Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Care
This is an excellent book, but take care it was first published in 1981 so you may already have it on your book case!
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by Hornblower Fan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
A good read, but agree with some of the other reviews, certainly not a Sharpe classic. Without giving away the ending, found it a little out of character and in general the book wasn't as fast paced as the others. However still worth a read
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by chuckles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Care, 17 Aug 2008
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, but take care it was first published in 1981 so you may already have it on your book case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe has struck Gold, 6 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
Incrediable read. Non-stop action and story never lets you go. Sharpe is as daring as ever, Harper is as comical and the battles are as visual.

I love the new book cover artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good condition and good value, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
Good condition and good value. The stories are wonderful and I'm collecting the whole series. Bernard Cornwell's an excellent story teller with good attention to historical facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cornwell does it again !, 5 May 2014
By 
Mr. P. Johnson "pjohno" (leicester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sharpe at his rampaging best - racing against time and being chased relentlessly Sharpe shows his cunning and ruthlessness to get the job done - well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Gold, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
I am a devoted fan of the tv series and actually watch it every time it is on no matter how many times I have seen it. As an avid reader it was only natural that I should buy the complete set of these books and I am really looking forward to reading them, I just hope they don't let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe present, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
Sharpe present for my son of the entire Sharpe collection which he went through all of the books and seemed to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 29 Sep 2013
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
I have enjoyed all the Sharpe books so far and this is no exception. The story is well told and whilst there are few surprises in the book it is an entertaining read. Overall if you enjoy the Sharpe novels then you will enjoy this one, if not then this is probably not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good author with plenty of research,all of the series share the same quality.Some humour plenty of detail, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As above I have read all of the authors works over the years and to date always a good read.The action at Busaco well portrayed without being bogged down in trivia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bernhard Cornwell, 21 July 2013
By 
J. Collins (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernard Cornwell was up to his usual storytelling standard brilliantly weaving fact and fiction, with authentic sounding battle scenes. Sharpe was as sharp as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Review, 24 April 2013
By 
G. Silverman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these books, the descriptions are so vivid you feel you could be there. The trouble is my housework suffers :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9)
6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews