Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Overlong, but with beautiful artwork and some nice jokes for adults as well as children
This review is of the unabridged, 1944 hardback edition. Please note that at least some of the newer editions are abridged.

When small, my eldest daughter would always choose the longest bedtime stories. (It postponed bedtime for as long as possible and she enjoyed the cuddle that went with the reading.) She would definitely have favoured Little Grey Rabbit's...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by Lost John

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - abridged
THIS REVIEW APPLIES ONLY TO THE LITTLE GREY RABBIT CLASSIC SERIES. tHAT book is heavily abridged - all the quirky details left out - for example the fact that when squirrel and hare are gardening - they are planting dandelions. Also left out is most of the character of Hare as self-centeredIllustrations are of course gorgeous - but better to wait for the unabridged...
Published on 19 Mar. 2012 by Jen C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - abridged, 19 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Little Grey Rabbit's Birthday (Little Grey Rabbit Classic Series) (Hardcover)
THIS REVIEW APPLIES ONLY TO THE LITTLE GREY RABBIT CLASSIC SERIES. tHAT book is heavily abridged - all the quirky details left out - for example the fact that when squirrel and hare are gardening - they are planting dandelions. Also left out is most of the character of Hare as self-centeredIllustrations are of course gorgeous - but better to wait for the unabridged versions that are currently being released.

I THINK THAT IF A BOOK IS ABRIDGED IT SHOULD SAY SO _ as I have awsted money on these versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overlong, but with beautiful artwork and some nice jokes for adults as well as children, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
Lost John (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is of the unabridged, 1944 hardback edition. Please note that at least some of the newer editions are abridged.

When small, my eldest daughter would always choose the longest bedtime stories. (It postponed bedtime for as long as possible and she enjoyed the cuddle that went with the reading.) She would definitely have favoured Little Grey Rabbit's Birthday, which in this, its unabridged, form, takes fully half an hour to read aloud, even without taking time to dwell on the pictures (by Margaret Tempest), which are truly lovely.

For an adult, it takes too long to finally arrive at Little Grey Rabbit's birthday party. However, there are some nice touches to entertain the adult as well as the child - from the sowing and watering-in of dandelions on the first page to Mrs Hedgehog's observation almost at the end that she has heard her husband's account of seeing a fairy in the apple tree a dozen times before. It is intriguing too to note that Hare put on his Home Guard gas mask before tending the bees (though the picture shows a more conventional beekeeper's veil) and a white pocket handkerchief had GR embroidered in one corner. Well, the book was first published in 1944.

Besides the sowing of dandelions (Hare and Squirrel were supposed to be sowing lettuce), the best jokes relate to Hare's inability to keep the secret of plans for Grey Rabbit's birthday. He even has to have his mouth tied up with (another) handkerchief to prevent the secret from popping out. That's a joke that even quite small children will enjoy too, as they also learn something about keeping secrets. And they will certainly go to sleep happy that Grey Rabbit's birthday, with cake and many presents, in the end turned out really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dearest Little Grey Rabbit, 13 July 2006
By 
Blanziflor (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
I love all the stories of Little Grey Rabbit and her friends, but Little Grey Rabbit's Birthday is my favorite. The other animals love her dearly because she is so wise, kind, and innocent. Here they get to show their appreciation for her with a sweet and splendid birthday party. Squirrel and Hare bake a cake, and everyone else contributes to the effort, while keeping it a secret from Grey Rabbit until the big day. This is Alison Uttley's story-telling at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Service., 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Grey Rabbit's Birthday (Little Grey Rabbit Classic Series) (Hardcover)
I would use this supplier agaIn; brought it for my grandchild but kept it in the end as it is one of my favourite childhood books 9but missed the glossy paper!) The text is easy to understand if you are reading the story to under fives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, 10 Mar. 2014
By 
Tom Levy (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Grey Rabbit's Birthday (Little Grey Rabbit Classic Series) (Hardcover)
These stories are just the right length for bedtime reading, and are very well written and illustrated. Timeless stories to delight all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Terrific!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I already have said this book was Wonderful! A classic for my grand-children to enjoy - and they DO!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Grey Rabbit's Birthday (Little Grey Rabbit Classic Series) (Hardcover)
again added to my growing collection reliving my childhood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Grey Rabbit's Birthday (Little Grey Rabbit Classic Series)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews