Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative
This is one of my favourite Sharpe's. I own all but three of the series (no wait, four, I have to get Havoc) and have read them all. This is, apart from Regiment and Eagle, my favourite book. It combines incredibly powerful and invocative description of the battle for the village, and the brilliant Light Division rescue of the 7th (i think thats right). The characters...
Published on 2 Jun 2003 by Jonathan Beer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of overly-familiar themes - deja vu?
This Sharpe is different from the Sharpe in the previous chronological novel 'Sharpe's Fury' - the 'bugger' and 'bastard' count is up, for a start. Also, Sharpe appears to have regressed in his acceptance of being an officer. In 'Fury' he (reasonably) is showing signs of sophistication as the effects of constantly rubbing shoulders with his betters takes toll of his early...
Published 19 months ago by Thomas Holt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, 2 Jun 2003
This is one of my favourite Sharpe's. I own all but three of the series (no wait, four, I have to get Havoc) and have read them all. This is, apart from Regiment and Eagle, my favourite book. It combines incredibly powerful and invocative description of the battle for the village, and the brilliant Light Division rescue of the 7th (i think thats right). The characters are all perfect, each embodying a stereotype of the era. This is the book that make you want to jump into the book and experience the battle firsthand... One of the best books i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe Starts a Vendetta, Meets a Spanish Mata Hari, and Avoids Political Threats, 15 April 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Bernard Cornwell outdoes himself in building a powerful plot to illustrate the stubbornness of the often-scarred Captain Sharpe. In many of the most complicated stories in this series, the plot seems like an attempt to fill pages. In Sharpe's Battle, the enemies are vivid, obnoxious, dangerous, and intriguing. Sharpe continually tries to do the right thing and is punished for his efforts. For me, those elements make this war story work a lot better.

French Marshal Massena has been pulling back from his failed thrust toward Lisbon. The question now becomes whether or not Viscount Wellington can march his troops into Spain. In Sharpe's Battle, Wellington chooses to besiege Almeida so that the French troops there cannot be resupplied or relieved by Massena.

As the book opens, the captured King of Spain has ordered his personal guards unit made up of exiled Irishmen to report to Wellington to fight. The troops are led by a man whose mother was famous for her support for Irish rebels. Wellington and Major Hogan are doubtful that this "gift" is anything other than a Trojan Horse designed to create problems from within.

Sharpe is leading his men across the countryside when he spots French troops murdering civilians. Two of the men stay behind to assault a girl, and Sharpe captures them. In contrast to the rules of war, Sharpe refuses to exchange them . . . having them shot instead in front of their commanding officer, Brigadier General Guy Loup, who swears revenge on Sharpe. Loup's brigade has been using terrorist tactics to offset the partisans, and Sharpe wants Loup's head as much as Loup wants Sharpe's.

Back with the army, Sharpe is assigned to "train" the new troops under the leadership of timid Wagon Master General Runciman. Soon, the troops are deserting like rats leaving a sinking ship, but Sharpe wants more out of them. Loup senses an opportunity and decides to attach the remote camp where the royal guard is housed with massed force . . . helped by a little inside information. In the aftermath, Sharpe finds that he was become a pawn in a political game between the Spanish allies and Wellington over who will lead the combined forces into Spain.

Will Sharpe be able to escape from the claws of the factions?

The book culminates in an absolutely thrilling account of the battle of Fuentes de Onoro which featured an uncharacteristic mistake by Wellington, some remarkable soldiering, and unbelievable hand-to-hand combat within a village on a hillside.

The book ends with some remarkable ironies that will leave you thinking for some time to come.

This book features great writing and an thoroughly engaging story to test all aspects of Sharpe's mettle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vivid tale of battle and honour, 27 Aug 2001
By 
K. MCPOLIN "HIFI Fan" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my first Richard Sharpe novel and I had high expectations following the TV series which I really enjoyed. I wasn't disappointed. Cornwell does an excellent job of weaving the story into a real battle and the villaineous Captain Loup jumps from the page. Compulsive reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of overly-familiar themes - deja vu?, 29 April 2013
This Sharpe is different from the Sharpe in the previous chronological novel 'Sharpe's Fury' - the 'bugger' and 'bastard' count is up, for a start. Also, Sharpe appears to have regressed in his acceptance of being an officer. In 'Fury' he (reasonably) is showing signs of sophistication as the effects of constantly rubbing shoulders with his betters takes toll of his early rough and ready persona. Here, we return to the surly and resentful Sharpe. We also have a return to Sharpe Superhero - turning the tide of a battle. What seems to have happened is that the author, dedicating this book to Sean Bean, has decided to make his hero more in the mould of Bean's portrayal of the character on telly.

This novel introduces two potentially very strong characters - Loup, the leader of the French Wolf Brigade, and a Mata Hari type female with a fondness for skin-tight male military uniforms. Sharpe has sex with the latter, but just once - she's not really his type and has zero sex appeal. Loup is a thoroughly bad person, with no redeeming features. This makes him very one-dimensional, and one waits eagerly for his inevitable demise at the hands of our hero - to avoid the tedium of having to read about him any more. The literary potential of both these characters is utterly wasted; they should both be terrifying but one is simply boring and the other too ridiculous to be taken seriously. There is also an initially unidentified spy who is trying to forment rebellion in the considerable Irish contingent of Wellington's forces. Sadly, it is fairly obvious who this is from the beginning; in fact, on the basis of unnecessary prominence it is hardly a secret at all. Oh, and in case you're wondering, there is the usual complete fool of a senior officer who is threatening to Sharpe by virtue of his superior upbringing. But don't worry, Sharpe's Luck will no doubt win through. The battle scene at the end of the book is exciting enough, but even that tends to go on a bit. In his 'Historical Note' the author refers to the Battle of Feuntes de Oñoro as a victory for Britain and her allies. This is far from the case, even Wellington did not consider it such. It was essentially a draw with both sides relieved when France withdrew, unable to exploit her numerical superiority because of lack of artillery ammo.

You know what? I'm giving up on Sharpe. Life is too short to read the same book over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuentes D'Onoro - no better account., 19 Dec 1999
By A Customer
I am a Sharpe enthusiast and have read every one of the novels from India to South America. The battle scenes are magnificent, and have evidently been meticulously researched by Mr.Cornwell. I have personally visited many of the battlefields where Sharpe and his colleagues fought, including Fuentes D'Onoro, on the Spanish/Portugese border, where "Battle" is set. Having walked up from the Dos Casas stream through the village to the Church and the ridge beyond, for me there is no more evocative Sharpe story than this one - the description of the bitter struggle up through the narrow streets is unsurpassed, as is the account of the magnificent rescue and withdrawal involving the Light Division, the 7th Division and the Horse Artillery. This is as good as it gets, and if you only ever read one Sharpe novel, this is (for me at least) the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars intriguing, 26 April 2009
By 
Omar Farid "order of choice" (from Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
having used bits and pieces of peninsular war''s resources to create sharpe's battle as well as most if not all of other sharpe novels is intriguing. in this respect, the most exciting battlefield in this novel has started on chapter 10 when the french attacked the british barraks at the church in Fuentes de onoro village which is a stratgic location which impulsed Sharpe with the help of spanish royal regiment (real compania irlandesa which is of course a good support invention from the author )to counterattack them at the village and blocked massena's march to the frontier i believe .Thereby, the last two chapters comprised detailed battle gauging , firing , and swording in the village based on rather true events but not necessarily heroic.Also, Bernard has never ceased to impress me when he used somehow a slightly some ''between the lines'' historical information such as the fact that some of the british officiers were freemasons when he insinuated that in one of the chapters and i can not imply whether there is some whys and wherefored behind this but i can say that bernard cornwell nevertheless is master of history fiction books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A swashbuckling, fast-paced, historical adventure., 8 Sep 1999
By A Customer
I have now read six books from Cornwell's 'Sharpe' series and this is one of his best. As always, beautifully researched and richly depicted battle scenes absorb the reader throughout. Captain Sharpe, born in the gutter and raised in the ranks, can only be as good as his last battle but again finds himself at the mercy of bumbling officers with an aptitude for stupidity. Clever sub-plots and convincing storytelling keep the reader intrigued, despite the inevitability of the book's ending. 'Sharpe's Battle' is easy to read and to an extent educational, but Cornwell's graphic descriptions ensure this is not one for the faint-hearted. My determination to read all the books in the series has been renewed, but as Cornwell fires them out more rapidly than our hero fires his Baker rifle there seems little chance, in the immediate future, that I will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 22 Oct 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Although back to the familiar battleground Sharpe, Cornwell again manages to come up with a new enemy who, of course, Sharpe needs to sort out. The new characters introduced in this book are some of his strongest to date, which makes you feel the hatred and passion of our down to earth hero. A good addition to the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe at his best, 18 Mar 2014
I have read all the Sharpe novels so far and this is one of my favourites and a return to form after the rather disappointing Sharpe’s Fury. The sub plot is particularly strong in this novel and the battle scenes are extremely well written.

Even as a standalone novel I believe this would be a good read but to fans of the Sharpe series I suggest this is a must read. Overall, a great novel well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe's Battle, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a devoted fan of the tv series and actually watch it every time it is on no matter how many times I have seen it. As an avid reader it was only natural that I should buy the complete set of these books and I am really looking forward to reading them, I just hope they don't let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharpe's Battle
Sharpe's Battle by Bernard Cornwell (Hardcover - 10 April 1995)
Used & New from: Ģ0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews