Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder of a politician
The Home Secretary collapses in the House of Commons and is taken to a private nursing home where Sir John Phillips - the eminent surgeon - operates on him for a diseased appendix. Unfortunately the Home Secretary dies and his surgeon has a motive for murdering him as do several of the operating team. Then there's his sister who had been persuading him to take patent...
Published on 23 May 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but not up to Marsh's normal standard
This book fails to deliver what we have come to expect from such a brilliant crime writer. The plot, though good, is slow in comparison with Marsh's normal pacey style. The characters are limited with only a small variety in change of scene. There is not sufficeint plot or involvement of Marsh's famed sluth Roderick Alleyn.
Published on 1 Jan 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder of a politician, 23 May 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Home Secretary collapses in the House of Commons and is taken to a private nursing home where Sir John Phillips - the eminent surgeon - operates on him for a diseased appendix. Unfortunately the Home Secretary dies and his surgeon has a motive for murdering him as do several of the operating team. Then there's his sister who had been persuading him to take patent medicines not to speak of anarchists whose activities would have been ruled illegal if the Bill the Home Secretary was sponsoring had become law.

There are almost too many suspects in this intriguing and well written mystery and I found myself switching between them almost on every page. The solution is not at all what I expected though it is obvious when you read how it was done. I like Roderick Alleyn and his sidekick, Inspector Fox as well as his friend, journalist Nigel Bathgate. The scene at the communist meeting is very well done with no one being quite who they seem to be.

The story recreates a forgotten age and some of the attitudes an ideas may seem old fashioned to modern readers. But to my mind this does not spoil the story which is well constructed and well written with believable characters. If you enjoy Agatha Christie and Dorothy L Sayers then you will probably enjoy Ngaio Marsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but not up to Marsh's normal standard, 1 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This book fails to deliver what we have come to expect from such a brilliant crime writer. The plot, though good, is slow in comparison with Marsh's normal pacey style. The characters are limited with only a small variety in change of scene. There is not sufficeint plot or involvement of Marsh's famed sluth Roderick Alleyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable medical mystery, 3 April 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is Ngaio Marsh's second novel and the only one written in collaboration with someone else. She needed Henry Jellett's contribution because of the medical setting of the book. It is only the second Roderick Alleyn novel, and his character is not yet fully consistent, as if she has yet to decide if he is a humorous, slightly camp individual, or the intelligent, sensitive and gentlemanly figure he became.
The Home Secretary, Sir Dereck O'Callaghan, drafts a bill to curb anarchist gangs and continues working, although he is in pain from what turns out to be appendicitis. He collapses in the House of Commons, is rushed to hospital and dies during the operation.
Suspiciously, the surgeon has quarrelled with him over a woman. The nurses have motives to kill him, too.
Upper-crust Inspector Roderick Alleyn leads the investigation. He is far from being an average policeman, since he knows the Prime Minister personally and is at ease with people most detectives would find it hard to mix with. He is able to navigate the world of the Home Secretary and his friends and find the solution to this quite complex mystery, which revolves around the use of the drug hyoscene.
Ngaio March is still getting into her stride in this book, but it is enjoyable and moves at a spanking pace. It is a bit dated, though it gives an interesting glimpse into the medical world of the 1930s. It is entertaining and lays a foundation for the later and more mature Alleyn books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars typical Ngaio Marsh!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book very much. case nicely built up, with a real surprise twist at the end . familiar characters help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy,, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love adding these to my collection. You can read them over again. I thoroughly recommend these as a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just love Ngaio Marsh and this is one of her good ones. Really enjoyed it as I always do with her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different theatre, 7 Feb 2012
The story revolves around the drug hyoscine and who gave the fatal injection of it, when there are already three, known injections during the operation. Also some home remedies, administered by the victim's sister,from her friend a chemist. Although there are not too many suspects, and it must be someone involved with the operation, I still fell for at least one of her red herrings. When the explanation came out it became obvious who the killer should be, and why didn't I think of that at first.
I found the setting to be enthralling and the re-enactment brilliant in finding how the crime was carried out. Once again a mixture of Alleyn being facetious and serious almost at the same time. I find this mix just right for a very satisfactory and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nursing Home Murder (The Alleyn mysteries)
The Nursing Home Murder (The Alleyn mysteries) by Ngaio Marsh (Paperback - 20 Mar 1995)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews