Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is a first class reference book, exactly what I have been searching for and was received in far better condition than was advertised. It was in such good condition that I was unable to tell if anyone had owned it before me.
Ken Rees
Published on 13 Aug 2012 by Katy

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good identification guide...
This is quite a good id-guide, and it is the only one covering quite a big part of the world.
Most of the plates are okay. There are some drawbacks however. Cinclodes and Earthcreeper species and a few other birds can hardly be identified using the pictures from this book.
The text is very short (which was intended). Unfortunately, information about voices and...
Published on 18 Nov 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good identification guide..., 18 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This is quite a good id-guide, and it is the only one covering quite a big part of the world.
Most of the plates are okay. There are some drawbacks however. Cinclodes and Earthcreeper species and a few other birds can hardly be identified using the pictures from this book.
The text is very short (which was intended). Unfortunately, information about voices and habits of birds was ommitted. But the book is small and easy to carry in a bagpack. So it is a very helpful guide when travelling to southern Latin America. But you 'll need other literature back home to solve some id-problems left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A popular, but disappointing guide, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
This is a popular book. Still the only modern guide for Argentina and the southern parts of Brazil.
The book starts with the plates and descriptions, which followed by some black-and-white plates for flying raptors, and the maps closes the book
Personally I find the illustrations disappointing. In this book it seems that all the forest eagles and hawks have the same powerful built like the Harpy Eagle (which is not true, especially for the Crested Eagle, which looks a bulky bird in this book) or you will think that the King Vulture is the smallest of the neotropical vultures (which is the largest after the Condor). Usually there are 10-15 species on one plate, which makes them very crowded.
On the positive side, the authors tried to fill the space with text, so you wont find a page which is only "half-full". In some cases the text is more useful then the pictures.
The area which is covered, still lacks a good bird book, so I still suggest to buy this. Chile is an exception, the book called Birds of Chile by Jaramillo is far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars South American Birds, 8 Oct 2003
By 
Ms Joyce A Wilson (Hemel Hempstead, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
There are only two bird books currently for such a broad expanse of country. This is the better of the two. The advantages are that it contains the wide range of birds and the descriptions and calls of the birds are accurate. The disadvantages are that some of the colours in the pictures are not quite true to life, it does not always show the bird in the most suitable position for recognition. It also has all the plates at the back which show, where you can normally find the bird. This does create a lot of going backwards and forwards if you do not know the bird. Apart from that it proved really useful on my trip in Brasil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but illustarations too small, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
Taking field guides to South America can be problematic, some countries don't have them and others are too big to carry in the field. This is an attempt to overcome this problem by having most of the species occurring in southern South America in one small book. Unfortunately this does mean compromises with the illustrations of some difficult-to-split species being too small, some species left out completely and the text very short. Nevertheless, it is a useful book as most of the countries in southern South America don't have a field guide at all at the moment (several in prep!) with the exception of the excellent Chile field guide. There are range maps at the end of the book. If you are going to southern South America this book is very useful as it is easy to carry in the field but if other country guides are available, do take them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOT HAD CHANCE TO USE IT YET, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
Great, great, great, great, great, what more can you say when you haven't had a chance to use the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good choice for my purpose, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
Pretty pictures, however not at all suitable as a field guide. Not complete, even for the city of Buenos Aires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Collins Field Guides, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
Having used Collins Guides covering various areas of the world I decided to buy this one as I am shortly going to photograph birds in Chile. These guides are only that not in depth handbooks, the beauty is they are light and easy to carry with all my other kit, and provided you are familiar with bird families it is quick to identify the particular bird. Some of the illustrations are a bit dated there better ones around, but as far as I am concerned the Collins Guides are the best. There are of course many in depth books available if you wish to study further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay but could be better, 16 Dec 2013
By 
T. Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am using this really as my sole guide to cover a three and a half month trip around southern south america. The positives are that it does a pretty good job covering a huge number of species, some detail is given, e.g found between 3000m-4000, and illustrations are on whole decent, the negatives are that some illustration are quite poor, and some are downright inaccurate, the spectacled teal doesn't show the male plumage for some reason which was slightly confusing,some species look nothing like life, e.g cliff flycatcher, another big drawback are some of the range maps, they are completely out, into just a little which is acceptable, after all its a good few years old now and the scale is very small, but some species are occurring hundreds of. Milesfrom where the book says, again this can be pretty confusing.

Saying all this though, carrying this rather than several thicker, more comprehensive guides was the best choice for me and I would still say this is a good option for the are?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
This is a first class reference book, exactly what I have been searching for and was received in far better condition than was advertised. It was in such good condition that I was unable to tell if anyone had owned it before me.
Ken Rees
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only field guide you need., 5 Sep 2011
By 
G. RAYNER (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist) (Paperback)
Brilliant idea combining Southern South America with Antarctica. It's such a common combination of destinations. On two trips covering Patagonia, Chile, Tierra del Fuego, Drake Passage, Antarctic Peninsular and the Falklands this is really the only book I needed - cuts down on baggage too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica (Illustrated Checklist) (Collins Illustrated Checklist)
17.77
Usually dispatched within 10 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews