Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unchanged by Time?
This book will leave you begging for more. From the first pages of the first Farseer series I was well and truly hooked. Hobb's writing style, putting the whole story in the first person, we see what he sees and little else, makes it all the more personal, and captivating.
At the end of the first series I was left hanging, and this book was a great comeback to...
Published on 4 Nov. 2001

versus
19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expecting too much?
Robin Hobb (aka Megan Lindholm) returns to the character whom most of her readers' love most - FitzChivalry Farseer. Her latest novel is again written from the first person perspective, but I couldn't help feeling that something was lacking.
Fitz is fifteen years older than when we left him at the conclusion of "The Farseer", and ostensibly wiser. Or so he...
Published on 8 Oct. 2001 by Andrew Fong


‹ Previous | 113 14 1521 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fools errand, 5 Dec. 2013
Really good read, couldn't put the book down, recommended!! Can't wait to read the follow on book, a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gold amongst all the dross on offer in these days of mediocrity. A saga to sink into not skim over,real depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read!!, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great story that continues to keep you wanting to read more. Will have to get straight on with book2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gift for mum, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fool's Errand (The Tawny Man Trilogy, Book 1) (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for my mum- she loves it, and most of Robin Hobbs writings - good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although it takes a while for the action to pick up it is another triumph and a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No let down!, 16 Jan. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book in The Tawny Man trilogy (before The Golden Fool, and Fool's Fate).
Fool's Errand takes place fifteen years after the events of the Red Ship Wars. Fitz, who goes by the name of Tom Badgerlock, now lives a quiet life in a remote cottage by the woods with his wolf Nighteyes and his foster son Hap, a mismatched-eyed boy brought to him years ago by Startling.
The Minstrel's visits are the only regular ones he gets, bringing him comfort but also news from the world around. The only other people he ever sees are the casual travellers stopping for shelter, such as Jinna, a hedge-witch Hap once met when Starling took him to Buckkeep for Springfest.
But all of a sudden his former life comes knocking at the door, when one day the visitor turns out to be Chade. Fitz's old secret mentor, now the queen's counsellor, asks Fitz to return to Buckkeep to teach the Skill to Prince Dutiful, Queen Kettricken's son and heir to the Farseer throne, and to Nettle, his own daughter, whom he's never met. But at first, although well-knowing he's the only remaining person trained in the Skill, Fitz refuses to go.
Weeks go by, and during that time Hap, a teenager now, says he wants to find an apprenticeship. Of course Fitz wants the best master for him, but ashamedly realizes he hasn't put any money aside for this day. Hap has no choice but to leave and find jobs to pay for his apprenticeship.
And while Hap's gone, Fitz gets another unexpected visitor: the Fool, whose colour has changed to a tawny gold, is now a very well-respected, if a tad excentric Jamaillian nobleman known in Buckkeep as Lord Golden. All summer they make up for lost time by talking about their youth together and about what happened in their lives since they parted fifteen years ago. Slowly Fitz picks up thread of his old life.
Until Hap returns, empty-handed. But soon Fitz has news from Buckkeep: Chade is calling for help, as Dutiful has gone missing. Was the prince kidnapped by the Piebalds, a group of Witted rebels claiming that the Prince also has the Wit? Indeed, despite Kettricken's new laws, people with this magic are still being persecuted and murdered. Or did the solitary, introvert boy just run away from court duty? The prince's bethrotal with an Outislander Narcheska, to secure peace treaties, is in two-weeks' time. Something has to be done, quick. Reluctantly, but also seeing this as a good opportunity to ask Chade to help Hap in return, Fitz finally agrees to go. He sets off with the Fool, Nighteyes, and Laurel, the queen's hunstwoman and confidente.
It's weird. I think in the beginning I got the same feeling of disappointment I get each time I've been expecting something for a very long time. It can be a book, a film, or my favourite band's new album. You expect the new thing to be exactly the same as the old one, but it's not. Of course it can't be. So I was finding the story was a bit too slow, and that Fitz was worrying too much about his wolf's mortality. Moreover, I was travelling and sadly could only read Fool's Errand periodically, which made me think I was losing interest inbetween reading sessions. But the truth is, each time I picked it up again, it wasn't long before I was hooked, living the story as if I was part of it. So I grew even fonder of the Fool, or was sometimes shocked by Fitz's violent reactions, etc. In the end I realize my favourite author hasn't let me down, and this sure is one of my favourite books.
I'm very excited about what's going to happen next now, and I'm very intrigued by the feathers Fitz found on the beach. Quick, on to Golden Fool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very fast delivery., 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described. Was a gift. The person said it was brilliant and they really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robin hobb is a wonderfull author. You need to read the farseer trilogy first though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am hooked on Robin Hobbs writing. He has the knack to keep me reading his novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read his trilogies, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everyone needs to read Robin Hobbs books. Brilliant read and I'm loving Fitz story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1521 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fool's Errand (The Tawny Man Trilogy, Book 1)
Fool's Errand (The Tawny Man Trilogy, Book 1) by Robin Hobb (Hardcover - 15 Oct. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews