Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great handbook!
Exellent guide to habitats, identification of tropical reef fishes! The size is quite handy (as handbooks should be!) and will fit perfect in any scubadiver, snorkellers bag "on the road", or in my case for the marine aquarium library. The illustrations are a work of art and covers a vast number of species >2.100. A short text introduction is followed by the...
Published on 29 Oct 2001

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good one for casual divers and snorklers
A good ID book... the drawings are a bit dodgy in parts... If you're a diver you're probably better off finding an ID book with photographs of the animals in their surroundings because this helps identification no-end. On the other hand, Collins Pocket Guide: Coral Reef Fishes has a lot of background information and makes a nice addition to the Collins Pocket Guides...
Published on 29 Dec 2002 by alasdairw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great handbook!, 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Exellent guide to habitats, identification of tropical reef fishes! The size is quite handy (as handbooks should be!) and will fit perfect in any scubadiver, snorkellers bag "on the road", or in my case for the marine aquarium library. The illustrations are a work of art and covers a vast number of species >2.100. A short text introduction is followed by the illustrations including, male, female, juvenile, geographical varieties and important idenfication characteristics on each plate. Impressive!
Snorkeller, scubadiver, marine aquarist - buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good one for casual divers and snorklers, 29 Dec 2002
A good ID book... the drawings are a bit dodgy in parts... If you're a diver you're probably better off finding an ID book with photographs of the animals in their surroundings because this helps identification no-end. On the other hand, Collins Pocket Guide: Coral Reef Fishes has a lot of background information and makes a nice addition to the Collins Pocket Guides collection. It also covers a large geographical range so if you're a bit of a globetrotter you'll find this book a good travel companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best for fish!, 17 Jun 2003
By 
Miss M I Taylor (chesterfield, derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A thorough, yet comprehensive guide to fish of the world for both beginners and the more competent! It's halped me recognise so many more fish and having great, accurate and colourful pictures makes itvery easy to browse through in five minutes, or read and study for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well packed field guide, 11 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Collins Pocket Guide - Coral Reef Fishes of the Indo-Pacific and Carribean: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Paperback)
This book is packed full of colourful illustrations to help identify species. Each fish illustrated has accompanying brief text describing its physical characteristics and a couple of lines about its usual habitat and food when known.
The text sometimes seems a little too brief, but it still a great spotters book to take on a diving holiday. It is excellent for out doing your dive buddy when trying to identify the type of fish you have seen that will easily fit in to a dry corner of a dive bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, shame about the mistakes, 26 Nov 2005
This is a good book for scuba diving, or identifying most fish. i used it over the summer identifying fish in indonesia for my dissertation. unfortunately it has a few mistakes and some species are missing, but then no book is perfect right?! luckily a friend had 'reef fish identification - tropical pacific' by Allen, Steene etc. the two together are unstopable, espcially when a photo of the fish is really what you need. If correct id is vital, either get the Allen book or both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coral reef fishes., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pleased with purchase, this will be a useful book for our holiday in the Indian Ocean and will be helpful to identify some of the fishes we hope to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to Coral Reef Fish, 17 Aug 2013
By 
M. Saxby (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Pocket Guide - Coral Reef Fishes of the Indo-Pacific and Carribean: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Paperback)
A dive centre in Mauritius had a tatty, much used copy of this and it was great for identifying all the fish we saw.

Sadly it's out of print, but Amazon marketplace came up trumps with a mint copy and it has been great for identifying some of the fish I photographed on my trip.

This book really should be re-printed as it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was really pleased with this book. Arrived as described and is an excellent guide to identifying 1000s of fish when I go snorkelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Pocket Guide - Coral Reef Fishes of the Indo-Pacific and Carribean: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean
Used & New from: £2.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews