Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know Michael Owen
It's really difficult to write a review on a book written by your Idol. Anything in the book is interesting and pleasant to read if you are his fan. I don't think any Owen fan will miss it - the more I know about Owen, the more I like him both as a person and as a footballer. It's hard to find somebody like him in this modern world of football.
I wish Owen all the...
Published on 12 Dec 2004

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A rather dull autobiography.
Michael Owen, a fantastic footballer who is on course to be one of the highest achievers in English football, which is why a book of his achievements so far should be a great read. Sadley it's not. His background and his jouney into the professional game is intresting, as it gives an insight into his born ability with a football as well as his focused personality helping...
Published on 4 Sep 2006 by J. DRYDEN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know Michael Owen, 12 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Michael Owen: Off the Record (Hardcover)
It's really difficult to write a review on a book written by your Idol. Anything in the book is interesting and pleasant to read if you are his fan. I don't think any Owen fan will miss it - the more I know about Owen, the more I like him both as a person and as a footballer. It's hard to find somebody like him in this modern world of football.
I wish Owen all the luck and great success in his years in Spain. Despite all the problems, large and small, I firmly believe that he will not return to any English Club in the near future (say not until he reaches 30!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A rather dull autobiography., 4 Sep 2006
By 
J. DRYDEN (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Michael Owen, a fantastic footballer who is on course to be one of the highest achievers in English football, which is why a book of his achievements so far should be a great read. Sadley it's not. His background and his jouney into the professional game is intresting, as it gives an insight into his born ability with a football as well as his focused personality helping to keep his feet on the ground. However, from the moment he makes his Liverpool debut, the book just becomes details of fact about his achivements, and insignificant fact at that. Who wants to read about goals he's scored or set-up in fairly unimportant games? He also tries to justify and compare himself to other players, such as Robbie Fowler, too often. That said, his views on Kevin Keegan, Glenn Hoddle and Sven Goran Errikson provide an intresting comparison on the England manager's he's worked with. The chapter on his gambling 'problem' also sets the record straight. All in all this book crambs in too much insignicant topics, probably because he's only half way through his career meaning he is unable to fully express his opinions on certain people. Another classic example of why sports personalities should wait until the end of their career's to publish their life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my son who is a real Michael Owen supporter so he loved it. Was in good condition and arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Owen Off the record, 18 Feb 2009
By 
J. K. Sutton (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my 12 year old son who is a fanatical Liverpool fan and also likes Michael Owen. He has really enjoyed reading it, I would recommend this book and say that it is suitable for youngsters as well as older readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 31 Aug 2004
This review is from: Michael Owen: Off the Record (Hardcover)
want to learn more about Michael owen the read this book. it tells you every thing you will ever want to and need to know about his life on and off the pitch. the book begins with his childhood and develops into the present and what he wants to do in the future. this is a must read for any big michael owen fan like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Owen off the record, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived in good time as it was bought as a gift. A good read if you are into the football game or like autobiographies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Owen: Off the Record
Michael Owen: Off the Record by Michael Owen (Hardcover - 23 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews