Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2013
Once ordered this arrived very quickly and had the cover that I wanted (which does not always happen even if advertised as being the correct version) and was a very reasonable price. However the seller stated that this book was in perfect condition (I bought this second-hand) which is was not and has sustained bad damage which is disappointing as I originally bought it as a present. Overall not happy with this seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
A classic story of the legendary character. I liked the setting in 19th century England, the camp and the pomp and ceremony of the Georgian court.

David Cook, author of Liberty or Death (The Soldier Chronicles Book 1) and Heart of Oak (The Soldier Chronicles Book 2)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2005
The first book of the Sharpe series to be set largely on British soil sees Sharpe return to England to save the South Essex from an uncertain future. Threatened with being disbanded due to dwindling recruits, Sharpe returns to their Chelmsford depot to uncover a political intrigue which his experience fighting against the French on the Iberian peninsula has little prepared him for.
Sharpe's regiment gives a fascinating insight into military bureaucracy and society during the Napoleonic wars. Despite the lack of pitched battles we see Sharpe at his most exciting; when fighting the upper ranks of his own army with the reintroduction of the inept but powerful Sir Henry Simmerson. However, there is a feeling that this book could fit almost anywhere in the chronology of the later books in the series and it seems chiefly designed to give us further insight into Sharpe's character.
No less exciting than its predecessors, but little opportunity for witnessing the further elevation of Sharpe's career.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
This is as usual a very good and interesting read. As with all the Sharpe books I thoroughly enjoy the story, and the action.
I have read many of Bernard Cornwell's books and can say without a doubt that he is my favourite author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
It's a book by Bernard Cornwell about Sharpe,they Made a series of films about Sharpe's adventures of course its good! Who can resist such stunning graphical writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
The usual exiting and quick moving Sharpe book. Always against the odds he manages to prevail. Recommended reading for anyone who likes adventure books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
My nephew loved it as he is reading the series and it was a present. You really should have an option for me to simply say it was a present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Excellent series of books. I particularly like the way the author describes at the end of his books how history differs from his fiction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
I have read every single Sharpe book, including the mini stories and have never tired. This must be the greatest literary series ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
The book was very good.Going back to England made for good reading and Sharpe. Finally getting to France with his new wife.4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse