Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pookie
An absolute classic book that should be on every childs book-shelf. A heart warming and gentle story of a white rabbit who runs away from home to seek his fortune, after his family tease him about his straggly wings. After his adventures in the dark wood, (you will have to read the book to find out what happens!) he eventually meets up with Nommy-Nee, who becomes his...
Published on 14 May 2004 by MARLA

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money
Having paid over 15 for this book I was disappointed when it arrived and the printed cost on the back of the book showed a value of just over 5. Seems I paid well over the asking price for this item. No issues with quality, just the value for money which was an issue.
Published 1 month ago by Julia Dawn Dale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pookie, 14 May 2004
By 
MARLA (GRAVESEND, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pookie (Paperback)
An absolute classic book that should be on every childs book-shelf. A heart warming and gentle story of a white rabbit who runs away from home to seek his fortune, after his family tease him about his straggly wings. After his adventures in the dark wood, (you will have to read the book to find out what happens!) he eventually meets up with Nommy-Nee, who becomes his great friend,and takes Pookie to see Belinda, the woodcutters daughter.For the first time Pookie knows what it feels like to be loved and immediately something wonderful happens to his wings.A beautifully written book with exquisite illustrations, both colour and black & white.If you are going to purchase a childs book then make it this one-and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must-have children's book, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
For years I have bleated on to my husband about the "Flying Bunny" books that enchanted me as a child in the late 1950s. He had never heard of them, and didn't quite believe me, as I had never been able to show him a copy! At last, via the Internet, I find they are re-issued!!! I am going to buy the whole set, and keep them to read to my grandchildren (should I have any!!). I adored these tales as a child, they are wonderfully illustrated, and the character of the bunny who is 'different' is so easy to identify with. A real winner!! Thank you, thank you to whoever re-issued them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pookie -childhood memories, 21 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
I was given this book when I was eight, some forty years ago, by my grandmother and I loved it! I read it and read it and copied the wonderful illustrations.
Eventually my copy was mislaid but I never forgot the story and re-told it to my own children when they were small.
Imagine my shriek of delight when i found it had been re-issued. I bought a copy immediately and this one will not get lost!All the magic was still there. It is a wonderful tale and I will be buying the other Ivy Wallace titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great read 40 years later, 7 Oct 2005
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
My godmother bought me Pookie 40 years ago in Canada. I enjoyed the story of the poor ridiculed little rabbit with flimsy wings that transformed into a rabbit that not only could fly but had found love and happiness with Belinda and his many friends in Bluebell Wood. From that moment on, I begged my godmother for more of the books. Here in 2005 I have a child of my own who has enjoyed reading my Pookie books and recently pointed out that I am missing two of the Pookie book series. They are not available in Canada henceforth I am in the Amazon site of the UK. All I can say is that regardless of the country one lives in, the Pookie books are timeless and into adulthood one will remember Pookie with the fondest of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Pookie - we missed you, 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
Its great to see these books back in print with all the original illustrations. I remember them so well from my childhood. I can't wait for the story where Pookie has an argument with Winter to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pookie, the rabbit with wings., 30 Nov 2002
By 
Lizzie (Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pookie (Paperback)
If I had to recall a childhood memory it would be of the white rabbit with wings named Pookie. This first book is a heart rendering tale of a rabbit with a difference, he has wings! He is teased by his family so runs away. During a snow storm pookie collapses and his little heart falls out of his chest and breaks. Belinda (the wood cutter's daughter) finds him and put his heart back into his fluffy chest. With her love Pookie finds that life is worth living and his wings begin to grow.
I was moved by the first (and best of Ivy Wallace's books)and this being so I was compelled to read the other titles in the pookie series. Even as an adult I am equally moved by the story of Pookie. Thank goodness the little fella is back in print!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully illustrated and entertaining story., 10 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
This very pretty and entertaining story is about a small white rabbit with fairy wings who feels he does not fit in and so goes out to find his Fortune. The touching story and beautiful illustrations mean that it is a lovely read and a book that children will adore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pookie - by Ivy Wallace, 20 Feb 2009
By 
Allison Sutherland (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
This book is a timeless must have for all children. My mother read it to me and now I am able to read it to my child. Wonderful prompt service.

Thank you

Allison Sutherland
Italy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Pookie" the unique, winged, marvelous rabbit!, 4 Nov 2011
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
"Pookie" the unique, winged, marvelous rabbit!

Ivy L. Wallace was, in the 1950s, a popular British children's author-illustrator. I know of at least one Wallace novel for older children, but Wallace is probably best known for her exceptional large-format flying rabbit and fairies books about Pookie (the flying rabbit).
However she may be better remembered for the British TV-show spin-off (I type this from memory) "The Animal Bookshelf", based on stuffed-toy animal characters who had their own small-format book series, who first appeared in "Pookie and the Gypsies".
This is a vivid circus adventure, in which Pookie is captured by passing gypsies who have a circus with performing animals. The animals include two stuffed-toys, Stripey the zebra, and Getup the giraffe (whose legs have lost some stuffing so he continually slumps down and has to be told to "Get up"). There is also a live mouse, called Kinker, because his tail was once caught in a mouse-trap, and permanently kinked. The stuffed-toys, initially kidnapped like Pookie, are eventually reunited with their rightful owner", a real boy called Timothy. Pookie also escapes the circus, and is reunited with Belinda, the real woodcutter's daughter.

Pookie himself was introduced in this, the first of the Pookie series of books, naturally called "Pookie".
Initially he is a baby rabbit, born into an ordinary rabbit family.
The full-page picture of Pookie and his family in their underground home is a homage to Beatrix Potter's "Peter Rabbit", although more rabbity and less rabbits-as-almost-people than in Potter's books.
But Pookie himself is not ordinary. This is an Ugly Duckling story: for some magical reason, Pookie is born with tiny wings on his back. At first these are seen as something unnatural and shameful. He is forced to wear them wrapped tightly in ribbons. But one special moonlit night Pookie sees fairies (with wings) dancing and flying, and longs to join them.
He decides to leave his family and seek his fortune. This leads him to meet a variety of woodland creatures, including gnomes and pixies, along with ordinary rabbits, owls, and so on.

Just as Enid Blyton's classic character Noddy meets Big Ears, Pookie meets Nommy-nee the Elf, who offers him somewhere to stay.
The full-page picture of the Pixie market is beautifully detailed, along with the narrative explanation of the clothing and food sold at the market. Wallace makes honey buns sound absolutely delicious!

But Pookie is disheartened by the characters he meets who belittle him for his wings -- and he is still unable to fly.

At the darkest moment of "Pookie", as winter approaches, and Pookie faces starvation, still not having found his fortune (whatever that may be -- Pookie is still very young and child-like: he has NO idea what a "fortune", as in "destiny" or "living happily ever after", might be), the sad little winged-rabbit resolves to throw himself off a hillock. But the gentle wind takes him, and by (happy) chance he is rescued by Belinda, the woodcutter's kind daughter.
Nurtured by Belinda, Pookie finds that, when he is loved his wings grow and strengthen, and he is able to fly!
"Pookie" ends, like Hans Christian Anderon's "Ugly Duckling", with Pookie finding a happy permanent home, and a cosy bed by the fireplace, sleeping in Belinda's satin-lined neddlework basket.

If "Pookie" had been the only book by Ivy L. Wallace, she should be remembered as a great author-illustrator for this book alone.
Despite the obvious influence of Arthur Rackham on her vision of the woodland and its animal and fairy folk, Wallace's art (often full-page, in glorious detail and glowing colors -- similar to Australia's Peg Maltby, although Maltby never had a substantial narrative to support her children's picture-book art) avoids the gnarled twiggy spookiness of Rackham.
Despite the obvious influence of both Andersen and Beatrix Potter, Wallace has created a unique, and profoundly moving and lovable creature.

Sadly, during the 1970s and 1980s, the "Pookie" books went out of print.
Years later, when the "Animal Book Shelf" became a TV hit, and it was possible to reprint the "Pookie" books, the original artwork and printing blocks had been lost.
Undaunted, Wallace personally recreated the paintings. But by then, approaching old age, Wallace's hand lacked its earlier precision.
Reprinted and repainted is better than being out of print, but not quite as good as the originals.
Sad, indeed.
Original editions are well-worth searching for, and treasuring.
But if you can't get an original, be happy with the riches of the re-made artwork.

John Gough -- Deakin University -- jagough49@gmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely pleased with purchase, 7 Jun 2010
This review is from: Pookie (Hardcover)
thank you for a lovely book i was extremely pleased - perfect condition and sent quickly thank you very much!( i have already sent a review and it must not have reached you --prehaps i didnt press correct button-- very sorry i didnt mean for you to wait so long for a review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa484b0a8)

This product

Pookie
Pookie by Ivy Wallace (Hardcover - 2 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: 27.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews