Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2001
This is a good account of the Royal Marines. The only question is to the choice of period. If the author wantd to concentrate on the Commando role played by the corps then it would have been better to start in 1942. The inter war period saw little action for the Royal Marines and was one of general bickering among top brass as to their role and future. That said the history is itself detailed and helped by the fact that the subject matter is gripping. Of particular interest is the war period after the corps started to operate in the Commando role. Also engaging is the modern side to the history, most of all the Falklands war, a conflict well suited to Commandos and one in which the Royal Marines played a very large part. All in all a thoroughly well researched piece of enjoyable military history.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
THIS BOOK HELPED US IMMENSLEY WHEN WE WERE TRYING TO RESEARCH MY LATE FATHERS LIFE DURING HIS TIME IN 42 COMMANDO ROYAL MARINES IT WAS A FASCINATING INSIGHT INTO WHAT HIS GROUP GOT UP TO
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Was advised to borrow this book from a library as I am researching my late husband's service with the Royal Marines in the 1960s.
But a found a second hand copy at a very reasonable price at Amazon and decided to go for it. I so pleased I did.
It is in rxcellent
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Well researched and so comprehensive. My husband was very over-joyed to read about his past as a RM Commando, especially the 40 Commando. I learnt so much about his former life, too. I would really recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn about the RM Commando operations since WW1 until the 1990's. I thought it would be a dull and boring book - I purchased it for my husband. However, the parts I have read have been extremely interesting and easy to read. An amazing book. One of a kind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
wanted more info on the marines, my late father was a marine and could not get a real insight into his life as a marine , was told to get this book,it is well written still did not get what i wanted from this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Superb book and so much detail --we are researching my Fathers time in the Royal Marines and was recommended by Royal Navy research department when asking fir his war records.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Covers a lot of British Naval history including facts you never knew.
Has everything you need to know about the history of the Royal Marines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
This book was for one of my grandsons and he was very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
very good book, excellent for researching, very helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Just what I wanted as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)