Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poirot
Poirot's Early Cases are fairly short mysteries for the famous Hercule Poriot but there are eighteen stories read by David Suchet (Poriot) & Hugh Fraser (Captain Hastings).

These stories are spread over 7 discs the total running time is almost 9 nine hours which is great for a very long trip. Any Agatha Christie fan will enjoy these short stories and Poirot fan...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by M. G. Hatfield

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
The summary as written on line prepared one for this book. No great surprises. Enjoyable to read if this is your taste in literature
Published on 27 Oct 2012 by pat neale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poirot, 22 Oct 2009
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Poirot's Early Cases are fairly short mysteries for the famous Hercule Poriot but there are eighteen stories read by David Suchet (Poriot) & Hugh Fraser (Captain Hastings).

These stories are spread over 7 discs the total running time is almost 9 nine hours which is great for a very long trip. Any Agatha Christie fan will enjoy these short stories and Poirot fan will like hearing about his early years.

Poirot's Early Cases have been out on Casstte but I think CD's are better more portable and never loses sound qaulity and can be played anywhere, anytime if you have some of the most famous stoires this is your next buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stories to read and re-read, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Affodell "Affodell" (French Basque Country) - See all my reviews
Crime stories must be one of my preferred genres, and I have recently taken to reading Agatha Christie, maybe to pass the time until David Suchet et al have finally finished filming every last Poirot story.

Although some of the tales grate a little with their rather formulaic style, the gathering together at the end of all the suspects, so mocked by many since, seems entirely fitting for a character like Poirot who considers himself the best detective in the world. He needs an audience!

The Christie stories stay in my mind, unlike many modern crime novels which I have downloaded; they are easy to read and, although there is violence and murder, there is no gore or finely detailed butchery.

This volume contains the following stories: The Affair at the Victory Ball; The Adventure of the Clapham Cook; The Cornish Mystery; The Adventure of Johnny Waverley; The Double Clue; The king of Clubs; The Lemesurier Inheritance; The Lost Mine; The Plymouth Express; The Chocolate Box; The Submarine Plans (also published as The Incredible Theft); The Third Floor Flat; Double Sin; The Market Basing Mystery; Wasps Nest; The Veiled Lady; Problem at Sea; How Does Your Garden Grow?

Unfortunately for me, I already had all these stories in Hercule Poirot: the Complete Short Stories! The giveaway was possibly in the title - "complete"! I have the book, a big fat one which I have to hold carefully so as not to break the spine, but it is also available on kindle. More happily, I realised this in time to ask Amazon for a refund, which was immediate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely light fare, 10 Jan 2006
By 
Sophie Masson (Armidale, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poirot's Early Cases (Poirot) (Hardcover)
The first of Poirot's cases, and though not as detailed and textured as later ones, these stories are hugely enjoyable, with that light touch, sharp intelligence and touches of deft humour that are charateristic of Christie, plus settings of wonderfully fruity extravagance. Lots of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good recordings, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my Mum as one of her Christmas presents and she loved it. Recordings are of excellent quality, and its David Suchet and Hugh Fraser from the TV shows doing all the voices. Well worth the money, and a great present for any 'Poirot' fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent easy listening, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
18 short stories on 7 CDs read by David Suchet (Poirot) and Hugh Fraser (Hastings). David Suchet *is* Poirot to many, and his reading of Poirot is excellent, although hearing him refer to himself as Hastings was slightly strange at first. Hugh Fraser acquits himself equally well, and his imitation of Philip Jackson's Chief inspector Japp made me laugh out loud!

A thoughly entertaining and enjoyable listen. If you've enjoyed the TV series and are thinking of listening to the audio books, I recommend starting with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, as always, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you Agatha you never ceased to entertain and conceal right to the end. Pity you cannot write any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 Feb 2014
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Poirot and this book didn't disappoint. The genius of Agatha Christie never fails to keep one interested.5 star work of art and recommended to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha Christie, great writer, great stories, will get round to reading them all in order.
so many books and so little time to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A KIND OF PREQUEL!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to have a look at Poirots very early years, although whatever the date they are always a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Agatha Christie, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These short stories introduce the qualities and foibles of the exquisite Belgian detective in well crafted expositions of his extraordinary instincts and skills. An excellent book to read in short intervals although it is tempting to read several at a time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poirot's Early Cases (Poirot)
Poirot's Early Cases (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 20 Aug 2009)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews