the Prince and Princess of Wales and their infant son. When the leader of the attack escapes from custody, Ryan and his family become targets. To defend them, Ryan goes to see his old friends at the C.I.A. and tells them he wants back in. The climax of the book is another attack on the terrorists at Ryan's own home where the Prince and Princess are dinner guests. "Patriot Games" is an atypical Tom Clancy novel in that is the Jack Ryan book least reliant on cutting edge technology, dealing more with the consequences of Jack's choices for his family and his career.
In is interesting to read this 1987 book knowing that filming it turned Tom Clancy against selling the movie rights of his books to Hollywood (although apparently the powers that be can have their own way with the Jack Ryan character). The problem, of course, was the final scene. In the film, Harrison Ford's character kills Sean Miller at the end of an exciting fistfight on a speeding boat. In the book, Jack Ryan does not shoot his gun at the fatal moment so that he can tell his newborn son, "Your father isn't a murderer." Clancy's conservative inclinations are well known, but forcing him into a fascist stereotype really misses the point, especially when it tries to make his hero some sort of a reactionary.
"Patriot Games" takes back several years before the events described in "The Hunt for Red October," where the Sir John Ryan backstory is certainly alluded to at a couple of points. I wondered if maybe Clancy had simply written this novel first but could not get it published, yet one of the strengths of his work over the years has been the detailed backgrounds on the various characters (the best examples are probably Red Wegener and Ding Chavez in "Clear and Present Danger," where the complete backgrounds are given although one is a minor character in the novel and the other goes on to be a main supporting character). One of the reason I always liked this book is because of the pure audacity of making members of the Royal Family main supporting characters, especially Prince Charles, who has continued to pop up from time to time.
This is the book where Clancy dropped the annoying subtitles used in his first two novels. In retrospect "Patriot Games" is a much more intimate novel than what is follows. Certainly the threat is much more personal, targeting Ryan and his family. With Clancy's tendency to tell stories where nuclear war is a distinct possibility, this becomes an atypical effort, similar to "Without Remorse," which supplies the complete backstory on John Clark. Another reason for the feeling of intimacy is that Clancy's novels have tended to get longer and longer. Final note: people who have read these book in the "correct chronological order" find "Red October" to be something of a step backwards, so the best advice remains to read them in the order they were written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent plot, 9 Dec 2008
By 
Simon Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
Though the plot lines of Tom Clancy books are amazing I do find that they drag on longer than needed. However I feel that he only drags it on because he is trying go into detail, this is worse in Hunt for Red October when he gets into full detail on sonar.

This book again in about Jack Ryan, the main character in Tom Clancy's book. The plot revolves around an IRA attempt on the Prince of Wales, which Jack foils which then causes him to be the target.

Though the plot is interesting and the detail is amazing I still can't fully enjoy it because it does go on for too long and I find myself just wishing it would finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Political., 20 Nov 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Patriot Games (Paperback)
This book starts with a bang (literally), ends in similar fashion, and has bits of action in the middle, surrounded by drama and political commentary.
Jack Ryan is back, and foils a terrorist (Irish) attempt to kidnap the Prince and Princess of Wales, plus new offspring.
It's a good story, although some of the dialogue is a bit stiff, and things take quite a long time to get going again.
Still worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patriot Games
Patriot Games by Tom Clancy (Paperback - 2 Feb 1998)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews