Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book to take in occassional slurps
Not really a part of the 'Floyd' series as centre stage and expertise is taken by his chum Jonathan Pedley - wine expert.
Of course, Keith Floyd's input, the occassional recipe, jocular comments and willingness to ever stress the importance of enjoyment over self important knowledge is what makes this book sooo enjoyable, especially if read whilst enjoying the odd...
Published on 4 April 2009 by Ms. T. King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Pedley steals the show.
Floyd’s side-kick Jonathan Pedley steals the show. I had always liked Floyd during those days when his popularity was open to public review. All these years later I have evolved having the consequence that I found Floyd boorish and in many parts he spoilt the shows. Certainly, the content is entertaining but the wines reviewed indicated a limited review of French...
Published 4 months ago by Leo Fender was a genius says -


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book to take in occassional slurps, 4 April 2009
By 
Ms. T. King (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Floyd Uncorked (Hardcover)
Not really a part of the 'Floyd' series as centre stage and expertise is taken by his chum Jonathan Pedley - wine expert.
Of course, Keith Floyd's input, the occassional recipe, jocular comments and willingness to ever stress the importance of enjoyment over self important knowledge is what makes this book sooo enjoyable, especially if read whilst enjoying the odd slurp, glass or even bottle of the wines in question.
If the aim of the book is to let you understand which wine goes with which food, which wine is the best in its region, and then to allow you to fly in the face of perceived wisdom - then it succeeds in spades.
Enjoy the book, live the dream and at the end of the day ask yourself if the time taken to read Floyd Uncorked has been wasted or has enhanced your life and you are sure to decide that your time has been well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction to French Wines, by region, 18 Dec 2007
This review is from: Floyd Uncorked (Hardcover)
Noted for his fondness for a little slurp while he cooks, Floyd now turns his attention to what's actually in the bottle, in this refreshingly uncomplicated look at wine and how to enjoy it.

Floyd Uncorked: A No-Nonsense Guide to French Wine features the 8 wine-producing regions of France and accompanied the series of TV programmes of the same name.

Typical Floyd humour:- (from the foreword)

'First, let me state that I do not believe that we must drink white wine with fish or red wine with met. I don't even believe we have to drink wine at all, if we don't like it. You must drink what ou like, when you like it and with what you like.
That's the disclaimer over...
But, as I explained at the outset, or at least I think I explained, whereas I have devoted my liver to one of the greatest célèbres, to wit, enjoying wine, I have never really bothered to turn my enjoyment into a science or an art, nor to worry about which grape makes which wine.
I have been unconcerned about the attributes of a Merlot or a Sauvignon Blanc or a Pinot Noir; and that is why it has been such a pleasure to work with JP, who will explain the intricacies and the basic facts of the drink in your glass.
Cheers!'

144 shiny high quality pages, split over the regions:-

1. Burgundy
2. Loire
3. Rhône
4. Provence
5. Languedoc-Roussillon
6. Bordeaux
7. Alsace
8. Champagne

along with a foreword, introduction from Jonathan Pedley, and an index which indicates `wine tasting notes' with wines and regions using a particular grape listed under the variety name.
Each chapter is devoted to one of the main vineyard regions of France. As well as describing the principal styles of wine produced, there are tasting notes on some of the benchmark examples along with technical information, including how to taste wine, how to store and how to serve.

Keith himself describes some of the classic foods of the relevant region - 'Floyd Food Notes', including a handful of recipes using local specialities.

Recipes are clearly laid out with the French/English titles, number of servings, list of ingredients and a clear method, along with the recommended wine, naturally!

Recipes include:-

* Ham in Chablis and Mustard Sauce
* Coq au Vin
* Chicken with Onion, Mushrooms and Cream
* Purée of Salt Cod
* Cassoulet

'p.s. A lot of restaurants in the Champagne region offer Salmon in a Champagne Sauce'.
Salmon and French cooking, in my view, don't go together, so don't bother.
There are more appropriate fish in France.
I am afraid I xenophobically regard salmon as the preserve of the Scots, English and Irish.'

Then follows a superb recipe for:-

* Crayfish in a Champagne Sauce

Interspersed with superb on-location shots, general photography, and maps.

* Bonne santé
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick service, great value for money, 19 Sep 2009
By 
Gompie (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Although a bit outdated and strongly focused on the British market it still is a great book. Not to 'heavy' and with some nice recepies. Pity though that some of the photos used have nothing to do whatsoever with the actual region. One can check that out by watching the even more entertaining 2DVD that was released in The Keith Floyd Cookery Collection. A sad thing though, the 'Floyd On France' series has not been released in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to French wines and their regions., 2 Jan 2001
By A Customer
As an avid wine drinker who hasn't a clue on what he's drinking, this is a great book to get you on the road to understanding French wines, their regions and marks. It is fun to read, and ideal for beginners - plus Floyd presents some great recipes for each region he explores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Pedley steals the show., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floyd Uncorked (Hardcover)
Floyd’s side-kick Jonathan Pedley steals the show. I had always liked Floyd during those days when his popularity was open to public review. All these years later I have evolved having the consequence that I found Floyd boorish and in many parts he spoilt the shows. Certainly, the content is entertaining but the wines reviewed indicated a limited review of French wines. The Beaune was not treated with the respect it deserved along with some very good regional French wines VDQS (if that is still a non-appellation contrôlée standard in France). When I was a kid I used to spend the late summer on the vendange (grape harvest) and some of the lesser known wines are as good as the celebrity boutique wines that Floyd chose to review.
The series consists of a trips through France sampling the wines and Floyd cooking chow to accompany the vinos. All normal stuff mostly done out of doors.
Alas, I found a certain arrogance in Floyd’s presentation throughout along with his impatience which made me feel uneasy. On the other hand I found Jonathan Pedley’s enthusiasm for wine infectious and his gentle humour warm-hearted. If the show was made today in 2014 I would plumb for Jonathan Pedley as the host and forget about Floyd.
This series could have been a wonderful journey through some of the most beautiful countryside in the world accompanied by history of social customs which grew the vines to wine reflecting local culture. A sort of Tour De Vin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Floyd...., 22 April 2010
By 
Gompie (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
The sadly missed Keith Floyd.... Some of my love for wine and food I definitely owe to him and I am grateful for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floyd Uncorked (Hardcover)
excellent value considering it was not new and as it was for someones birthday , it was much appreciated by them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with information but not wine snobby, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floyd Uncorked (Hardcover)
Great book, well categorised by wine types. Gives you a good basic understanding of wine by regions, also recipes to match. We organise our own wine tasting evenings with Floyd to keep us company on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Jonathan and Keith, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floyd Uncorked (Hardcover)
I loved the television series and the book is excellent, easy to dip into with good advice for trying new wines!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floyd Uncorked (Hardcover)
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Floyd Uncorked
Floyd Uncorked by Jonathan Pedley (Hardcover - 2 Nov 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews