Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best football autobiography I've read
Someone bought me a copy of this for Christmas, and although I'm not an Arsenal fan I've always admired Tony Adams so I was happy to read it. It's as brutal and frank as everyone says, and it also made me look at myself and some of my friends in terms of the way we act with sport, competition and alcohol. Details of how TA found any excuse to drink alcohol, be it...
Published on 7 May 2006 by Matty

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual football biography, not an unusual story.
Okay, admire the man, he's got bottle, he's sensitive, he's a fantastic defender, but, his story is still no different to every other alcoholics. He lives his life for a while not caring about anything or anyone else, staring out at a destorted world from the inside of a pint glass. Thinking only of the next drink and where it's going to come from.
Okay, so he...
Published on 4 Feb. 2000 by parkins@cardiff.ac.uk


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best football autobiography I've read, 7 May 2006
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
Someone bought me a copy of this for Christmas, and although I'm not an Arsenal fan I've always admired Tony Adams so I was happy to read it. It's as brutal and frank as everyone says, and it also made me look at myself and some of my friends in terms of the way we act with sport, competition and alcohol. Details of how TA found any excuse to drink alcohol, be it celebrating, drowning sorrows or whatever, made me realise how close many of us are to slipping down the same route. After reading this and being totally blown away by it, I picked up autobiographys by Dennis Wise, Harry Redknapp, Chris Waddle, Ian Wright, Paolo DiCanio and Bobby Robson. All interesting in their own way, but in comparison to this they fell way short. Wright, DiCanio and Wise in particular just prattle on about how great they are, and how everyone else had it in for them for no reason. Unlike TA they are unable to accept that they have any flaws. It's that brutal honesty and self assessment that makes this book rise above the rest. I'll be reading it again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Tony Adams, 25 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
...I myself however found the book a good read on two levels. Firstly the football 'gossip' that was of interest, but also, and this is what really kept me reading, the honesty displayed by Tony Adams.
He goes into great detail and explanation about the addictions he faced, how they all but destroyed everything he had, and how he turned it around. From a psychological point of view alone, this book warrants a 5 star rating. I began to understand how we get addicted and also how to beat that addiction. That something can take over your life to the detriment of everything else.
He showed himself to be an intelligent, articulate man, and I myself certainly have a completely different view of him that he once displayed through his own drunken antics and the media coverage that came from that.
Adams is well worthy of any praise he receives, given he now uses the knowledge illustrated in the book to help other sportsmen in similar situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brutally honest account of a life transformed, 28 April 2003
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
Football fan or not, Arsenal fan or not, Addicted is worth reading for anyone who wishes to gain an insight into the world of addiction.
This book is like a punch in the solar plexus. Adams bares his soul through page after page, detailing the self-loathing of a man hooked on competing, but for whom life outside the game becomes a nightmare. Unable to cope with the boredom of days off, unable to face the real self which lay behind the public persona, and unable to find a way to live a stable, reasonable life when not on a pitch, Adams' descent into a shameless, alcohol-infused hell is spelt out in the starkest detail. It is gripping stuff, in the way that watching an accident happen before your eyes is gripping. You can't tear yourself away from the story, which unfolds quickly before your eyes.
Yet thankfully this is also a happy end book, in which the seeds of Adams' new life are sown and begin to grow. Talking through his experiences and sharing them with other alcoholics, Adams grows from the ugly, angry, competitive caterpillar into a cultured butterfly – university student, crtic; it's as if his life has opened up, from one facet to many.
This book can surely give hope to all those whose opinion of themselves is far too harsh and critical; it shows that we are never too young to learn, to turn away from the "dark" towards the light of human achievement, and that life is not about pursuing one or two obsessions to the detriment of everything else.
Adams has paid a heavy price for his addiction, losing a marriage and losing the memories of some fantastic sporting achievements along the way, but in this well-written book it is clear that he is far from finished. I predict him to manage Arsenal to a string of titles when Arsène hangs up his clipboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Call Him Donkey, 12 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
'Addicted' is a thoroughly enjoyable read, Tony Adams delivers one of the most engaging and brutally honest autobiographies in print. In many autobiographies, particularly those of footballers, the subjects are often at pains to portray themselves in a good light, skirt over indefendable controversies and pass the blame for their failings, this is not the case with 'Addicted'. Charting his descent into alcoholism, detailing his beliefs and thought processes of the time, with somewhat staggering honesty. The book really allows the reader a sense of the man, then in his darkest days, and also of the recovering athlete re-enagaing with his first love. Some readers may feel there to be too much space and detail afforded to match descriptions and routine footballing information, however this serves to highlight the incredible acheivements and longevity of his career whilst all the while abusing his body to extreme levels. 'Addicted' is essential reading for football fans, and in fact anyone as it encourages self evaluation through its brutal honesty whilst charting the career of one of Englands finest defenders, which also consequently renders the subject, former England captain Tony Adams both intriguing and endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted, 5 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
I believe this book led the way for autobiographies to be more open and honest about the writer themselves and Tony Adams certainly achieved that with his honest admission of being an alcholic made compelling reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 21 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
If you're an Arsenal fan this is suberb as it details so many important games for Adams, which are also mostly important games for Arsenal. The detail he goes into is good if you need to brush up on your trivia of an Arsenal legend. But this books strongest point is the blunt honesty of a recovering alcoholic who battles bigger problems then marking the likes of Alan Shearer and Eric Cantona. This book is very moving for anyone who isnt even a football fan as it is about a human being getting over everyday problems, the only difference is he is famous which only made it harder to admit and overcome as he was the leader of one of Europes biggest football clubs. A good player and a better person for what he went through, frank and honest from start to end, hard to put down once you start reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A No Holds Barred Account of a Great Footballer's Weakness for the Amber Nectar, 9 Sept. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
I'm a life long Arsenal supporter and I was always a fan of Tony Adams, particularly his strong work ethic and dominating presence on the football pitch, which these days seems to be mirrored by very few defenders, obviously John Terry springs to mind, and possibly Vincent Kompany. This is very much a heart on the sleeve book, Tony is brutally honest about his long term battle with alcohol, and how he would look for any excuse to sink a few pints, whether it be to celebrate something, forget something, moan about something, and so on. He does not sugarcoat his personality, and he is not boastful about his impressive professional achievements, unlike some footballers who have issued autobiographies. I read Dennis Bergkamp's autobiography quite recently, which makes quite a contrast with Tony's story. The Bergkamp book is very analytical about coaching techniques and tactics, and discusses backroom football politics, whilst Tony's tale is far more down to earth, talking about his drink fuelled escapades with the likes of Steve Bould and Paul Merson. A good read but quite sad really, it certainly makes you think about your own attitude to booze. Whenever Gazza makes one of his sad sudden re-appearances in the media, having fallen off the wagon again, I do think back to this book, and I wonder how many modern footballers still go out on the p*** on a Friday night before match-day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adams lunges forward and turns the corner, 23 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
I've always been a Tottenham fan and you can probably understand that i was a bit skeptical using up my quality time in reading the autobiography of an Arsenal player.How I was wrong..very wrong. I always admired Tony Adams mastery amongst the famous Arsenal Back Four (Adams, Winterburn, Dixon, Keown. I never liked the Donkey chants even those by the Spurs fans because he a vision which even the legendary Gary Mabbutt didn't have. His description of his failings and how he adapted his style of play as per George Graham's edict was very interesting.

His candid description of his fall into alcoholism is the best part of the book and like his footballing attitude, he had the guts to move forward.

It's good to laud a player who plays for your favourite team but its better when you respect a player from the other side. That said, Tony Adams falls in this category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that puts things into perspective, 10 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
As an American and a Manchester United supporter (I've been to Old Trafford by the way) I was skeptical about wanting to read a book about any Arsenal player. However, I've always admired Tony Adams skill as a player and his presence as a leader so I took "a chance" on reading his story. This book allows the reader to gain insight into the very personal side of Tony Adams. His story is inspirational and perfect for helping to put things into perspective - especially as the Christmas holiday approaches. It took more courage for him to tell of his battle with alcoholism than it ever takes to succeed on the football pitch. He has done both superbly. Credit must also be given to Ian Ridley, who once again does a brilliant job. I can now understand why the book cover claims "Sports book of the year."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted Alright!, 30 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Addicted (Paperback)
Tony starts off this book with his state after Euro ’96 and his alcohol addiction. He then starts to talk about his early years in football.
Starting out as a young lad and achieving so much in life and his rise to the pinnacle of his game and then finally stepping out with his heroes, David O’Leary, Charlie Nicholas etc.
Tony isn’t afraid at all to tell us about his addiction to alcohol the book isn’t a big lie but a big truth, which in my opinion what makes this book. He talks about not only his addiction to alcohol but also his early addiction to Football which then became his life.
This is a must for ALL football fans and as a Newcastle fan I found this a great read as I have admired TA for a long time as a professional footballer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Addicted
Addicted by Tony Adams (Hardcover - 7 Sept. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews