Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute thriller
In true Frederick Forsyth style, The Deceiver has succeeded once again in not only entertaining but also educating the reader. I bought this book after reading that after this novel was published, the British government was forced to admit that they have used some of the techniques used in the book.

This book (along with The Fist of God) takes one about as...
Published on 12 April 2008 by A. Harsono

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work
For me it was Just a bit predictable I'm afraid, was waiting for the climax and it all went a bit flat.
Published 12 months ago by Garvin Jess


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute thriller, 12 April 2008
This review is from: The Deceiver (Paperback)
In true Frederick Forsyth style, The Deceiver has succeeded once again in not only entertaining but also educating the reader. I bought this book after reading that after this novel was published, the British government was forced to admit that they have used some of the techniques used in the book.

This book (along with The Fist of God) takes one about as close as possible to the world of espionage and how spying really works. Before you read this, forget 007 running around with a machine gun gunning down all the bad guys. Approach with an open mind and the reader will be immersed in the world of lies and deceit, all for Queen and country. The Price of the Bride was particularly good. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Great stories, 2 Oct 2006
By 
Somnambulist (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Deceiver (Paperback)
The over-arching story is of a redundancy appeal hearing of an old-school spymaster at the end of the 90s - as Glasnost promises a new era in post-Cold War Intelligence Operations. The appeal is presented in the form of 4 short stories of Sam McReady's involvement during the cold war.

Each short story is excellent, and after a while I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 5 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Deceiver (Paperback)
Another of my Forsyth favourites. Great book shows the ever changing world of intelligence and the ever increasing influence of politics really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it was a very good example of its genre, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceiver (Kindle Edition)
I bought this for a holiday turn off read read. I was not deceived, it was a very good example of its genre, particular if you are late middle aged like me and can remember the period it referred to. . Three stories linked together by a plot about a government economy cull. They are offered in defines of the operative culled. I think the author did not have enough to separate books, but this is real value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a terrific action story with four stories for the price of ..., 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceiver (Kindle Edition)
It has been a while since I tried a Freddie and the end of the cold war era tempted me. It is a terrific action story with four stories for the price of one involving a central character showcasing his espionage skills. There are more moles than in Jasper Carrot's back garden but who's side are they on? A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceiver (Kindle Edition)
good storu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceiver (Kindle Edition)
It was three great stories in one. Lots of plot with some usual wild fantasy actions, It does not deceive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nail biting!, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceiver (Kindle Edition)
Not read a Frederick Forsyth for years and seem to remember being disappointed in the last one I read but this kept me on the edge of my seat to the very end. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceiver (Paperback)
As always, Frederick Forsyth does not disappoint. He takes you on an incredible adventure in this book. A master who does his research at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up to Standard, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deceiver (Kindle Edition)
Forsyth never fails to deliver, his research and resulting factual content is amazing. he is always a good read and I always find his books to be "page turners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Deceiver
The Deceiver by Frederick Forsyth (Audio Cassette - 27 Nov 1995)
Used & New from: £2.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews