Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling.
This novel is set in the author's native Albania, in its bleak and fierce High Plateau. In the early 20th century the writ of central government does not run up there, and the mountain communities live by their own centuries-old law, the Kanun, which regulates every aspect of their lives. In particular, this code regulates and indeed insists upon blood-feuds. Every...
Published on 24 April 2005 by Ralph Blumenau

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grim tale
Grim scenery, grim situation, sometimes grotesque, Broken April is not for enjoyment. If this is an allegory about communist Albania, I missed the symbolism - this book left me cold.
Published 14 months ago by michele


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Broken April, 20 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Broken April (Paperback)
Having recently made a very brief visit to Albania, I met a delightful local guide who recommended this book, one which I never might have chosen to read. However, I was fascinated by the social background and the feuding which was an integral part of society, so I was inspired to read this novel. Not only is Kadare an excellent writer but he brings the landscape alive and against this harsh backdrop, it is easier to understand how the country became cut off from those surrounding it. Even the main character in the novel is deeply and permanently affected by her journey through the countryside of her own land. A truly intriguing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grim tale, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken April (Kindle Edition)
Grim scenery, grim situation, sometimes grotesque, Broken April is not for enjoyment. If this is an allegory about communist Albania, I missed the symbolism - this book left me cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An atmospheric journey in the land of the bloodfeud. Albania, 18 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Broken April (Paperback)
Ismail Kadare is a Southern Albanian, and in Broken April his Alter Ego journeys into Northern Albania with his newly-wed for a testing honeymoon among the Ghegs who still live by the code of the Kanun. The Kanun places honour and hospitality above all else and and an insult to another man can lead to a bloodfeud between the respective families. Kadare follows one man's involvement as he does his duty by killing a man who killed his brother. In doing so, he forfeits his own life and is granted only 30 days of protection by the laws of the kanun. 'Not enough to see out the month of April'. I enjoyed my first Kadare book. He creates very well the atmosphere of Ghegeria, where the kanun enjoys soveriegnty over the laws of King Zog in Tirana. The haunting doubts and silent musings of its characters gives it a Kafkaesque quality at times, although it left me feeling rather empty and unsatisfied. Perhaps any Western reader is going to to leave a book which deals with such alien ethics puzzled and slightly fazed. Have they just read a fable, novel or true story?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting.., 2 Oct 2014
This review is from: Broken April (Kindle Edition)
Perfect atmospheric writing..brilliantly conceived tale...quite moving and thought-provoking. Conjuring scenes and emotions buried...leaves a lingering feeling after reading. Sparsely written at times delivering brutal blows laced with subtle irony and veiled humour .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it downáa, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken April (Paperback)
A great read. A must read for any holiday in Albania
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Albanian novel, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken April (Paperback)
A strange world - beautifully depicted. A moving story and a story within a story - exotic but psychologically recognizable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken April
Broken April by Ismail Kadare (Paperback - 3 Oct 1991)
Used & New from: £39.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews