Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving indeed
Autobiographies of celebrities can very easily fall into the pit of self praise and name dropping. Cash has none of this. We see a man who is free enough to present himself with all his difficulties, all his struggles. His story appears almost too difficult to tolerate at times, but ultimately there is light and hope, through family, recovery and love. I defy anybody...
Published on 23 Jun 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Mixed
This book was written with great honesty and emotion. It is a reavealing read, especially with respect to the inner feelings and motivations of the man himself. It is, however, a pretty mixed read and I expect you would really have to be a big fan to read it with an uncritical eye. There is a lot of religion in the mix, which is okay if you are a Christian, but tedious...
Published 1 month ago by R. Hart


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving indeed, 23 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Autobiographies of celebrities can very easily fall into the pit of self praise and name dropping. Cash has none of this. We see a man who is free enough to present himself with all his difficulties, all his struggles. His story appears almost too difficult to tolerate at times, but ultimately there is light and hope, through family, recovery and love. I defy anybody to read it without shedding a tear. When Johnny tells us at the end that life had become "very moving indeed", we feel that we really have seen into the heart of a man who has struggeled, who has come close to the edge, but who has hope to offer. And ultimately it is that hope that shines through. Hope and gratitude. This is a very fine book indeed, not just a chronical of the events of a life, but the story of a soul. Well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Unique Story of a Unique Man, 28 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Indispensible for all Cash fans, this is a wonderfully evocative reflection on his remarkable career. Unconventional, as you'd expect of the man - rather than a straightforward narrative, he explores his life through a series of reflective impressions, and non-linear tales crossing the years.
What we are left with is a deeply moving, even inspiring, portrait of this humble, uniquely gifted artist. A fine memorial to a great musician and wonderful human being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH THE CASH!, 20 Mar 2007
By 
Samantha Stringer (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I read this book on holiday last week and thought it was great. It was a truthful, thought provoking book by someone who is not a professional author but gave it a jolly good shot. His stories of drug addiction and the destruction it causes seemed very real, as did his genuine love for June.

I really enjoyed this book and having read about 20 autobiographies, will be reading this one again definately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like reading a prayer, 18 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This book is an inspiration and it reads like a prayer for mankind, for Johnny Cash and for music. The prose washed over me and made me feel so calm and peaceful. He never has a bad word to say about anybody (which admittedly can get a bit tiresome at points) and every negative in his life is turned round into a positive. It moves at a loving conversational pace and has great humour and wit as well as touching insights. It is impossible to read without feeling great respect for JC as a man, a musician and as a spiritual being. In short, it has soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cash, 19 Nov 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This is one of the most enjoyable autobiographies I've ever read, and I've read a lot. Johnny Cash's style is very conversational and you really feel as if he is talking just to you as you read. He lets you into some really personal moments in his life that you don't tend to see in others biogs (such as his personal prayers and meditations), as well as describing his friendships, growing up and various addictions. You really get a feel for the man from this book and it comes highly recommended.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read written by the man himself..., 14 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's not usual that a biography of a musician is written by the actual person, which makes this book by Cash all the more poignant, especially since his death.
It's a riveting read that really puts you into the mind of the legend himself. You can really understand the man and what makes him tick by reading this book.
But because it writes about his thinking, the book can waffle on a bit. Cash sometimes gets sidetracked in his writing, goes off on a tangent before coming back to the previous story, and when the incidents take place is not always clear at what point of his life they took place.
But overlook that, and instead, this is a great book with plenty of stories - sad, funny, life affirming, Cash has plenty to say, opinions to reveal and tales to tell.
You won't get bored once, and he had a fascinating life. The fact that he had plans for his future, that he never got around to doing, make this book incredibly personal and nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cash the man, 27 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
After watching Walk the line a couple of times I decided I wanted to know more about the man. It is a really personal and well written account of himself and I would reccomend anyone interested in learning more to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a personal account of a truly remarkable life, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Dr John N Sutherland (Skelmorlie, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I first came across Johnny Cash's music the year before he died - and I'm no spring chicken. His recording of 'Hurt' was life transforming. Here was raw human emotion sung as never before, and that by a dieing man. Several CDs later I found this book.

Like his music, this book is unique. His style is reflective, alive and deeply personal. This is no he did, then I did, then they did, style of account as most autobiographies are. Instead we hear Johnny Cash speak in reflective mood from places of real meaning to him. It comes across more as a blog than a book, written as and when he had time, reminiscing on people, places, events and drugs he knew.

Yes, drugs makes up a lot of this book. He hides no sins. He shows regrets. But, he remains the Man in Black.

And he remains a blue collar, farm-boy American. A Christian. A father. A husband. A talented man. A unique man.

This is a lovely, and easily written, way to get behind this very public man, and to see him as he was. A book for the real Johnny Cash devotee. And if you aren't one yet, go out and buy one of his Nick Rubin American recordings. Astounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cash:The Autobiography, 1 Jun 2009
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This book is really interesting and it had me gripped. Johnny is one of my all time heroes and I have read lots of books on him, but this one is written in his own words and it makes you feel he is speaking to you directly. There are lots of details about his drug fuelled days and how he always had to fight the demons of his addiction, right up until he was old. He also documents his two marriages and his encounters with other celebs and gives an insight into his family. Such a good book I will probably read it again soon - a must for Cash fans everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A humbling read..., 12 Oct 2006
By 
J. Barnett "jimbob0802" (W.Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Having only been fully introduced to the musical genius of Johnny Cash since his death, I was eager to explore the man in more depth.

This autobiography is more than I could have hoped for. Containing tales of hope, struggle, ambition, self-destruction and redemption, Cash articulates his life reflectively, revealing his opinions and beliefs in a prose that ties the present to the past. He talks fondly of family and colleagues, presenting a humility and honesty that resonates to the reader.

In particular, I found the stories of Cash's drug addiction intriguing, dark and astonishing at the same time. The drug-induced incidents he describes are articulated with amazing clarity...sometimes in direct contrast to events which can be considered non-essential to the overall picture.

By the end of the book, my impression of Cash is of someone who has found contentment in religion and family, and is riding the wave of new-found popularity in his career. The gratitude Cash feels for this contentment is clear, and ultimately provides the book with a humility characteristic of the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cash: The Autobiography
Cash: The Autobiography by Johnny Cash (Paperback - 3 April 2000)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews