Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars15
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2001
The odd thing about Josceline Dimbleby is that she takes ingredients that shouldn't really go together, puts them together, and somehow it works. I came across her "Almost Vegetarian Cookbook" a fair few years ago and, in spite of initial misgivings, was won over. This book is longer and better. A good example of her idiosyncratic style would be the very rich chocolate cake that is designed to collapse and contains a bizarre range of fragrant spices. Reading it you probably won't be inspired, but faith does pay off. They're not necessarily 30 minute cook style, but they are impressive and inspiring. Though my inspired attempts at combining things that shouldn't work together, have generally resulted in things that don't.
11 comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2001
This book was the best wedding present we were given. I collect cookbooks and this is my most favourite. J D has managed to provide recipes that are mouthwateringly inspiring and written in such a way that the reader longs to get into the kitchen. The book is beautifully laid out with simple yet descriptive photography and most usefully, a small foreword before each recipe, written with humour and enthusiasm.
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Chose book on back of 'Almost Vegetarian' best cook book I own. Do not think I will be perusing this anywhere as much.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
What a great cookery book! I had seen this book before and was very glad to have to opportunity to own it. The recipes are brilliant; very different to the run of the mill recipes and I am using some of them over Christmas and New Year. Great to have it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I read this book at a friend's house and loved it. When I got home I went on to Amazon website and ordered it immediately. It arrived promptly and was a very good price. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys cooking
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
I'd recommend this book to everyone- have already made three recipes from it.
Totally delicious, friends impressed too.
Service was fast and efficient,thank you- Not impressed with Amazon's tax situation though!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
I an a huge fan of Josceline Dimbleby. Her recipes have an middle eastern influence which makes them just a bit different. They are straightforward to follow and the results are always fantastic
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Excellent range of recipes and interesting anecdotes along with them. The only slight downside is the index, which could do with refining.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
One of those recipe books you read in bed then actually make the dishes because they are irrestible.. Josceline Dimbleby is a favourite.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Some very strange recipes in here and some absolute belters - recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Melt in your mouth goodness. Gluten free, vegan and delicious.
  -  
Personalized Fundraising Cookbooks Make Up To $9.45 Per Cookbook!
  -  
Cut down a bit of stomach fat every day by never eating these 5 foods.