Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is an indispensable must for all Sharpe`s comrades
This book stands on it`s own merit as an indispensable reference book, not only taking the reader through the sixteen or so Sharpe novels. But as an easy readable insight into Sharpe`s many battles and characters real and fictional. The Maps although on the small side add to the readers enjoyment of Sharpe`s adventures. The illustrations are both hand drawn and...
Published on 15 Nov 2000

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book lost in post!
This was a huge disappointment. Having planned a tour of Portugal and Spain around some of the battlefields described in the Sharpe novels, and therefore in The Sharpe Companion, I ordered a copy of this (now rare) book thru Amazon and their supplier and asked for it to be delivered to a UK address so I could pick it up in two weeks' time, rather than sending it to...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by normbay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is an indispensable must for all Sharpe`s comrades, 15 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
This book stands on it`s own merit as an indispensable reference book, not only taking the reader through the sixteen or so Sharpe novels. But as an easy readable insight into Sharpe`s many battles and characters real and fictional. The Maps although on the small side add to the readers enjoyment of Sharpe`s adventures. The illustrations are both hand drawn and reproduced from various sources and will add to the enjoyment of new and old readers of Richard Sharpe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent companion to the Sharpe novels, 11 July 2001
By 
B. M. Rockey "Colonel Trumpet Windsock" (Wokingham, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
What an incredible job Mark Adkin has done in summarising each of the Sharpe novels, and providing a fascinating insite into the campaigns and military life at this time. I have almost completed all of the novels, and would recommend that each chapter of this book relating to a particular Sharpe novel is read after reading the novel or else the plot is blown! Before reading the Companion I thought Bernard Cornwell had done a good job of informing me about the Napoleonic period, but Mark Adkin includes even more details about the day to day life of soldiering. I thoroughly recommend the book to all Richard Sharpe enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What About the Rest?, 26 Mar 2003
By 
C. G. Benger "Blueteach" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
This is a superb companion to the Sharpe series of books, setting them into historical perspective. It does not purport to retell the stories; if you have read them, you will remember them from the descriptions given.
The only problem I have is that Cornwell has written more Sharpe novels since the companion was compiled and will presumably write more. So, will there be another companion?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have companion, 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
I keep this book within reach as I read the exploits of Richard Sharpe. The book has detailed information about Cornwell's series and tremendous background information. I hope the author plans to update this grand companion to include the books written since this one was published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
Mr. Adkins books are always good value and this one and it,s predecessor are no exception. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and the Sharpe books these fulfill a much needed add-on , The author takes each book and gives background details to set the scene in the campaigns in the Peninsula War. It,s apparent that a lot of thought and research has gone into these books , although I was surprised to read that the 2nd battalion of the 44th captured an eagle at Salamanca, as I understood it the only British unit who gained this distinction was the 87th Prince of Wales Own Irish at Barossa. The only critisism i could make is in the size of some of the maps, although if you can scan them then resize it,s problem solved. I,ve been looking for this book for some time and could,nt get it but managed to buy it 2nd hand thro Amazon and at a considerable discount.To sum up -highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
a good read for all Sharpe enthusiasts full of information filling in the gaps from the series. a very informative read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sharpe Companion, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
Fantastic detail regarding everything Sharpe. Battle formation and description, uniforms, battalions, weapons,,,,,,when reading one feels as if he/she is surrounded by the enemy, deafened by the noise from canons, clashing weaponry and the screaming of dying soldiers.This book is full of Sharpe information, his life,loves,friends,enemies.....one has to read it to actually know what I am talking about !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sharpe Companion, 9 July 2010
By 
J. Warren (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sharpe Companion: A detailed historical and military guide to Bernard Cornwell's bestselling series of Sharpe novels (Paperback)
The title of the book says it all. Anyone who has read the Sharpe books, in my opinion, this is a must. I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts everything into historical prospective., 1 Dec 1999
By A Customer
A great read for those who saw the TV series or read the books. Read on its own or as you read the series of books. The battles are brought to life with the facts and fiction in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for all fans of Richard Sharpe, 25 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Excellent, Superb, Fantastic.
It really is a shame that Richard Sharpe could not read because he really would have enjoyed this book.
Well researched and well written. An easy read. A True Companion to anyone who enjoys the Sharpe Series.
Go on, treat yourself. You will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews