Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets hope the light lasts
I read this years ago, and recently found it again. It is a really dark book with typical Christy twists and turns in every plot. Even if you dont like the Poirot and Marple novels this collection of short stories will become a staple on your regular reads list. A real classic.
Published on 11 Jun 2005 by vickwilliams

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for Christie fans only
Being a big fan of Agatha Christie (even my cats are called Tommy & Tuppence!), I expected to enjoy this collection. However, I'm afraid I found it a little disappointing. While some of the stories were near to her usual standard, it seemed to me that some of the others had only been included as padding.

The stories contained in this collection are:-...
Published on 25 Sep 2011 by FictionFan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets hope the light lasts, 11 Jun 2005
This review is from: While the Light Lasts (Paperback)
I read this years ago, and recently found it again. It is a really dark book with typical Christy twists and turns in every plot. Even if you dont like the Poirot and Marple novels this collection of short stories will become a staple on your regular reads list. A real classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie - While the Light Lasts | Review, 4 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: While the Light Lasts (Paperback)
While the Light Lasts is an excellent collection of some of Agatha Christie's finest short stories, all of which were previously published between 1923 and 1932, during one of Christie's most prolific and commercially successful periods. Each of these stories is worth reading on literary merit alone, but some are more interesting than others.

Manx Gold, in particular, stands out as one of Christie's more interesting pieces, written on commission for the Isle of Man. The story contains coded references to the locations of four snuffboxes that were actually hidden on the island, each of which contained a voucher for £100 - quite a lot of money at the time, and hardly to be sneezed at today.

Crossovers like these are rare for even the most inventive of writers, but it's unusual for Christie to have taken on such an ambitious undertaking. But while Manx Gold might be interesting because of its real-life crossover, the rest of the stories should not be overlooked - Christie is a fantastic writer, and this collection is a subtle reminder of why they call her the Queen of Crime. Excellent work, from the pen of a legendary great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a BRILLIANT collection of Christie short stories, 23 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: While the Light Lasts (Paperback)
A brilliant collection of short stories from the master of mystery and suspense. I couldn't put this down until I had read the whole lot. A wonderful treat for any Agatha Christie fan and a nice introduction to the author for a new comer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christies darker side, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christie is one of my favourite authors and I make no bones about the fact I love my Poirot and Marple. This is a collection of short stories, they are quite dark and I think they reflect Agathas deeper less known side. Perhaps even the side that would have written todays horror if she had lived in this era. I liked them and enjoyed the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for Christie fans only, 25 Sep 2011
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a big fan of Agatha Christie (even my cats are called Tommy & Tuppence!), I expected to enjoy this collection. However, I'm afraid I found it a little disappointing. While some of the stories were near to her usual standard, it seemed to me that some of the others had only been included as padding.

The stories contained in this collection are:-

The House of Dreams - a mild horror story
The Actress - a story about blackmail and revenge
The Edge - a story about twisted love and guilt
Christmas Adventure - a Poirot story about a stolen gem
The Lonely God - a romance
Manx Gold - a treasure hunt round the Isle of Man
Within a Wall - destructive love
The Mystery of the Baghdad Chest - another Poirot, this time a murder mystery
While the Light Lasts - tragic love with an African setting

The collection as a whole is of interest in showing Christie's development and her forays into romance and horror writing, but none of the stories could be classed as great and some, particularly Manx Gold, are quite poor. I would be sorry if any newcomers to Christie's work were to judge her on the basis of this collection. Much better to read one of the well-known novels instead - I would recommend Death on the Nile for Poirot, The Moving Finger for Miss Marple or get to know the real Tommy & Tuppence in The Secret Adversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another classic, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Stella Houghton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a wonderfull mind she must have had shame there will be no more of her books,she was so wonderfull in the way they were written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Ann Willan "windytowers" (redditch u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you want to hear the creepy side of saint agatha ,this recording is for you , short stories that are perfect for dark nights not a horror but just creepy and some times unnerving , and is read vey well with feeling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 19 Mar 2014
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha never fails to keep me interested. Another brilliant book of short stories and another five stars. Recommended to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie fan, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While the Light Lasts (Paperback)
I purchased this for my daughter who is an avid Agatha Christie fan, a good bedside read, and one she hadn't read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most of the stories were great but some a bit boring and pointless I prefer her novels I think. Each to their own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

While the Light Lasts (The Agatha Christie Collection)
While the Light Lasts (The Agatha Christie Collection) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 18 Aug 2011)
£9.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews