Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A Hard Look at Ruthless Decisions
Following on the heels of Sharpe's Eagle, Sharpe's Gold (the 9th novel in chronological order of events) plays on the darker side of "doing one's duty" of winning at any cost. During the early part of the Peninsula Wars, the Spanish army ceased to exist and a payroll for the nonexistent army is left in limbo. After a scout learns that the partisans have the gold, Sir...
Published on 9 Feb. 2009 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
A good read, but agree with some of the other reviews, certainly not a Sharpe classic. Without giving away the ending, found it a little out of character and in general the book wasn't as fast paced as the others. However still worth a read
Published on 22 Oct. 2008 by chuckles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Hard Look at Ruthless Decisions, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
Following on the heels of Sharpe's Eagle, Sharpe's Gold (the 9th novel in chronological order of events) plays on the darker side of "doing one's duty" of winning at any cost. During the early part of the Peninsula Wars, the Spanish army ceased to exist and a payroll for the nonexistent army is left in limbo. After a scout learns that the partisans have the gold, Sir Arthur Wellesley decides that the money must be liberated to help save the British army from defeat in Portugal.

After an awkward interchange where Captain Richard Sharpe (promoted from Lieutenant in Sharpe's Eagle) interferes with a provost who wants to hang one of his men as a looter, Wellesley tells Sharpe that he "must" get the gold. An earlier foray with cavalry failed, but there is a British officer watching the gold along with the partisans (guerillas). All Sharpe has to do is lead his few infantrymen behind enemy lines, persuade the partisans (led by the dangerous and suspicious El Catalico) to give him the Spanish gold, and then carry it back through enemy lines again.

Naturally, the challenge is even more difficult than expected. The scout who accompanies him is immediately captured by the French and Sharpe decides to rescue him. After that, the Spanish partisans claim the French have the gold and that the British officer has been captured. In the ensuing battle, Sharpe saves and becomes entranced by a most remarkable young woman, one who fights better than most men and is also very beautiful.

In the story, Bernard Cornwell brilliantly uses a real historical incident to present Sharpe with one of those "someone will die no matter what I do" choices that often occur in war. If you read this book with a friend, you can have some fun debating what Sharpe might have done differently.

The story is way too dark to be totally satisfying to Sharpe fans. Otherwise, it's brilliantly done. But it pales compared to the remarkable Sharpe's Eagle that preceded it.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe has struck Gold, 6 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
Incrediable read. Non-stop action and story never lets you go. Sharpe is as daring as ever, Harper is as comical and the battles are as visual.

I love the new book cover artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why I read Sharpe, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The description of military life, the (crazy, of course) British army system of leadership and life in the ranks, the historical background that one can further look up on Wiki, the fact that the French are respected as soldiers (none of the boring frog-bashing one expects from Poms), and a well written, excellently paced adventure novel to present it all....all good stuff! Sharpe is, in most ways, totally the opposite of Flashman, but the colourful setting and period are beautifully described, not as a lecture, but in illuminating support of the tale....refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Care, 17 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, but take care it was first published in 1981 so you may already have it on your book case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In line with typical Sharpe story, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
NJB (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm gradually working through the Sharpe series of books - although usually with a gap between each one.

I know roughly what to expect in each. It's a comfortable read which I enjoy much as many TV series - and I might be picking up a little history and some insight on life in those days as a side benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Gold, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
I am a devoted fan of the tv series and actually watch it every time it is on no matter how many times I have seen it. As an avid reader it was only natural that I should buy the complete set of these books and I am really looking forward to reading them, I just hope they don't let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
RK - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
I have enjoyed all the Sharpe books so far and this is no exception. The story is well told and whilst there are few surprises in the book it is an entertaining read. Overall if you enjoy the Sharpe novels then you will enjoy this one, if not then this is probably not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Gold, 5 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
Having read all of the sharpe series and watched the TV programmes. I'm a bit biased to these books, if you love military history, the napoleonic wars or have read Hornblower. Then this book and the other books based on the charectors Richard Sharpe and Sgt Harper will be a must read.
In this one Sharpe and his band of sharpshooters are sent on a mission to retrieve some gold from a spanish partisan. This book and all the others in the series will grip you from page one.
I would also recommend the TV series staring sean Bean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Gold, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
You enjoy or dislike these books, I personally enjoy. I cannot stress too highly the importance of reading the books in order as there can be a tendency to get lost for a while in references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good condition and good value, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9) (Paperback)
Good condition and good value. The stories are wonderful and I'm collecting the whole series. Bernard Cornwell's an excellent story teller with good attention to historical facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharpe's Gold: The Destruction of Almeida, August 1810 (The Sharpe Series, Book 9)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews