Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing continuation of the brilliant "Hunt for Red October"
This is in my modest opinion the second best book by Tom Clancy, bested only by the "Hunt for Red October".

This incredibly courageous technothriller is centered around two topics: a Soviet officer who is spying for Americans since the 60s and a new, powerful weapon, developped by USSR - a laser gun able to destroy satelites. This second topic is partly...
Published on 26 Sep 2007 by Maciej

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another jack Ryan Thriller
This was the next the series of Jack Ryan books following on from Patriot Games. Ryan is now officially working for the CIA, and gets involved in a major episonage case with a high ranking Kremlin General.
Like all of Clancys book, it moves along at its own place, so if you are not a commited reader then you might lose interest. The story is again very dated,...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by Glosblue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing continuation of the brilliant "Hunt for Red October", 26 Sep 2007
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
This is in my modest opinion the second best book by Tom Clancy, bested only by the "Hunt for Red October".

This incredibly courageous technothriller is centered around two topics: a Soviet officer who is spying for Americans since the 60s and a new, powerful weapon, developped by USSR - a laser gun able to destroy satelites. This second topic is partly inspired by the true events - such an installation, destined to blind (not destroy) US satelites, was really build in the last years in USSR close to Duchanbe in todays Tadjikistan, but never tried on an American target.

As one of the previous reviewers pointed, this is a very pro-US book, and that is precisely the reason I call it courageous: most spy books usually try not to design one of the blocks (East or West) as being on the good side and another on the bad side. Which is not true in my modest opinion, because let's face it - during the Cold War there was one alliance made of democracies and it faced a totalitarian empire and its unwilling satelites. That alone shows which side was right and which one was wrong. And this book, as its predecessor, takes exactly this position.

The plot itself is also very daring - I do not want to give any spoilers, but towards the end my jaw dropped. Three times in a row. I was like "Oh my God, he dared to write THIS?" And I think that even now, 16 years after the end of Cold War, this books still packs an impressive power to surprise and shock you. And it is also a really good read. I recommend it warmly, as the second best technothriller ever, a perfect second part of the amazing "Hunt for Red October".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clancy vintage, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a classic. fast paced, 3 dimensional and gripping.
I lost my book many years ago and was keen to get a replacement...worth the wait...even if I knew the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 20 Nov 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
This was the best Jack Ryan book so far.
Combining four tales, each intertwined with the others until the final climax is reached, the action is unrelenting, and it's edge of the seat stuff throughout.
The main plot involves a longstanding US spy in the higher echilons of Soviet goverment, but there's also the "secret" weapon both sides are developing, the political machinations within the Soviet hierarchy, and the Afghan rebels planning a decisive assault on a Soviet base.
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU MAY NOT AGREE WITH HIS POLITICS, BUT THIS IS Tom Clancy AT HIS BEST!, 27 Sep 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
I do not like Tom Clancy as a person. I despise his totalitarian amoral politics and I canNOT stand him slapping his readers with them in his latest oversized and underwritten duds.

However, Tom Clancy was once an EXCELLENT technothriller writer. He might not have invented the genre, yet he launched it into the stratosphere.

This is HIS BEST BOOK and it is actually very good.
The mid-80's Cold-War atmosphere, the paranoia, the double-agents, the clandestine methods and the hardware are all expertly presented.
Now, him being, well...Clancy there still are stereotypes and bigoted characters galore. Deciding to overcome this however, the reader can actually enjoy this one.

Do not judge CARDINAL OF THE KREMLIN based on his deteriorated career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
Brilliant story. Condition accurately described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book love tom clancys, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
great book love tom clancys work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
I had read this book twice and then had lent to somebody without it being returned. Got this copy from Amazon and have now read for the third time. I have read all of Tom Clancy's books at least twice. Great stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was up to his usual high standards I had read it before many years ago but it was still as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Clancy's books are a great read., 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
Tom Clancy's books are always a great read.
This one did not disappoint. Even though it was a used book the condition was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Clancy pulls a cracker out of the bag., 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cardinal of the Kremlin (Paperback)
The story takes place in the '80's when the US and USSR were developing "Star Wars" technology. There is the added plotline of a long term spy in the Soviet Defence Ministry working for the Americans who passes on the infomation. Eventually the spy is blown and is caught by the KGB. So a desperate race is on to get him out of the Soviet Union by blackmailing the chief of the KGB. Jack Ryan is in Russia with the negotiating team for US - Soviet disarmament talks and is caught up in the ensuing mayhem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cardinal of the Kremlin
The Cardinal of the Kremlin by Tom Clancy (Paperback - 2 Feb 1998)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews