Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb field Guide
I agree with other reviews of this that it is not a casual users book but if you want a concise but comprehensive guide to spiders in the UK with a detailed key and outstanding information on how to examine / study these species then this is the book you want. The information on needed equipment is outstanding and the species descriptions are bettered only by the superb...
Published on 2 April 2003 by Square one

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars too much
Whew - this is comprehensive but not for the casual dog walker who wants to know just a bit more. Its for somebody who wants to really really study spiders. For me I need a book with more photos- on the web and in habitat - clearer idea of scale - using common names and with a few titbits of info but there is nothing out there of that ilk! Something between spot the dog...
Published 2 months ago by Welk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collin Field Guide - Spiders of Britain & Northern Europe Michael J Roberts, 9 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide) (Hardcover)
A must have Guide, for anyone interested in British spiders. A most excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and descriptive, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide) (Hardcover)
There's no need to go on an African safari to dscover amazing wildlife - there's plenty going on in your front room or back garden. If you don't believe that, just check out the Collins Field Guide to Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe. The book is a must for anyone with more than just a passing interest in these fascinating creatures. Amazing plates and in-depth descriptions of many European spiders make this book excellent value for money. To make the most of the book, it's probably best to have an appreciation of animal biology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars spider book, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide) (Hardcover)
Bought this book thinking it would be a good picture guide for identifying spiders, the pictures are not brilliant and most of the book, about 80% seems to be about the anatomy of them etc. Also, the book does not give the spiders common names, they're all the latin scientific names. I wish i'd not bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spider identification book, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide) (Hardcover)
This book was rather a disappointment for what I needed it for - which was for my Forest School classes for primary school children.

There are no nice coloured photos or easy to understand writing .

Definitely for the more serious spider enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiders, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide) (Hardcover)
I am delighted with the book which arrived promptly and in perfect condition. I shall now be able to identify the spiders that I see.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's certainly about spiders., 5 Mar 2008
By 
R. Viney (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide) (Hardcover)
If you'd like a book about spiders, then this is probably the book for you, as it almost entirely consists of information about spiders. I don't care for spiders that much, so I didn't find it that enthralling - personally, I prefer books about donkeys.

Misses out on 5 stars due to the lack of donkey references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide)
Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe (Collins Field Guide) by Michael J. Roberts (Hardcover - 5 Nov 2001)
£20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews