Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the long running series
When I first read this book a few years ago, I was slightly disapointed that it wasn't set in Spain, and was not expecting it to be great. However it turned out to be a fantastic read and I now regard it as my favourite. As the previous reviewer pointed out it is ironic that Sharpe and Harper have to re-enlist, another irony is they get mixed up in a dark world of...
Published on 21 May 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Regiment, is an accurate account of Napoleonic wars.
Very good especially if you have followed the series, it seems as if the writer gets more adept as he continues through the series.
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by Squadron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the long running series, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sharpe Series (17) - Sharpe's Regiment: The Invasion of France, June to November 1813 (Paperback)
When I first read this book a few years ago, I was slightly disapointed that it wasn't set in Spain, and was not expecting it to be great. However it turned out to be a fantastic read and I now regard it as my favourite. As the previous reviewer pointed out it is ironic that Sharpe and Harper have to re-enlist, another irony is they get mixed up in a dark world of intrigue, as deadly as any battlefield, despite being back home. Cornwells descriptions of London slums contrasted with the opulence of the prince regent at court are brilliantly crafted. Characters such as cautious and sly politicians, harsh drill sergeants and raw recruits seem to " walk off" the page. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexual and Political Intrigue at the Highest Levels of English Society Followed by a Rousing Attack, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sharpe Series (17) - Sharpe's Regiment: The Invasion of France, June to November 1813 (Paperback)
"He will repay my enemies for their evil." -- Psalm 54:5

Sharpe's Regiment is an unusually satisfying entry into this series because the book is literally crammed with evil doers who need comeuppance. And who will deliver that comeuppance, if anyone? Why, Major Richard Sharpe, of course, is at your service.

Unlike the other books in the series that take place during the Peninsular Wars, this one has relatively little action in Spain. Instead, Sharpe and Harper are mostly prowling the English countryside and London. It's an amusing change of pace to which Bernard Cornwell adds a rousing battle at the end in the epilogue. Like the best books in the series, it also pretty closely follows the real history.

So what's it all about? The campaign for Spain was settled by the Battle of Vittoria. Now it's time to mop up the remaining French and to invade France through the Pyranees. The South Essex is being starved for replacements and Sharpe learns that the unit is going to be disbanded. Wellington would rather have veteran units be reinforced rather than replaced and agrees for Sharpe to go to London to see what can be done.

The fun starts when Sharpe tries to tackle the bureaucracy and falls into the middle of political intrigue and financial peculation. There will always be those who seek to profit from war, and the British of this time were no exception. Sharpe begins to realize that even his hero's status cannot solve the problem without proof, and he goes undercover as it were to seek such proof.

The story features two beautiful women who find Sharpe attractive, an old friend, a greedy new enemy, a greedy old enemy, and many minor villains. Sharpe takes us from the top of British society to its dregs, and we gain a colorful, unforgettable portrait of England in the early 19th century. I was especially interested in the careful descriptions of how current and retired, injured soldiers were seen by the citizens they protected.

Bernard Cornell has packed the equivalent of about six novels into this one without making it seem overly dense. Keep your sense of humor as you imagine how Sharpe is reacting to all the fools around him, and you'll enjoy many good laughs from this very satirical and ironical story of beating Napoleon.

Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, bad kindle., 21 Jan. 2011
Have to start off by saying how much I love the Sharpe books, and this is a great one. Started reading the books after receiving a Kindle for christmas, and the only thing that has disappointed me is how badly the books have been transferred into the digital era. So many errors I find in these digital write-ups, things small enough like Quiet being typed in as quite, or wordsnot havingany spacesinthem orh aving asp ace in the middleo f a word. Annoying when you're getting quite into a good Sharpe read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe on the loose in England, 17 Oct. 2007
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sharpe Series (17) - Sharpe's Regiment: The Invasion of France, June to November 1813 (Paperback)
In virtually every novel in the Sharpe-series our hero's had to deal with as many enemies from within the British army (Hakeswill being the foremost off course) as from the French but in "Sharpe's Regiment" he has nothing but enemies from within.

At the start of the story Sharpe is in Spain eagerly awaiting the necessary reinforcements for the South Essex Regiment when, to his utter astonishment, he learns that none are coming and the Regiment is likely to be disbanded (a fate only slightly less worse than losing your Colours). When Sharpe travels to England to investigate he stumbles upon a conspiracy by some very high-ranking people, and (no Sharpe-novel's complete without one) a woman he hasn't seen in quite a while.

I found this one of the best Sharpe-novels I've read so far, if only because there's not only the usual action and battle scenes, but Sharpe in England instead of Spain (or India in the first novels) makes for a very welcome change of scenery. An utterly compelling read, as we've come to expect for Bernard Cornwell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Regiment, is an accurate account of Napoleonic wars., 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good especially if you have followed the series, it seems as if the writer gets more adept as he continues through the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Difference - but lacks action of others, 21 July 2006
By 
This review is from: The Sharpe Series (17) - Sharpe's Regiment: The Invasion of France, June to November 1813 (Paperback)
Sharpe novels, as a rule, follow a strict template. A battle at the start, Sharpe being persecuted but winning, and a battle at the end. 'Sharpe's Regiment' takes the long running series in a different direction by taking Sharpe away from the battle field and placing him back in England.

Napoleon has retreated to France and a lull has occurred in the war. Sharpe believed that his regiment was being given reinforcements but it turns out that someone is selling his men to other regiments. It's up to Sharpe and Harper to stop fighting the old enemy and concentrates on the enemy within. Who needs enemies with friends like these?

I enjoyed this novel as a great diversion from the usual action packed battles and tales of revenge. The description of corruption and everyday life in England was very vivid. The reason I feel this was only an average novel was that the differences that made the novel stand out form the rest of the series, also stole the action that makes them so great.

As a Sharpe fan this is a great book to get to see the character's develop, but also as a fan book ending the novel with two out of place battles did not make up for the fact that I felt it lacked the urgency and excitement of many of the other Sharpe adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sharpe, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernard Cornwell is, in my opinion [for whatever that is worth] the best historical author currently working in the world of narrative fiction; based upon real-life historical events. He pulls no punches in respect to the often extremely violent reality of life during the wide ranging periods of human history he has covered. The net result is an authentic and often contemporary feel, featuring a cast of flawed characters that the modern day reader can identify with [in some cases], and entertained by until it becomes quite addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A change of scenery, 22 Oct. 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sharpe Series (17) - Sharpe's Regiment: The Invasion of France, June to November 1813 (Paperback)
Some people weren't as keen on this as a bit of a change of scenery and more politics than battles, however I thought this showed how Sharpe has grown, and how he is more than just a soldier now. Of course Sharpie does it in his own way, and there are still fights and love interests, but it does also show London at the time, and gives a real insight in how Wellingtons campaign never really hit home to the normal people without the benefit of TV and cinema. I enjoyed this book, sad that there are only 4 more to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Book arrived quickly and was a very good price but badly damaged, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sharpe Series (17) - Sharpe's Regiment: The Invasion of France, June to November 1813 (Paperback)
Once ordered this arrived very quickly and had the cover that I wanted (which does not always happen even if advertised as being the correct version) and was a very reasonable price. However the seller stated that this book was in perfect condition (I bought this second-hand) which is was not and has sustained bad damage which is disappointing as I originally bought it as a present. Overall not happy with this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark secrets and political mischief, 9 Sept. 2014
A classic story of the legendary character. I liked the setting in 19th century England, the camp and the pomp and ceremony of the Georgian court.

David Cook, author of Liberty or Death (The Soldier Chronicles Book 1) and Heart of Oak (The Soldier Chronicles Book 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sharpe Series (17) - Sharpe's Regiment: The Invasion of France, June to November 1813
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews