Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping plot
When I started this book, I was a bit disappointed, thinking it would be another murder mystery. However, having recently read several other murder mysteries by AC, I found this story a refreshing change and a wonderful introduction to the world of spy adventures - and this really is some adventure. Don't write it off because it is not what you expect from Christie. I...
Published on 11 July 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Agatha Christie without Miss Marple and Hercule.
A readable book but not one of Agatha Christie's best efforts. A good story line and an easy read but a bit corny!
Published 14 months ago by Mrs. C. Beavers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping plot, 11 July 2005
By A Customer
When I started this book, I was a bit disappointed, thinking it would be another murder mystery. However, having recently read several other murder mysteries by AC, I found this story a refreshing change and a wonderful introduction to the world of spy adventures - and this really is some adventure. Don't write it off because it is not what you expect from Christie. I think it has opened up a whole new avenue of reading to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADVENTUROUS FUN, 24 Jun 1998
By A Customer
As usual, when Christie boots Poirot and Mrs. Marple, you're in for an adventurous and fun book. It all starts when a harried detective stops a girl from committing suicide and asks her to step in the place of a dead woman in order to solve a mystery. From then on you have mayhem, danger, and sweeping romance. Trust me, this is a great book--especially if you're a little bored and depressed yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY INTERESTING, 23 Jun 1998
By A Customer
It's nice to take a break from Poirot and Marple. Usually, when Christie gets away from her usual detectives, you get a story that has plenty of adventure and a much more interesting story. A harried detective sends a girl ready to commit suicide on on a hunt for some murderers...dressed up like a dead woman. Needless to say, your heart is racing thru-out the whole thing. Buy it, especially if you feel bored or rather depressed yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric spy mystery, 27 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not your usual tea, cakes and the vicar Agatha Christie story - but then not many of them are. She liked to use her experiences travelling in the Middle East and around the world. I can imagine her sitting in a hotel looking around at the other guests: suppose that archetypal Englishwoman was really an agent of MI6? And that plump American lady was in the pay of Them? That shrivelled but distinguished old man - perhaps he is so rich that he really runs the world, or thinks he does. Or would like to. Those tweedy young men claiming to be archaeologists: are they really on the trail of Him? Christie knew a lot of tweedy young archaeologists (she married one) in Iran and Syria in the 30s. Perhaps they were really spies too? This story, like They Came to Baghdad, is reminiscent of John Buchan at his best. The chilling atmosphere of the Unit is brilliantly imagined, and the types, briefly sketched in, who flourish in institutions and love to be part of a System. "Ah, Mr. Bond, come in, I have been expecting you ... " The swivel chair swings round to reveal the mastermind - Agatha Christie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good non-Poirot/Marple story, 15 April 2000
By A Customer
Spies, espionage, double-cross, plenty of mystery but no murder!
More action than a usual Agatha Christie novel, this book keeps you gripped even without Poirot or Marple. A great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emilia Fox is a great reader, 16 May 2008
I love this book. It is nothing but gripping and full of unexpected changes. I got the book and also the audiobook read by Emilia Fox. I always liked her as an actress but I was surprised to know she could read so well and make the the reader put a name( and a face) on each voice she is doing for each character in the plot. I truly recommend this audiobook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination Unknown (Hardcover)
One of my all-time favourite of Ms Christie's books. Brilliant escapism. A great heroine, on a great adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 8 Jun 2014
By 
robdew_72@yahoo.com (Farnborough, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute better of a read when I got into it. But different to the normal Poor or but certainly well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different Christie, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite typical, but recognisably Agatha Christie. Flaws are there if you look, but just enjoy the story. Old fashioned of course, look at the date it was written: I particularly like the line "you always have a wait at airports" when they boarded a plane a mere half hour after arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Destination Unknown, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best but a read you can put down and pick up later. Just Too easy to work out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destination Unknown (Agatha Christie Collection)
Destination Unknown (Agatha Christie Collection) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews