Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter book for newbie astronomers, 17 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my husband who has just started to take an interest in astronomy. It's a great book packed with lots of facts on the planets and constellations, and not too expensive. Good for reference when you spot a constellation you haven't seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Stars and Planets, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this for my husband who has always been interested in astronomy, and I also bought him a telescope for Christmas, so this was part of the package. He has found it very helpful to acquire further knowledge about the Solar System.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of information, 31 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my nephew, who has just started star-gazing, so I haven't actually read it properly myself. However, a brief appraisal suggests that it has plenty of information, diagrams, etc, to put a new astronomer on the right track. Written by Patrick Moore should be enough reassurance that it will be accurate and practical.
Especially at the price, seems a very good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stars, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book at a great price. I can Recommend it to all who want to start up in astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seeing stars, 2 Oct 2011
An absolutely delightful and informative book.Well written and laid out ,a joy to use and a valuable reference book that will seldom be put back on its shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, information packed, guide, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Andrew Johnston (Wigton, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great little guide - packed with useful information but very accessible. Perfect as an introduction to star gazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as present so only skimmed, 16 Jan 2013
By 
P. Storey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks a very comprehensive little book with nice images and quality pages.
Author 2nd to none (Sir Patrick Moore RIP)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars telescope companion, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought a telescope I find this book a good source of information in relation to the wonders of the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent value for the serious students of the stars and planets. Written by the only man who can explain detailed facts in simple everyday language. He will be sadly missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Little DSO Buddy, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm already familiar with the 'theory' stuff about space, so haven't read any of it - but anything Patrick Moore produced was gold standard, so I'll assume this is too. My practical knowledge of actually getting outside and finding stuff is a little bit lacking, so I use this mainly alongside a planisphere for locating Deep Sky Objects - the Messiers and NGCs.

For that, it's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guide to Stars and Planets (Collins Field Guide)
Guide to Stars and Planets (Collins Field Guide) by Ian Ridpath (Paperback - 29 Nov 1984)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews